We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Bait's Motel(Searsport)
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Homeport Inn(Searsport)
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yardarm Motel(Searsport)(Great Value!)
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$67
US$50
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seascape Motel and Cottages(Belfast)(Great Value!)
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village(Belfast)(Great Value!)
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Gull Motel(Belfast)(Great Value!)
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belfast Harbor Inn(Belfast)(Great Value!)
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yankee Clipper Motel(Belfast)(Great Value!)
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveller rating
86
20
2
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
86
20
2
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgracious hostsport of callfrench toastthree coursesother guestsmaine coasteach morningan amazing jobprivate balconyexceeded our expectationsgreat glass of winespecial anniversarymemorial daywine and cheese hourgrounds are lovelypotatoesbeautiful furniture
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 113 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2017

Great place not far from Acadia National Park, Bar Harbor and other destination along the mid coast of Maine. Booked three nights but were able to add a fourth. Brenda and Mike are the owners and hosts and they are incredible folks. Beautiful historic mansion overlooking Penobscot Bay. Three course breakfast's that are fantastic and the best I've ever had. Wonderful grounds. Sit down by the bay on Adirondack chairs in the evening and light a fire, wonderful. They also do a nightly wine and cheese get together on the deck overlooking the water. Good wine, cheese, company and conversation. The owners used to run a restaurant on the property but it is not operational now. Should be. We stayed in the Port of Call Charleston room. Nice size with bath and shower. Good Wi-Fi reception. Could use a small refrigerator. Very nicely decorated as is the entire mansion. The two rooms facing the water are probably the largest and nicest rooms at the mansion but are hard to get without an advance reservation. One of the best B & B's I've ever stayed at. Made for a great vacation on the coast of Maine.

Room Tip: Two large rooms facing the water are probadly the finest rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank paul60ii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nickelsinnkeeper, Owner at Captain A. V. Nickels Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Folks, thanks for such a great review with lots of details. We enjoyed having you with us and it is rewarding to hear that you enjoyed being here also. Hope we see you again in future years!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

We were hoping to spend a special anniversary at a lovely Maine Inn. On the internet the Captain Nickels Inn looked like the perfect choice. In reality it was even more fantastic than the online photos! The house, decor, and location are all lovely. The owners of the inn, Michael and Brenda, really made the experience extra special because of their warm hospitality, gentle manner and outstanding cooking ability! The breakfasts were three courses and a cocktail hour on the deck overlooking the water set the tone in the evening. Not a detail was overlooked, from the nautically themed china to the key fob which matched our room's decor. We were totally pleased. Thank you!

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Kathlinda12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nickelsinnkeeper, Owner at Captain A. V. Nickels Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

We are so very pleased that we met all your expectations. Hope you have many more wonderful, memorable anniversaries. It was a real pleasure to meet you both and we hope that we can be your hosts again in an upcoming year. Our best wisher to you both.

Mike and Brenda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

The hosts were incredibly hospitable. The renovation did not leave out it's history, beautifully done. Lovely views of the coast. It is in a great location. Not a far drive from Bar Harbor and other great nearby towns.

Room Tip: We stayed in Port of Call Havana. It a nice balcony with beautiful views of the Maine coast.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nickelsinnkeeper, Owner at Captain A. V. Nickels Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Thanks and we are so glad you noticed that we tried to leave the history of this beautiful old house intact. Please visit us again when you can. Our best to you both,
Mike and Brenda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

My boyfriend and I chose this bed and breakfast to stay on our trip and I was really pleased. We stayed from Wednesday to Saturday and it was an amazing experience. We stayed in The Port of Call Portofino room. Each room is given a destination name. It is an old historical building with whimsical decor and so much charm. In our room. There was actually two bedrooms, a wall mounted flat screen, a Keurig, an ipod dock.

The bathroom was pretty big, with a bathtub and shower. Because of the age of the building, the doors were a little hard to open and close but that's to be expected with an old house. Brenda and Mike are the owners, and they are so welcoming, they make you feel right at home.

The Wi-Fi could have had a better connection, but it was manageable. Every evening they serve wine and cheese and every morning​ is a delicious 3 course breakfast. The grounds outside are great as well. There is a deck that you can sit on, and at the end of the property you can sit in Adirondack chairs and watch the ocean. It was a wonderful experience and I hope to be back soon.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nickelsinnkeeper, Owner at Captain A. V. Nickels Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Thank you for your review. Wish we could have met all your expectations.

Brenda Liston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017

Brenda and Michael were excellent hosts. The inn has character and the property is beautiful. The 3 course breakfast was phenomenal. We started with prosciutto wrapped melon. The second course was eggs, potatoes, bacon, sautéed squash, and a broiled tomato. the third course was a delicious apple strudel. A breakfast to start your day off right!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Laurawoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nickelsinnkeeper, Owner at Captain A. V. Nickels Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Wow, sounds like we hit the right "spots" with your breakfast that morning. Thanks forthe lovely review. Come see us again when you are in Maine.
Mike and Brenda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews