We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (672)
Filter reviews
672 results
Traveller rating
234
243
112
58
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
234
243
112
58
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the concierge lounge front desk hotel restaurant business park old port close to the airport breakfast buffet cookies bit dated convenient location bed was very comfortable indoor pool palmer portland mall conference gm
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 672 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2018

We are experienced Marriott travelers and were sorely disappointed in our one night stay in the hotel. It felt more like a Fairfield than a Marriott. As other reviewers have mentioned, it is tired and in need of renovation. Our room was very dusty and did not have a USB charger which we feel is standard in hotel rooms now. The pool is just ok and needs an upgrade too. Staff seem inexperienced and were not overly helpful to us. Wanted to buy a coffee at the Starbucks counter in the morning and waited 5 minutes yet no one arrived.

Despite this, it served its purpose as a comfortable place to stay on an overnight in Portland. However, I would not have been happy to stay for much longer given what we expected and paid.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank michelskt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed_Palmer, General Manager at Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Michelskt,
Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us here at Sable Oaks. I am sorry that we disappointed you as our goal is to meet our guest's expectations. We are currently in the first stages of a complete renovation to this property. We do have a relatively young and inexperienced staff but their hearts are in our mission to serve. We would truly hope that you would give us another opportunity to serve you here the next time your travels bring you to Portland. Best regards, Ed Palmer general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

We decided to visit Portland this weekend and thus Mariott fell below what we are used to while staying at a Marriott hotel. Our room (640) needs work done. Shower was extremely moldy and dirty (a lot of hair). We were going to extend for one more night but changed our plans due to how dirty the place was. Look at the elevators, the accumulation of dust is a nice welcome telling you what to expect in the room. Very disappointed!!! Oh and the bathrobe in that room needs to be discarded.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Rubies007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed_Palmer, General Manager at Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Rubies007, I very sorry to hear of your disappointment with our property. This is certainly not the norm for our facility. I wish you had given me an opportunity to address your concerns while you were here. Our goal is to always not only meet your expectations but to exceed them. We have great associates who work very hard to service our traveling friends. We hope you would give us another opportunity to serve you. You may reach out to me personally if you would like to return. Best regards, Ed Palmer general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018

We stayed here because we had to be at the airport at 4:30 in the morning; you can basically roll out of bed and get into their shuttle and within 5 minutes you're at the security line. We didn't need more out of the hotel than that but were pleasantly surprised at how comfortable it was.

The desk overbooked the 4:30 am shuttle; although they usually go once every half hour, they did run back for the couple of people who did not get a seat. So, I recommend getting to the doors maybe 5 minutes early to ensure you get a seat but don't stress if you can't because as long as you were there on time and it was their own fault, they will run that shuttle again.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Illysa I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2018 via mobile

We have stayed here quite a few times over the years but there are better/newer Marriott choices in the area. Upon arrival it was apparent that this was not a property that has been maintained well. Minimal landscaping in front, no one to assist with baggage, poorly trained front desk help, dated restaurant and bar area, no flowers planted in the restaurant courtyard which used to look lovely.
Our room was ready but housekeeping interrupted us twice to see if the room was ready (obviously poor hotel communication an issue). Even though we are Lifetime Gold we were assigned a room that was dated and worn. The breakfast buffet was barely adequate with no bananas and a few tired looking apples and oranges although the cut fruit was fine. It was included for us as the concierge lounge was not open Sunday night or Monday morning but would have been a poor value at $35 for two.

The hotel sits in a lovely area and is convenient to Rte 95 and hopefully will enjoy a resurgence in the future. In the meantime, look elsewhere.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank lpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed_Palmer, General Manager at Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2018

Thank you lpal, for your feedback on your stay here at Sable Oaks. We appreciate your honest and upfront opinion and would like to stress that the management of this property has remained constant for over twenty years. We are currently beginning a major property renovation that will continue through the beginning of 2019. We understand that we are the oldest of the Marriott properties but take great pride in our long-term dedicated staff. We hope you will return to visit us again in the future. We are sure you will be pleased. Best regards, Ed Palmer general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2018 via mobile

Stayed here on one leg of our vacation in Maine. Went to Saco, Biddeford, and Old Orchard Beach.The surrounding area within a 10 mile radius driving distance was very convienent. Malls, RV camp grounds, resturants, beaches all within 15-20 mins of this hotel. The room was just ok not great, self-parking, the resturant and bar were convienent but extremely pricy which is typical. The pool was indoor and the water was cold. The ceiling air vents in the lounging area around the pool were dirty and the seating was untidy, cluttered and towels were strown everywhere. Was like no one was working there? When checking in no one greeted us or offered to assist us with our bags and then the front desk staff were just plain snarky. Upon checking out there seemed to be a different front desk staff there and they seemed nice. Overall for the price I would expect better service, & nicer staff to say the least.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank dcnp58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed_Palmer, General Manager at Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2018

dcnp58,
Thank you for your feedback on your dissatisfaction with our property here at Sable Oaks. I can assure you that there are a lot of hard working dedicated associates her at this property. I am very sorry to hear that they came off as being snarky. I have shared this with the desk management as a teachable moment to remind our associates that our guests are everything to our operation. I have also addressed the pool area vents that you noticed. We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you here at the Marriott.
Best regards, Ed Palmer general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews