We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular ocean retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Jonah's, Whale Beach
Ranked #1 of 2 Whale Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2017

Absolutely amazing weekender for a special treat !! 5 star plus service, most luxurious ocean retreat with the most delectable food, fabulous wines and copious amounts of flowing beautiful Bollinger. Would highly recommend and cannot wait to return in the summer :)

Room Tip: Fabulous for special treat
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (358)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 39 of 358 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2017 via mobile

Breakfast at Jonahs was a special treat. The venue is bright and airy with plenty of natural light. The service team are excellent and the food always delicious. This morning we had the truffle eggs on toast and a spammer crab omelette and both were perfect. Breakfast includes pastries, fresh fruit, juice, tea and coffee. The ocean view is perfect as always and the team professional in every way.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Tina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

Not quite sure how this is categorised a B&B (well breakfast is included in your overnight package so perhaps that's why?!) What is it, regardless, is a spectacular spot to enjoy a long lunch or get married in. I've done both!

If you are looking for a one-off, one of a kind venue for a wedding; this place is fabulous. We had ours there 2 years ago and everything was perfect. Food amazing, wines excellent and the service superb. All that with the most stunning backdrop imaginable; it's a special place to tie the knot.

Recently went back for an overnight and whilst everything wasn't quite as special as the first time; it's still pretty awesome. I think the menu choices didn't quite sit as well as they could have with us for our lunch, but the complimentary glass of Bolli was nice and the wine list that you could spend a week reading through is fantastic. The sommelier is very helpful and gets you to where you need. That backdrop though just makes it special. Do start a little earlier and take a seat out on the deck for your pre-lunch drink or after wedding ceremony bubbles. You'll not want to leave.

If you are staying, the rooms themselves are lovely (we've stayed in room 1 twice, which is the suite and it's cracking; spacious, comfortable and a lovely balcony to sit out on and just look out with a glass of something in hand). They are getting perhaps a little tired, but nothing in there is left to chance and all the accompaniments from the robes to the Molton Brown bathroom bits, all add those finishing touches to your B&B experience.

As for the &B, i.e. breakfast it's not as great as the Boathouse up at Palm Beach, it's still good, but again it's the setting that makes it what it is.

The whole staff are lovely and nothing is too much trouble. If it's a one-off dining experience, like an Icebergs in Bondi, you're wasting it if you do dinner as it's dark outside. Whilst its 1 hat means the food is good, it's the setting/view that makes it the place it is.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank BondiRescued
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017

One of the most memorable of our trips. We were lucky to have brilliant weather to savour beautiful Sydney from the air and then our stay at Jonah's was the perfect complement. Lovely hotel with gorgeous views. The level of service was wonderful and so was the food. All in all the perfect start to our week.

Room Tip: All rooms have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patlamoury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2017 via mobile

We went for a Saturday lunch for a celebration and booked months in advance.

Took us about an 1hr 15min in medium traffic from the cbd to arrive.

The drive through the leafy and green northern beaches is very nice.

Upon arriving , there is limited parking (so check in advance), street parking is very limited (as its more like a local residents local access only type road, narrow and unfinished edges kind of road).

The location is lovely and the restaurant looks down towards the coast and whale beach.

There is limited seating and seating configuration in restaurant, the seating area is medium sized.

While we where there, there was probably 10 tables of 4, 4 booths (to accomodate 3-4 people each side) and 3 large tables (having 6-10 each side).

There is also an outside seating area , outside lounge area and they also cater for small functions (small
Weddings and alike).

Inside there is a break /lounge area (reminds me of a former smoking /library area from the heritage era).

I would personally have drinks and maybe shared plates outside , but not main meals , as it can be windy or cool (breeze from the coast/beach).

Lovely views of seaplanes operating , yachts, beach coastline and general coast scenery.

Obviously the views are a plus with Jonahs.

Staff are friendly and helpful.

Interior is ok, a little dated . Some new paint and refurb wouldn't go astray . Has an older quaint seaside charm about it.

Now to the food. The food is seasonal and choices of 2/3/4 course and very reasonably priced for. 1-2 hatter restaurant. They have specials of the day (as most restaurants do to).

Drinks and alcohol are towards the expensive side.

Reasonable wine and drinks list, you can have selected/suggested wines with your menu at extra costs (like elsewhere).

For our entrees we had seafood , oysters and grilled scallops . Oysters came in a huge plate crushed ice and natural sydney oysters sitting on top with a white wine vinegarette , the other was grilled scallops. Both were lovely, fresh and tasty.

For mains we picked the pork loin dish , beef skirt and the special of the day which was baked lobster with cheese sauce (double check the price of the lobster if you get it , because of our waiting staff accent , we couldn't quite understand the pricing and even though lovely dish , I wouldn't of got it if the price /portion was explained.properly to us) or got so much food.

The pork loin was nice , tender , but lacked any substantial dressing or flavour (generous portion), the beef skirt (cooked medium) was tender , had flavour but also lacked any punch or wow factor.

The lobster (as most are) was large, meaty and fresh and was lovely to eat. Cheese sauce was light and subtle in flavour . Besides the price misunderstanding , it was a nice dish.

Desserts I think is where they need improvement (they can do so much more to showcase or provide better options).

We got the chocolate gateau and passion fruit soufflé . Both where ok, not really anything fantastic or wow. Soufflé was nice , and still warm.

I was disappointed with the gateau , the chocolate lacked any rich or delicate flavour , lots of choc sauce on plate . The cake slice tasted like cake that has been in fridge too long and the cold temp has killed any flavour (that was my feeling/taste anyway). I was personally dissatisfied with it , as I was looking forward to a rich velvety chocolate hit.

Overall , a lovely quaint restaurant with beautiful views , service was good and food was good , but no wow for me (besides the view).

I would go again a different season and try the menu, and would hope desserts are better next time.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mercury_one1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whale Beach
Manly
Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mantra Ettalong Beach
#1 of 2 in Ettalong Beach
2,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jonah's, Whale Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jonah's, Whale Beach

Address: 69 Bynya Rd, Whale Beach, Pittwater, New South Wales 2108, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Pittwater > Whale Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Whale Beach
Price Range: $803 - $818 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Jonah's, Whale Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jonah’s Whale Beach is one of Australia’s most luxurious ocean retreats and the only Relais & Chateaux hotel in Sydney - the most prestigious hotel association in the world.The perfect beachside escape, Jonah’s offers an acclaimed restaurant, seven luxurious rooms, a penthouse and 'Jonah's Private', a secluded residence containing three stunning rooms. Luxurious and discreet, Jonah’s prides itself on its friendly and casual atmosphere and outstanding first class service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Jonah's, Whale Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jonah`s, Whale Beach Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing