We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and good service”

Asahi Japanese Steak & Seafood
Ranked #4 of 53 Restaurants in California
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 19 July 2018 via mobile

Visited Asahi on our date night. We skipped the tables at the grill (we done enough of those, where the chef cooks flips the food and everyone oohhs and aaahhhs).
I went with the pork cutlet and the wife had the Asahi steak....they serve very generous portions.
The food was good and wait staff was very fast and very friendly. We’ll add this one to the ‘return’ list.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank DonRetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2018

Ate lunch here on a Saturday.

What we liked:

1. Friendly, solicitous service from start to finish
2. Impeccable food, beautifully garnished, fresh and a delight to the eyes and palate. We ordered two Bento boxes, and they were so lovely: crunchy, light tempura; fresh, flavorful sushi, perfectly done white rice, and a bunch of other things for which I don't have a Japanese name. It was all DELICIOUS.
3. Lovely interior. Quiet, low lights, clean and nicely appointed.
4. Price was not too high--about what you'd expect. For two lunches and one mixed bar drink the bill came to $30 before tax.

What we didn't like:

1. Ladies' room was clean but the towel rack was empty.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ginny000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2018 via mobile

If you’re a sushi snob and know what true sushi should taste like, then Asahi is where you need to be. FRESH and authentic sushi dishes and plenty of options. Nothing else compares. If you’re more of a hibachi person, they’ve got that covered wonderfully too. You seriously can’t go wrong here. Lunch prices are much better for the same thing, so go during the day if you can.

Date of visit: January 2018
1  Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2017

Open only for lunch and dinner, you cannot go wrong at this restaurant : CONSISTENT! You will not find a better Tonkatsu or Tempura within 50 miles.

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank pinotgrigi0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2017

Never had a bad experience here ... Sushi for lunch or grill for dinner, its is always high quality !

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank Philip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Asahi Japanese Steak & Seafood also viewed

 

Been to Asahi Japanese Steak & Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing