We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Inn at the Canal(Chesapeake City)(Great Value!)
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Book now, pay at stay
US$113
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$145
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 05/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$49
RodewayInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveller rating
54
1
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
54
1
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswonderful hostsserved on fine chinabeautiful antiqueslike coming homebed and breakfastsundaehighly recommend this b bfront porchstayed longersitting roomenjoyed our staybreakfast was deliciouseach morningsumannetflixelevatorluxury
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 56 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2017

My wife and I had a wonderful visit to Chesapeake City this weekend and stayed at a great B & B (Doc Smithers B & B). The proprietors (Ed & Suzan) were terrific and could not be more accommodating. The breakfasts were outstanding. The ambiance and history of this B & B was so eloquently presented by Ed & Susan that you could envision what it was like in the past. What a treat to be able to take your luggage to your room on an elevator. It is by far the best B & B in Chesapeake City.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

I recently stayed at Doc Smithers B&B and it was a wonderful experience. Owners Suzan and Ed went out of their way to be sure we were very comfortable and that we would enjoy our stay to the max. Our rooms were lovely and the house is a very nice combination of the beauty of an older, historic home with lovely architectural detail and all modern conveniences throughout. Ed and Suzan shared with us stories of their travels and family, which made their home that much more personal. Breakfasts were delicious and we were welcomed when we arrived with wine and great things to nibble on. Ed and Suzan take great pride in their lovely town and were able to provide information on restaurants, things to see, and directions. Doc Smithers is in the very heart of town and easy walking distance to restaurants, shops, and the water.

In a very short time I became very fond of this lovely couple and plan to stay with them again soon when I can make it back to the area.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017

This quaint three story house right downtown has an elevator. The owners serve you with kindness, generosity, and great cooking. The rooms are immaculate and decorated much like they must have been decorated when Doc. Smithers lived there. The location is ideal...right downtown and close to the canal. The town is charming and a must see. I am told by the owners that they have many repeat customers...customers quickly become friends of this friendly, kind, loving couple. Whichever room you pick, you are welcome to spend time in the kitchen for meals, or in the living room which has 3D TV! There is also a piano with pictures on it of people from a long time ago and the owner wife told me the stories of the pictures. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: Both rooms on the second floor are charming and both have great views: one view of the little town and the other of gardens.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Virginia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

Doc Smithers was extremely accommodating. They where the only B&B that allowed my 6 year old daughter to stay with us. The owners made us feel like family. We had everything we needed to get ready for the wedding. The whole second floor was ours as we got hair and make-up done. We even got a farewell as we walked to the wedding venue. Lots of history in the house and great stories. This was defiantly a lovely place to get away and relax.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Katrina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017

Beautiful home, very tasetfully done, reminiscent of the period homes of an earlier era. So much history! My wife and 2 1/2 year old daughter loved our getaway weekend from the Big Apple. Hosts are so friendly and warm, looking after all our needs, especially concerned and caring of our daughter's wellness. Homecooked breakfasts were better than anything we could have gotten in any diner - loved them! Great experience, only wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank KitzSkiDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews