We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Inn at the Canal(Chesapeake City)(Great Value!)
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Book now, pay at stay
US$113
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$131/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$120
US$107
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$56
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$99
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$68/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$110
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveller rating
54
1
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
54
1
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswonderful hostsserved on fine chinabeautiful antiqueslike coming homebed and breakfastsundaehighly recommend this b bfront porchstayed longersitting roomenjoyed our staybreakfast was deliciouseach morningsumannetflixelevatorluxury
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 56 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2017

This was our first stay at a B&B. It was awesome, like being with family. Eating breakfast, talking about family and learning the history of the town and so much more. The owners, Ed and Suzan went above and beyond what they needed to do, they made us feel like family. We had tea and deserts, wine cheese and crackers, and snacks were left for us when we returned for the night. The whole house was cleaner than any hotel I’ve ever been in. There’s also an elevator if you need it. We can’t wait to go back and stay there. If we drive there just for the day, we will have stop just to say hello.

Room Tip: There are two rooms, your u can’t go wrong with either
Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank G7869EQkathleenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdSchweizer, Owner at Doc Smithers B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Thank you, Kathy. You and Dominic were absolutely wonderful to have as guests. We enjoyed you so much, just talking and making friends. Thanks for your gracious review. This family here in Chesapeake City awaits you any time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile

We were in town for a birthday and found this b&b on the internet. Ed and Suzan were accommodating from the beginning. The room was lovely. We had some dietary needs and they made a wonderful breakfast for us. When we got back to the house in the evening Ed invited us to drinks and great conversation which we enjoyed till midnight.. we will definitely go back again to see our new found friends. Paul D.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Diedrichson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

Took us in at the last minute. We loved the place and the proprietors. It was comfortable, quiet, clean, and full of history. Don't hesitate one second to plan your stay here. You won't regret it. We can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Only has two rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

My wife and I had a wonderful visit to Chesapeake City this weekend and stayed at a great B & B (Doc Smithers B & B). The proprietors (Ed & Suzan) were terrific and could not be more accommodating. The breakfasts were outstanding. The ambiance and history of this B & B was so eloquently presented by Ed & Susan that you could envision what it was like in the past. What a treat to be able to take your luggage to your room on an elevator. It is by far the best B & B in Chesapeake City.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

I recently stayed at Doc Smithers B&B and it was a wonderful experience. Owners Suzan and Ed went out of their way to be sure we were very comfortable and that we would enjoy our stay to the max. Our rooms were lovely and the house is a very nice combination of the beauty of an older, historic home with lovely architectural detail and all modern conveniences throughout. Ed and Suzan shared with us stories of their travels and family, which made their home that much more personal. Breakfasts were delicious and we were welcomed when we arrived with wine and great things to nibble on. Ed and Suzan take great pride in their lovely town and were able to provide information on restaurants, things to see, and directions. Doc Smithers is in the very heart of town and easy walking distance to restaurants, shops, and the water.

In a very short time I became very fond of this lovely couple and plan to stay with them again soon when I can make it back to the area.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews