We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10th Anniversary Getaway”
Review of Doc Smithers B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chesapeake City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Doc Smithers B&B
Reviewed 4 November 2017

We decided to get away at the last minute for our anniversary. They were more than happy to squeeze us in. When we spoke with Ed, he couldn't have been nicer or more eager to help. When we checked in, he met us with hot tea and a delicious apple pastry. The room was very nice, clean and roomy. The house was beautiful. Before dinner, they had cheese and wine and a nice conversation. After dinner we came back and had some cordials with Ed, and the other guests. It was such a fun and relaxing time. Almost like coming home to visit with family and friends. Suzan had an amazing breakfast for us in the morning. Not to mention some wonderful company and conversation again. We had an amazing time. Could not say enough nice things about this B&B!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank va2njgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdSchweizer, Owner at Doc Smithers B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2017

Thank you both for your great review. The pleasure was all Suzan's and mine, to make you feel welcome and comfortable as well as we could. You made US feel so fortunate to have you as guests! When we have folks like you, and Kathy and Hugh, staying over, we are blessed. We look forward to seeing you wonderful people, again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2017

Truly a wonderful experience from beginning to end. Ed and Suzan were accommodating in every way. I enjoyed the conversations about the history, our families and all the stories in between. One of the other reviewers said it best you go "from stranger to family." I would highly recommend Doc Smithers B&B - you will not be disappointed! We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K3927EPamyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdSchweizer, Owner at Doc Smithers B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2017

Thank you both for choosing our Band B, and for your very nice review. We seem to get the best guests who come to Chesapeake City! We had a great time sharing life's stories with you. You have challenging careers! Thank you both for your public service. Ed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

This was our first stay at a B&B. It was awesome, like being with family. Eating breakfast, talking about family and learning the history of the town and so much more. The owners, Ed and Suzan went above and beyond what they needed to do, they made us feel like family. We had tea and deserts, wine cheese and crackers, and snacks were left for us when we returned for the night. The whole house was cleaner than any hotel I’ve ever been in. There’s also an elevator if you need it. We can’t wait to go back and stay there. If we drive there just for the day, we will have stop just to say hello.

Room Tip: There are two rooms, your u can’t go wrong with either
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank G7869EQkathleenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdSchweizer, Owner at Doc Smithers B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Thank you, Kathy. You and Dominic were absolutely wonderful to have as guests. We enjoyed you so much, just talking and making friends. Thanks for your gracious review. This family here in Chesapeake City awaits you any time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile

We were in town for a birthday and found this b&b on the internet. Ed and Suzan were accommodating from the beginning. The room was lovely. We had some dietary needs and they made a wonderful breakfast for us. When we got back to the house in the evening Ed invited us to drinks and great conversation which we enjoyed till midnight.. we will definitely go back again to see our new found friends. Paul D.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Diedrichson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

Took us in at the last minute. We loved the place and the proprietors. It was comfortable, quiet, clean, and full of history. Don't hesitate one second to plan your stay here. You won't regret it. We can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Only has two rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Doc Smithers B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doc Smithers B&B

Address: 204 Bohemia Ave, P.O. Box 711, Chesapeake City, MD 21915-1242
Region: United States > Maryland > Chesapeake City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Chesapeake City
Price Range: S$152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1848 this charming B&B is only one block from the C&D Canal. Featuring a nice front porch with rockers, and it is walking distance to shops and excellent restaurants as well as the Marina. Full Breakfast at 9AM, and refreshments between 3PM and 5PM. Separate sitting room/library with a 60" flat screen HD TV, with Netflix. Fully restored in 1998. The B&B has many lovely antiques and an elevator for your convenience. It offers "Yesterdays Charm" with today's Comfort. Innkeepers: Captain Ed & Suzan Schweizer (USNavy, Ret.) Two rooms. $145 & $135 Friday - Sunday and $135 & $125 weekdays plus 6% Maryland sales tax. Payment method: Cash or Check. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing