We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fine setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Inn at Mitchell House
Ranked #4 of 11 Chestertown B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 November 2015

We spent a couple of days/nights in this lovely B&B and enjoyed everything about it. We were with a group of friends, and their living rooms couldn't have been more welcoming and comfortable. The bedrooms were nicely furnished, as was the whole Inn - - with many interesting objects and books, but without being overstuffed or fussy. Breakfasts were delicious. Tracy and Jim were fine hosts and delightful to chat with.

Room Tip: Be very careful of the low, sloped ceiling on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank interested1Ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innatmitch, Owner at The Inn at Mitchell House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2015

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the complements and hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2015

We were visiting friends nearby in Chestertown and they recommended the Mitchell House. It was a very pleasant place to spend two nights at the start of a 2 week road trip. The innkeepers are welcoming and offer lots of suggestions for things to see and do, and places to eat. We were the only guests for the two nights, and Tracy offered us a different room at the same price as our original reservation (one less flight of stairs).
Their dogs are sweet (and are leaners...) - and we were surprised to see them eat apples from the tree! Breakfast was very good and substantial. We are very fussy about coffee and do not care for flavored brew, so we skipped the hazelnut... but the OJ was great in the morning.
Our room was comfortable, with a private bath. The AC worked just fine. Taking a shower in a claw-foot tub with the "surround" shower curtain was a bit of a challenge, but we managed.
The home has quite a bit of character and the history of the house and the area is fascinating.
Be aware that there is very poor cell phone service in Chestertown - not just at the Mitchell house but the entire area!
A drive to the Eastern Neck National Wildlife refuge south of Rock Hall is worth it.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Makai7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innatmitch, Owner at The Inn at Mitchell House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2015

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again soon! Tracy Stone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2015 via mobile

Our family has been visiting The Inn at Mitchell House for more than 15 years, and we keep returning, even now that we've moved to New England. The Inn is charming and historic, and the breakfast is scrumptious without fail, but most importantly, we feel like family whenever we return to Tracy and Jim Stone's magnificent yet cozy home. We've stayed at B&Bs throughout the United States and Europe, and the Inn at Mitchell House remains our favorite by far. Nothing beats the drive down the wonderful path to their home or smelling the coffee and bacon in the morning. We love Mitchell House and will be back as soon as we can.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innatmitch, Owner at The Inn at Mitchell House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2015

It really has been our pleasure to host your beautiful family and watch the girls grow over the years. Thank you for sharing and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2015 via mobile

My husband and I wanted to get away for the night and the owners here could not have been more accommodating. They were able to get us in for one night despite the two night minimum and were very gracious hosts. They recommended a great place for dinner and served a wonderful breakfast. We will definitely be going back again and hopefully can get away for two nights!!

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ltaralseth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innatmitch, Owner at The Inn at Mitchell House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2015

So glad you enjoyed your stay - would love to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2015

The Inn at Mitchell House is one of my favorite places in the world! My wife Julie and I were married at the Inn and have known Jim and Tracey Stone for many years. We have spent many weekends at the Inn with family and friends. This is a special, quiet, and peaceful place with a sense of history and a timeless charm. The grounds are expansive and beautifully maintained. Jim and Tracey are wonderful and attentive hosts, but also give guests the space to enjoy a quiet retreat or time with friends. This is a gem for anyone who is looking for a place to relax away from the noise of the city.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SHDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innatmitch, Owner at The Inn at Mitchell House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2015

So glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chestertown
11.8 km away
Brampton Bed and Breakfast Inn
14.2 km away
John Stam House
John Stam House
#5 of 11 in Chestertown
26 reviews
5.9 km away
Great Oak Manor
Great Oak Manor
#2 of 11 in Chestertown
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 km away
The Inn at Osprey Point
The Inn at Osprey Point
#1 of 10 in Rock Hall
354 reviews
13.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chestertown
14 km away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#2 of 2 in Chestertown
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Mitchell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Mitchell House

Address: 8796 Maryland Pkwy, Chestertown, MD 21620-4209
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Chestertown
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Chestertown
Price Range: $216 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Mitchell House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Maryland's Eastern Shore between Chestertown and Rock Hall in Kent County, this lovely 18th-century manor home sits like a jewel on 12 manicured acres. The Chesapeake Bay is a mere 1/2 mile away, where guests may use the private beach and full services of the Tolchester Marina. The Inn's six guest rooms, two parlors, screened porch, and numerous fireplaces provide a casual and friendly atmosphere. Our new "Stones Throw" cottage is the perfect romantic getaway or retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Inn at Mitchell House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing