We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, Beautiful and Peaceful!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Inn at Mitchell House
Ranked #4 of 11 Chestertown B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 February 2016

My husband and I visited the Inn at Mitchell House the weekend of November 13th-15th, 2015. We had a wonderful time and greatly enjoyed our visit! Jim and Tracy, owners, were very helpful in guiding us to events around historic Chestertown. Also, the food was fabulous!! We will definitely visit there again!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Dr. William Ringgold Room...it was clean and had it's own bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2016

I love everything about this inn: the expansive and beautiful grounds, the clear love of history and the outdoors by the innkeepers, the delicious breakfast. The innkeepers are kind and accommodating. This inn has become a regular stop for me when I travel home with my girls along an East Coast route.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank VTMMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innatmitch, Owner at The Inn at Mitchell House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2016

So very happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2015

My wife and I and grown kids wanted a chance to get away from our busy lives for a few days and discovered this wonderful inn on the eastern shore of Maryland near Chestertown. A historical site where a wounded British soldier died during the War of 1812, the Inn at Mitchell House combines high rustic (if there is such a term) decor with comfortable and spacious sleeping and living space. There are books to read, board games, lawn games, and in nearby Chestertown great shops and restaurants. Jim and Tracy Stone, longtime innkeepers, are friendly, responsive, and highly knowledgeable about the area. And Tracy is a great cook.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2015

We spent a couple of days/nights in this lovely B&B and enjoyed everything about it. We were with a group of friends, and their living rooms couldn't have been more welcoming and comfortable. The bedrooms were nicely furnished, as was the whole Inn - - with many interesting objects and books, but without being overstuffed or fussy. Breakfasts were delicious. Tracy and Jim were fine hosts and delightful to chat with.

Room Tip: Be very careful of the low, sloped ceiling on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank interested1Ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innatmitch, Owner at The Inn at Mitchell House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2015

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the complements and hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2015

We were visiting friends nearby in Chestertown and they recommended the Mitchell House. It was a very pleasant place to spend two nights at the start of a 2 week road trip. The innkeepers are welcoming and offer lots of suggestions for things to see and do, and places to eat. We were the only guests for the two nights, and Tracy offered us a different room at the same price as our original reservation (one less flight of stairs).
Their dogs are sweet (and are leaners...) - and we were surprised to see them eat apples from the tree! Breakfast was very good and substantial. We are very fussy about coffee and do not care for flavored brew, so we skipped the hazelnut... but the OJ was great in the morning.
Our room was comfortable, with a private bath. The AC worked just fine. Taking a shower in a claw-foot tub with the "surround" shower curtain was a bit of a challenge, but we managed.
The home has quite a bit of character and the history of the house and the area is fascinating.
Be aware that there is very poor cell phone service in Chestertown - not just at the Mitchell house but the entire area!
A drive to the Eastern Neck National Wildlife refuge south of Rock Hall is worth it.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Makai7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innatmitch, Owner at The Inn at Mitchell House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2015

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again soon! Tracy Stone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chestertown
11.8 km away
Brampton Bed and Breakfast Inn
14.2 km away
John Stam House
John Stam House
#6 of 11 in Chestertown
26 reviews
5.9 km away
Great Oak Manor
Great Oak Manor
#2 of 11 in Chestertown
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 km away
The Inn at Osprey Point
The Inn at Osprey Point
#1 of 10 in Rock Hall
354 reviews
13.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chestertown
14 km away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#2 of 2 in Chestertown
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Mitchell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Mitchell House

Address: 8796 Maryland Pkwy, Chestertown, MD 21620-4209
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Chestertown
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Chestertown
Price Range: $218 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Mitchell House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Maryland's Eastern Shore between Chestertown and Rock Hall in Kent County, this lovely 18th-century manor home sits like a jewel on 12 manicured acres. The Chesapeake Bay is a mere 1/2 mile away, where guests may use the private beach and full services of the Tolchester Marina. The Inn's six guest rooms, two parlors, screened porch, and numerous fireplaces provide a casual and friendly atmosphere. Our new "Stones Throw" cottage is the perfect romantic getaway or retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Inn at Mitchell House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing