We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming place, beautiful location and the nicest inn keepers!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lazy Jack Inn on Dogwood Harbor
Ranked #3 of 4 Tilghman B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 June 2008

This inn is just a beautiful place, cozy, tastefully decorated and extremely clean.
We had the worst luck on our anniversary getaway to Lazyjack, as only a few hours after we arrived (after having lunch at the Bay Hundred, walking distance from the inn- which Carol, our host, recommended and which had the most delicious crab cakes!), a big storm accompanied by tornadoes hit the island and we were left without electricity and water!
It was really such a shame because we really loved the place, our room was gorgeous (we had the Nellie Byrd suite, the most luxurious of the entire house, with beautiful views of the Choptonk river, a nice jacuzzi which we never got to use, unfortunately)- we got to see all the other rooms in the house, all nice, but after the Nellie Byrd I think the next nicest was the West Room.
We managed to go into St. Michaels after the first storm (only a 10 minute drive from the island), a nice little town, and we had an excellent dinner at 208 Talbot, ate at the bar, great service and atmosphere, but then we heard that there was another storm coming so we returned to the inn, hoping for good news.
We ended up spending the night watching the storm from the Harbor Room and chatting with our hosts, the most pleasant and interesting company we could ask for.
Despite the conditions, Carol still managed to make the most amazing breakfast the next day, both delicious and visually appealing (it could have been on the cover of Saveur magazine, that's how professional the presentation was), and she tried everything to make our stay as enjoyable as possible under the circumstances.
We loved the place and we are definitely coming back -hopefully nature won't interfere with our plans again!
Thanks for everything, Carol and Mike, we will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank libelula_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 59 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2008

Everything from the forsythia and violets winking at us from the beautiful garden as we pulled in, to the comfortable and well appointed room, to the tasty and filling breakfast, to our wonderful hosts, the Lazy Jack Inn is a great place. We have stayed at several B&Bs over the years, and we have to say that is is among the best, if not THE best. Mike and Carol made us welcome from the minute we arrived, but did not hover over us throughout our stay. We stayed in the Nellie Bird suite, which overlooks the back garden and working harbor. Everything about the room was great -- comfy bed, nice sitting area, spacious bathroom, plenty of hot water. We were lucky enough to see the other rooms the next day after all of the guests were gone and can honestly say they all looked pleasant and we would stay in any one of them. Breakfast started with wonderful coffee from the local roaster and juice, fresh muffins, plate of seasonal fruit tastefully arranged, and to-die-for omletts over freshly steam asparagus.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jeananddon_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2007

This is a very charming place with a back deck that over look the water. We booked the "Stay and Sail" package.

Our room was small, or should I say cozy but it was very nicely deocorated and clean. The one thing I remember was the bed was similar to the JW Heavenly beds where you sink in and never want to get up.

The breakfast is always the hardest part for me since it was promptly at 8:30AM. You sit at the large dining table and socialize with your fellow lodgers. (This was a bit tough since I always have problem putting two words together in the morning w/o coffee).

The food is AMAZING. Carol made fresh muffins with the smell filling the air. There were different breakfast every morning...I just remember having a hard time walking afterwards.

We went on the sunset sail and it was a great experience. With the sun setting in the background and a couple of champagne in our hands...it was a perfect close to a relaxing day.

I recommand going to the The Crab Claw in St. Michalels near the bridge. You eat amazing Maryland crabs overlooking the water.

  • Stayed: May 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank marisue99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2007

Unfortunately the location of the inn is not ideal. It is situated right next to a cove where this is a boat landing and apparently hoodlums like to hang out there after dark. We were anxious to relax and feel/smell the bay breeze in the East Room but instead we heard shouting and witnessed public urination out of our window. We were able to change rooms but had to pay more for the other room. For over $200 a night, we really had hoped for some relaxation and looked forward to sitting on their nice porch in the back overlooking the water. The Lazyjack Inn just lacked the peace and quiet we were looking for.

Mike and Carol were otherwise gracious hosts and were very health conscious and eco-friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank lovesnature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2007

The Lazyjack Inn is what a REAL B&B is all about. My husband and I just got back from a three night stay at this Inn in Tilghman Island, MD. The Lazyjack Inn is a 5 star Inn for a 3 star price.
The Inn keepers, Mike and Carol made us feel at home the minute we walked in the house. They are not only innkeepers but also concierge. After checking in, they went through a detailed description of all the restaurants in the area and even helped us book dinner reservations and activities for the day.

We stayed in the west room which is the smallest room in the house, however it did not miss any detail. The room and bathroom were VERY CLEAN, and very tastefully decorated. The bed was very firm and the linens very soft. The bathroom was roomy, with very hot water and very good water pressure. Each day all the towels were changed even if not used. At night , housekeeping left chocolates and two small bottles of Pellegrino sparkling water with glasses. Very nice touch!!!

This B&B is a house therefore you could hear when other guests opened and closed their room door but in the morning you would NOT hear any noise when Mike and Carol were getting the food and table ready for breakfast.

Talking about breakfast. The gourmet breakfast at The Lazyjack Inn is one of the features that dfiferentiates them from other B&B in the area. We had never had such DELICIOUS, DELECTABLE and SCRUMPTIOUS breakfast at a B&B before. It was absolutely OUTSTANDING!!! It is a sit down breakfast served at a specific time so make sure to be ready on time for it. There are no seconds except for coffee but the portions are generous so you won't stay hungry. The breakfast consists of a plate of fruit, a large muffin and a main entree. The three varied each day. Carol really goes all out with it. Not only was the food exceptional but the presentation was just as good.

Needless to say, we were EXTREMELY pleased and happy during our stay at The Lazyjack Inn and HIGHLY recommend it. It is worth every penny if you decide to stay at the Nellie Byrd suite which is the fanciest room or at the west room which is the smallest room in the house.

We got to take a peek of each room and each is decorated differently but none missed a detail. The Nellie Byrd, West room and East room are on the second floor. The Nellie Byrd is very elegantly decorated in pink, white and black with a view of the Dogwood Harbor. The East room is decorated with wood furniture and peach and Ivory colors. It has a view of the Dogwood Harbor and the front lawn. The West rooms is decorated in yellow, white and blue with a view of the front lawn. The Garden Suite is on the first floor decorated with in light green and peach colors. It has a view of the front porch and a living room area with a view of the lovely garden.

When the shades are up, all the rooms are very bright with several windows including the West room. They have controllable air condition but no TV.

This all I have to say about the Lazyjack Inn, Hope my review is very helpful for those looking to stay at a B&B in Tilghman Island.

P.S. You must go sailing on The Lady Patty whose captain is Mike and Carol's son Chris. Definitely worth it!!!
We also recommend having lunch or dinner at the Bay Hundred Restaurant. We had dinner twice and were very pleased with the food.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Boodkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tilghman
17.3 km away
Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa
Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Chesapeake Beach
620 reviews
13.2 km away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
12.8 km away
St. Michaels Inn
St. Michaels Inn
#3 of 4 in St. Michaels
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Knapp's Narrows Marina & Inn
4.6 km away
Black Walnut Point Inn
Black Walnut Point Inn
#2 of 4 in Tilghman
374 reviews
12.6 km away
The Old Brick Inn
The Old Brick Inn
#1 of 13 in St. Michaels
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy Jack Inn on Dogwood Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy Jack Inn on Dogwood Harbor

Address: 5907 Tilghman Island Rd, Tilghman, MD 21671-1181
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Talbot County > Tilghman
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Tilghman
Price Range: $237 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lazy Jack Inn on Dogwood Harbor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Occaisonally, rarely, you discover a sublime hospitality experience that changes your whole notion of a getaway destination. The Lazyjack Inn is just such an experience.Set against the backdrop of a quaint fisherman's harbor, furnished and appointed with personal treasures, the Lazyjack Inn is a comfortably elegant sanstuary that cobbles you with sumptous gourmet breakfasts and the unhurried ambiance of Tilghman Island. Come visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Lazy Jack Inn on Dogwood Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing