We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel I have ever stayed in!!!!!!”
Review of Blantyre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Blantyre
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Lenox
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 September 2011

The Blantyre was by far the best hotel I've ever stayed in and possibly ever will. The service was truly unbelievable. When we pulled in to the drive way we were greeted by hotel staff who knew our name and showed us to our cottage. I have no idea how they knew who we were. We walked into the cottage and were greeted with champaign and some snacks (cheese, crackers, and fruit). The room included a fire place, lots of extra fire wood, a private deck and numerous book shelves with some amazing books (we loved the pools books). In the evening we went to the main building for our tasting dinner. FANTASTIC. We sat next to the fireplace and had drinks before being seated in a small room with only two other tables for dinner. I can't possibly say enough about the service. The staff at the Blantyre set the standard for true 5 star service.
We also used the health club, swimming in the pool and using the jacuzzi during our stay. Again, all amazing.
I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for an over the top amazing experience. Loved every minute!!

Room Tip: Rent one of the cabins. While the main residence seems nice, the cabins/cottages are stunning!
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank NYCtraveler33Nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
There are newer reviews for Blantyre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

201 - 205 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2011

We went for a intimate family wedding. It was the most charming, exquisite wedding, due to the ambience of this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicky9253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

The Blantyre was absolutely perfect in every way ! The warm staff, exquisite food, and luxurious accommodations were wonderful ! In addition, the beautiful grounds and lovely setting truly added to our stay. You will love The Blantyre !

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CtTracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

If you have ever wondered what it was like to be fabulously wealthy In the 1950's, stay at the Blantyre and wonder no more. the rich have pretty ways and everything about this property is over the top. You will be reminded of your grandparents tastes and preferences from the floral wallpapers and fabrics to the mounts of exotic game animals.

The service is spectacular. The wine cellar has no equal. The food is lavish.

But, the spa needs work. We booked a couple of appointments one afternoon only to get a message in our room shortly before noon that the therapist had an issue and they would have to cancel my appointment. The fitness facility does have a couple of Woodway treadmills, but that is all to recommend it. But, this is completely consistent with the period of the place. After all, who but Jack Lalane exercised in the 1950's?

A word about the cost of all of this opulence, if your home is not a mansion of equal size and scale, then you are not the Blantyre's target audience. Nice rooms run about $1000 a night and unlike comparable resorts like The Point, that is not all inclusive. Moreover, there is an 18 percent service charge on your daily bill for the staff, so figure another $180 a night on top of the $1000 for a nice room before taxes. In summary, a three night stay in a nice room will run you more than $5000. for this reason, their $8 price for a cola makes perfect sense.

If you long for the good life back when Harry Truman was President, stay at The Blantyre and practice at the art of doing absolutely nothing all day with a talented staff who are determined to anticipate your every need.

Room Tip: The Laurel Suite is lovely
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gutreaction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

quick stop over on a long east coast trip -- wonderfully quaint, friendly staff - maybe a slow night but a bit empty. Overall my husband and I enjoyed our stay but maybe we needed more time to appreciate it fully.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ericamyNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
3.7 km away
Wheatleigh
Wheatleigh
#8 of 16 in Lenox
131 reviews
1.6 km away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
3.5 km away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#4 of 16 in Lenox
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 km away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,037 reviews
1.2 km away
LakeHouse Inn
LakeHouse Inn
#1 of 9 in Lee
150 reviews
4.9 km away
Courtyard Marriott Lenox Berkshires
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blantyre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blantyre

Address: 16 Blantyre Rd, Lenox, MA 01240-2776
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lenox
Price Range: $724 - $1,568 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blantyre 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blantyre Relais & Chateaux is a romantic country house hotel. Set amidst 110 acres of lush lawns and woodlands in the beautiful Berkshires of Western Massachusetts. A Tudor style house built in 1902 is resplendent with period furnishings and sumptuous fabrics. A relaxing retreat with a professional,caring and friendly staff. Award winning food, wine list and spa. A getaway for all seasons...summer music festivals, splendid fall leaves, winter wonderland with ice skating and snowshoeing on property. Blantyre is equidistant between NYC and Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Blantyre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blantyre Hotel Lenox
Blantyre Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing