We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Only Thing Missing was a Hojo's Next Door”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites Lexington
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Lexington
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
78 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“The Only Thing Missing was a Hojo's Next Door”
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Having lost power due to the pre-Halloween storm that brought much of Southern New England to a standstill, my wife and I found serviceable, reasonably-priced lodging at the Lexington Quality Inn. Following our one-night stay, however, it’s hard to shake a feeling of déjà-vu, as if we had been here before, say, back in the late 60s, a time when Quality Inns were plentiful and Hojo dominated the highway food scene. (Fittingly, adjacent to the Quality Inn is a Tex-Mex chain restaurant.) Alas, while nostalgia has its appeal, it also has its limitations, as is the case with this rather outdated and uninspired accommodation that seems stuck in the second-half of the 20th century.

The Lexington Quality Inn features a functional, Motel-6-like two-level shell. In classic motel fashion, you can park your car within a few feet of your actual room. Our room, by the way, was priced at $89. There was also a $24 fee for our two dogs (not inexpensive, but much appreciated). The room had a rather pungent ammonia scent about it, as if the cleaning supplies had been obtained at the local Dollar Tree. Still, the room was ample in size, providing us with a surprisingly comfortable king-sized bed. There was a large LG TV, with Direct TV, along with an oversized fridge, microwave (?), small coffeemaker, non-functioning hairdryer, and iron and ironing board (the latter of which we didn’t attempt to use).

The bathroom was merely functional, providing a curious and unwelcoming design with toilet and tub/shower in a cramped, window-less room while the sink and mirror were situated between the bathroom and living area. Thankfully, the shower offered ample hot water and good water pressure. The same, however, could not be said about the sink, as water pressure was poor. While the bathroom lighting was satisfactory, it should be said the bathroom, as a whole, is in need of updating.

While the room was generally tidy, the carpeting was badly frayed near the door.

Having breakfast at the Lexington Quality Inn is by no means a distinctive affair, but given our low expectations we found it a welcome kick-start to our day. Breakfast is taken in a sterile, characterless room, strangely very close and within earshot to the reception desk. Here diners will find the usual array of bagels, cold cereals, packaged yogurts, coffee, and the like. Hot foods included sausages, curious-shaped poached eggs, and, much to our surprise, a waffle maker. The coffee was surprisingly tasty, but the emphasis on paper and plastic goods was a bit dispiriting, as a nearby wastebasket would attest. Indeed, the whole affair was reminiscent of a middle school cafeteria.

Service at the Quality Inn was friendly and helpful enough, though the employees we encountered presented themselves as wishing to be far, far away, perhaps in a that modern, four-star accommodation of their dreams.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank claremay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose V, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Lexington, responded to this review, 4 November 2011
Thank you very much for you staying with us. Detailed comments such as yours are very much appreciated as they help us to continually improve ourselves. I will speak to the proper departments about the cleaning supply smell in your room, and the hairdryer. We also have plans to renovate the breakfast area in the near future. Should you happen to need accommodations in the area again (preferably not due to a power outage) I hope you will stop in and see how we've improved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    119
    102
    71
    91
See reviews for
149
102
25
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Drexel Hill, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We went on vacation to Boston and booked the Quality Inn because we almost always stay there around the country and love them but this was a nightmare! They had an inch of snow and we were without electricity, heat or hot water for almost a day and a half and when I asked them about any reimbursement, the manager told me it was an Act of God and the owners was thinking about it but when I checked out, I was told nothing was being done but I left my e-mail address anyway. I was offered two extra blankets when I told them my room was hovering around 50 degrees. I WILL NEVER STAY AT A QUALITY INN AGAIN!. And I have been at about 50 of them around the country. When I asked what was being done when it first happened, the blame was all placed on MA Electric Co and we didn't even get "they're working on it", I was told, the time for electric to return was "to be determined". It set the tone for a horrible, horrible trip. We couldn't even shower for two days b/c the water was like ice cubes and that makes for a not so fresh feeling when you're sightseeing.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maisesymom628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose V, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Lexington, responded to this review, 4 November 2011
Thank your very much for taking the time to review your stay with us. Our hotel is focused on providing an excellent guest experience and due to the massive power outages in the area we were unable to provide it to the best of our ability. We are working with some local companies to provide better services in case something of that nature happens again. I hope that you will still consider us in the future so that you may see us at our best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lexington hotels

Level Contributor
103 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Everything was exactly as it should be. Clean comfortable room in a convenient location. I hate the micro pillows but that is a Choice thing across the board... Nice breakfast, friendly staff. Recommended for anyone wanting to stay near Boston without going all the way in to town.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The8racer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upasana A, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Lexington, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we were able to provide you a comfortable accommodation. As you mentioned, we are conveniently located 15 minute north of Boston.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agen, France
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Clean, modern and quiet, this hotel is very confortable. The rooms are fairly large, clean, peaceful and cosy with Wi-Fi. I didn't find any prob with anything. The only disadvantage is that it's located a little bit far to Boston... but not traffic noise disturbance in this hotel and free parking ! Complimentary breakfast is also above average, includes waffles, boiled eggs, sausages, fruits, muffins, cornflakes, yogurts, cheese and fresh juice. To diner, à Mexican restaurant nearby it's very great !

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pipounette47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upasana A, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Lexington, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
Dear Guest,

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and all that our hotel has to offer. We keep coming up with new breakfast offerings periodically and hope that you have something of your liking, the next time you are in the area.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Why is this place the best in its class? The beds are extremely comfortable. The staff is super friendly. The rooms are reasonably clean. The free breakfast is pretty good...it includes hot sausage and you can make a fresh baked waffle. The new-ish and popular on-site Mexican-themed restaurant is great for a full dinner though slightly pricey, and it also has a bar area, plus there are some other good places to eat dinner down the road in Lexington. You can request a free pass to use the name-brand fitness club across the street. The wireless internet service is reliable. There is regular and decaf hot coffee in the lobby, and an attendant behind the desk, 24/7. The rooms have a microwave and fridge. There are coin operated washers and dryers if you ever need them. The heating and cooling and hot water and plumbing are all reliable.

What might you not like? It has a motel-like feel with interior stairwells but all outdoor room entrances. The internet can be slow in the evening -- not uncommon at hotels these days. There are sometimes tour buses which can create some early morning noise in certain rooms. The breakfast can be very crowded at times. Once in awhile a room will smell not quite right -- maybe due to water in the ceiling or some other problem. Parking can be tight if you arrive late in the evening depending on which building you are in. Quick food is hard to find after the restaurant kitchen closes at 10 PM. The TVs are not flat panel in the building where they usually put me and the desk chairs sit kind of low at their highest setting. A lamp occasionally is broken or not plugged in. If you are on the second floor, access is a bit inconvenient.

I have spent several hundred nights in this hotel on business. It is not a place where I would send a client, but I recommend it to co-workers and friends all the time because of its value and other great attributes.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dbmachine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upasana A, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Lexington, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for mentioning the good as well as bad points of our hotel. Please note that we have expanded our breakfast area to seat 80 people comfortable. We have plenty restaurant menus in room as well as at the front desk that deliver at night. Thank you for your business.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lexington
3.3 km away
Aloft Lexington
Aloft Lexington
#3 of 4 in Lexington
478 reviews
2.7 km away
Candlewood Suites Boston-Burlington
3.2 km away
Element Lexington
Element Lexington
#2 of 4 in Lexington
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 km away
Best Western at Historic Concord
2.9 km away
The Inn at Hastings Park
The Inn at Hastings Park
#1 of 4 in Lexington
148 reviews
4.0 km away
DoubleTree Hotel Boston/Bedford Glen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Lexington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Lexington

Property: Quality Inn & Suites Lexington
Address: 440 Bedford St, Lexington, MA 02420-1547
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Lexington
Price range (per night): $154 - $236
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites Lexington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Lexington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn And Suites Lexington
Quality Inn & Suites Lexington Hotel Lexington
Quality Inn Hotel Lexington
Quality Inn Lexington
Lexington Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing