We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay and charming innkeeper”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mattapoisett
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Mattapoisett Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Mattapoisett B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 April 2017

Had a great couple of days at The Mattapoisett Inn. Deanne is a gracious host and a talented chef. The location is super. The inn feels very much like your home and Deanne endeavors to make sure you feel that way. I stayed in the Nantucket Room, a very comfortable room with it's own private bath and a view overlooking the harbor.
With the front door on Water Street, it's fun to walk down to the town wharf and Shipyard Park. Mattapoisett is a quiet getaway from life's many trials and tribulations. The "Village" boasts many historic homes dating back to whaling times. In fact several whaling captains built homes in Mattapoisett as the town has a sheltered and scenic harbor where a ship might anchor after a long journey.
Since I visited in March and it was bitterly cold, at least for a Southern transplant like myself, I did not avail myself of the gardens, of which our innkeeper is very proud.
I am certain that a trip mid-summer would be a great opportunity to enjoy them, as well as a stroll over to Shipyard Park for music, casting a line out into the harbor for fish or just a walk to the town beach, which is just three minutes down Water Street.
But regardless of your reason to visit, you will find the Inn welcome, the innkeeper charming and your stay pleasant and relaxing.

Room Tip: Check out the website, rooms are as advertised.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rickd51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2016

I grew up in Mattapoisett and was in town for a funeral. This B&B is delightful -- accommodations are gracious and reflect the harbor side location and wonderful views of the ocean. There are only three rooms, so book early for anything close to summer. Breakfast is terrific and Deanne is a marvelous innkeeper. We discovered our paths had crossed many times and that we literally had hundreds of people in common. Balconies overlooking the harbor will give one a great deal of pleasure and peace in warmer months. Downstairs living area is also large, warm and well furnished. The Inn on Shipyard Park is a two minute walk away. Good food and beverage! Has had several incarnations in my lifetime, but is a wonderful seaside restaurant! Town wharf and a delightful general store are just across the street. Town beach is four minutes walk.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Nantucket room which was delightful. Only three rooms, but all are charming
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PhilipNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2016

We stayed with Deanne who cooked the most wonderful breakfasts with unique egg dishes with garden veggies and home made jams. We stayed in the Sail Loft which is upstairs and boasts unique sliding doors.

The bed was very comfortable, the inn is impeccably clean and we met some nice people during our three day stay. It is located right across a quiet street from a beautiful bay.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank themenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2016

After a long, exhausting day of travel, my husband and I felt we had walked into a Fairy Tale when we arrived at the Mattapoisett Inn. There was a welcome note on the door, and all of our stress melted away at the sight of the beautifully appointed home with lovely touches of fresh flowers, and beautiful garden and ocean views. Our room was inviting and cozy with a skylight that could be opened, and delicious gourmet candies on the dresser. After enjoying a glass of wine on the upstairs outdoor veranda, we slept better than we had in weeks! the next morning, we awoke to the delicious smell of coffee and made our way down to the kitchen/dining area to find our hostess, Deanne,
beginning to prepare breakfast. She made us feel so welcome, and we so enjoyed hearing about the history of the Inn and all of her recommendations to explore in the surrounding area. Breakfast was absolutely delicious, and consisted of a fluffy, flavorful frittata with crisp bacon and artistically arranged fruit. It looked almost too beautiful to eat! If that wasn't enough, we were also welcomed by a beautiful little black kitty. We are cat lovers and miss ours so much.....she seemed to know that too!
we also had the pleasure of getting to meet another couple that were staying there also. They were lovely people, and it was such a treat to hear their stories as well. My only regret is that we didn't stay longer at this "little piece of heaven", as we had already booked another place for the remainder of our trip :(. We hope to go back again someday, as it truly was an experience we will never forget! Thank you Deanne!!!

Room Tip: We loved our room, which was named the 'Cuttyhunk', because it was so quiet and cozy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2016

We were coming into town to visit nearby Tabor Academy with our son and needed a convenient place to stay. After researching options (including on TripAdvisor) we settled on the Mattapoisett Inn, a quaint B&B located right on the water and a short drive from Tabor. The reservation process was smooth and we received an emailed confirmation in a timely manner. When we arrived, we were warmly greeted by Deanne and shown to our room. She was very friendly and provided recommendations for the night. We made the short walk to the beach, listened to a band playing in the park then sat outside at the Inn at Ship Yard which is just a few steps from this B&B. Terrific place. The room was comfortable and tastefully decorated, although the bathroom was on the small side. I spent time relaxing and watching TV in the Living Room when we returned from the Inn. Breakfast in the morning was an omelette with bacon and fresh fruit. The coffee was only OK (I'm particular about coffee) but the orange juice was excellent. Deanne agreed to make an alternate dish for my son who didn't care for the omelette. We appreciated her flexibility and willingness to help with this. She made our stay a very pleasant one. Deanne made conversation and was appropriately engaging but also gave our family space so that we could enjoy the peace and quiet. We would definitely return to this B&B and recommend it to anyone who is in the area. Deanne is a terrific host with a lovely home.

Room Tip: We chose the Cuttyhunk Room but would opt for the Sail Loft Room next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mr_IPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mattapoisett
8.2 km away
Seaport Inn and Marina
Seaport Inn and Marina
#2 of 3 in Fairhaven
281 reviews
14.5 km away
Regency Inn & Suites
Regency Inn & Suites
#3 of 5 in Dartmouth
93 reviews
7.9 km away
Delano Homestead Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mattapoisett Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mattapoisett Inn

Address: 23 Water St, Mattapoisett, MA 02739-2043
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Mattapoisett
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mattapoisett
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing