We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beachway Motel(Salisbury)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Fairfield Inn Amesbury(Amesbury)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue - Inn on the Beach(Plum Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seabrook Inn(Seabrook)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (450)
Filter reviews
450 results
Traveller rating
304
82
34
20
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
304
82
34
20
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmade to order breakfastexposed brickcomplimentary breakfastcorner roomeggs benedicttea cupstea servicegrand parkwithin walking distancehistoric buildingnew englanddowntown newburyportroom was largecaviarbreakfast sandwichshops and restaurantsfree parking
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 450 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2018

Do not book here in the winter. Even with bad weather, trains and planes cancelled and flooding and power outages everywhere, they will still charge you for your room, even if it's impossible to get there. Not helpful at all. Everyone else was very accommodating due to the storm with cancellations such as airlines, car rentals, and Marriott. I will never book here again. Very disappointed that they were not more understanding and helpful under the circumstances.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Lorie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marty978, Guest Relations Manager at Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property, we appreciate all feedback regarding our hotel, even if the person was unable to stay with us. We are sorry that you have been disappointed by our cancellation policy and we are aware that obviously there are certain events beyond anyone's control. However, the businesses you are referring to are large national chains, our Inn is small enough that even one cancellation makes an enormous difference, thus, there are no exceptions to our cancellation policy (even for weather) and as such we email you to recommend that you purchase travel insurance. This is clearly stated in our cancellation policy which is sent to guests multiple times well before their check-in date. Usually, we are more than happy to discuss alternative courses of action, however, if guests do not respond to us there is very little we can do to help. We can only apologise for the situation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017

This is our first time at Garrison, though we have wanted to do so for a very long time. We have been coming to Newburyport between Christmas and New Years for the last 17 years, but we usually booked too late and the Garrison would by that time be out of reach financially, with only the larger, more expensive rooms left. This year we booked earlier, and we are so glad we did! From the moment we stepped inside we had a great experience - from the Tea Noir (tea, coffee, cookies and candies in the lovely dining area from 4 to 10 PM) to the wonderful made-to-order breakfast by Stu, to the lovely well-appointed exposed brick room with the lovely bathroom and comfortable, comforter-covered bed, to the fact that we could step right out the front door and get into our car, the stay could not have been better. We liked the fact that someone was at the desk 24 hours (though it was an Inn - it is not true of other Inns/B&B's in the area), the cleanliness of the public areas, and that dogs are accepted (though we don't have one ourselves). It was great to be one block over from the center of town, and to able to walk everywhere to restaurants and stores. Two suggestions - it was zero degrees, so have a fire burning in the great fireplace in the lobby, and when switching from one mode to another, the heater made clicking noises that we pretty loud (sounded like clapping hands) - wish that could be altered. Heater noises have been mentioned in previous reviews over the years. Those are minor issues, though. We slept very deeply and felt so rested in the morning. We plan to make the Garrison our regular place to stay in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a park view
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank galindatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marty978, Guest Relations Manager at Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Thank you for your review of your stay with us here at the Garrison Inn. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the room, the staff, and the character of our hotel. I am also very happy that you enjoyed the complimentary extras we provide our guests.

Please know that reviews like this that so eloquently describe a guest's experience here at the hotel let us know that we are on the right track and are much appreciated.

We hope that next time next year you will be able to stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017

We were very pleased with the accommodations at the Garrison Inn. This boutique hotel featured a combination of rich historical character with modern amenities and comfort. Our Grand Park View room was very quiet and spacious. The staff was very attentive and helpful both at the front desk and in the dining area where we enjoyed a yummy made-to-order breakfast! The tea cup collection in the lobby is also a nice touch. The hotel itself is within walking distance of the main shops and restaurants that Newburyport has to offer. Hope to make it back again soon!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marty978, Guest Relations Manager at Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Thank you so much for your 5-star review of our property. We greatly appreciate the feedback as it lets us know we are on the right track! We are so happy you enjoyed the style of the hotel and the location. We hope you will return to stay with us again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017 via mobile

Absolutely Wonderful from the minute you walk in the door! Room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was delicious! All the staff are extremely friendly and make sure you have everything you need. I’ve been visiting Boston more than 25 years and will only stay here. You should do the same!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank LouiesMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marty978, Guest Relations Manager at Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Thank you for your review, we are so happy you had a nice time with us and enjoyed your breakfast! We are so wonderful to hear such feed back from a return gust with us, we look forward to when you stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017

Very quaint, home style hotel in a beautiful town. It was a nice change from the big hotels. Quiet lobby with tea in the afternoon and a free homestyle breakfast made to order. Our room was in the corner which was quiet and nice. We didn't order one with a fireplace and didn't need it since this October weekend was 70 degrees.
The parking lot was small but there is another one across the street for additional parking. If you have two cars you will be charged for the additional one, a small fee.
The staff is great and will do everything they can to accomodate your needs while staying here.

Room Tip: Elevator is slow so if you can walk and don't want to wait take a lower floor room.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank buzzy-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marty978, Guest Relations Manager at Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

Thank you so much for your review of your recent stay with us at the Garrison Inn. We are happy you had a nice time with us and we hope that you will stay with us again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews