We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Italian food ”

Montano's Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 10 Restaurants in North Truro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$24
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Since 1988, Montano's Restaurant has been treating residents and visitors of North Truro alike to authentic Italian cuisine that's made from scratch the old fashioned way. With pasta that's crafted in-house and cooked to order, homemade sauces, and pizza dough that's made fresh daily, it's easy to see why we've become a local favorite. You'll be welcomed in with warm and inviting service as you relax and look over our menu. Our dishes feature local seafood that's freshly caught as well as dry aged USDA Prime Meats for steak that's intensified in flavor and cooked to perfection. Whether you're tasting our New Haven style pizza or our eggplant parmesan, you'll feel like you're dining in Italy without leaving Cape Cod.
Reviewed 16 February 2018 via mobile

We visited with a large group and had a wonderful dinner. Service was a little slow because of the size of our group. Food was excellent. Pasta is homemade. Veal was tender as it has always been. Many entrees are very large and almost enough for two people. Good Italian wines at $30 per bottle.

Thank capec0dtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob M, Owner at Montano's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

I'm thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful dinner! Thank so much for dining with us -- it sounds like the veal and pasta were just what you needed. I look forward to serving you folks again soon.

Take care,
Bob Montano, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (356)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 356 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2018

Were there for a private function. Montano's provided an excellent meal. Their steak tips were so tender you could cut them with a sharp look. Beautifully done asparagus as well. I would return in a heartbeat.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob M, Owner at Montano's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Thanks for stopping by, Bill! I'm happy to hear that the steak tips and asparagus were wonderful. Hope to have you back in again soon!

Take care,
Bob Montano, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2017

Bob was taught by Frank Pepi's family, the first family of pizza in America. The white clam pie is stunningly great. I used to have friends pick up half baked clam pies in New Haven on their way here. No more as I can get a spectacular replica on my way home from work. The fresh pasta is really good and the wine list is well selected and reasonably priced.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob M, Owner at Montano's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2017

Thanks for the excellent review, Jerry. I'm happy to hear that you're a big fan of the New Haven style pizza. Hope to see you around soon!

Best wishes,
Bob Montano, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017

Many restaurants on the Cape close for the winter. Montano's does not. It is a great dining alternative to waiting in line in Provincetown. Most pasta is made in house. Our group enjoyed appetizers like fried calamari, Caesar salad, and oysters on the half shell (not that plump considering the season). Fresh bread with olive oil and freshly grated Parmesan is always replenished. The special when we visited was swordfish but they had just run out. Our group did enjoy wild boar paparadelle, linguine with clam sauce, and fresh salmon. The service was very good.

Thank CJ B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob M, Owner at Montano's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

It's fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience from top to bottom, CJ! It sounds like the appetizers, bread, and entrees, were all up to par, and that's what I love to hear. I look forward to serving you folks again soon!

Take care,
Bob Montano, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017

We have been to this restaurant several times over the years staying in Ptown. the food has always been very good, but the service has been up and down. This last time, we had a party of 11 and had made reservations. We arrived and they had set up a table for 11 at a table with room enough for 8. They balked at changing it but finally added another table. then the service went downhill based finally on them telling us that there was a party of 24 that they were working with and we would have to wait for our entrees. Not enough servers and they were very curt trying to serve us. It took 3 1/2 hours with no offer of drinks, dessert or reduction in the bill. Will never go there again

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank fire20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob M, Owner at Montano's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your visit this time around. As you know, our staff was spread incredibly thin that night due to dealing with 2 large parties at once. That situation doesn't accurately reflect our standard service, and I'm sorry for any inconvenience. Considering that you do enjoy our food, I hope you'll reconsider dining with us again. I'd like the opportunity to give you the experience you know and love.

Best wishes,
Bob Montano, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Montano's Restaurant also viewed

North Truro, Cape Cod
Truro, Cape Cod
 
Wellfleet, Cape Cod
 
Wellfleet, Cape Cod
 

Been to Montano's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing