We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place away from town”
Review of Island Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Island Inn
Ranked #7 of 15 Oak Bluffs B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 September 2008

We stayed at the Island Inn over Labor Day weekend (Aug. 30 - Sept. 1). It was a very adequate resort.

If you like tennis, then you will love this place. There are 3 high-quality courts on the property.

This isn't your normal hotel though...it's more like efficiency's (studio's) than hotel rooms. There is a mini-kitchen that includes two burners, a mini-fridge, coffee maker (yet, no coffee), microwave, and a full set of dishes / silverware / glasses. You can buy a 'k-cup' of coffee in the check-in house for $1. Seems like a rip-off to me, especially for the amount of money that you lay out for a room.

The shower comes equipped w/ 'Shampoo +' and 'Shower Gel' to cleanse yourself, and more than enough towels for 2.

There is also an iron & ironing board, but no hairdryer (luckily my girlfriend brought one!).

There is a restaurant located on-site called Lola's. It's a cajun-themed restaurant with VERY good food. Our waiter was sub-par, but maybe we realized that just because we are used to going to fine dining establishments in Boston.

One nice feature is that a local bike company (Anderson's) delivers bikes to the property and picks them up as well.

The grounds are beautifully maintained and the pool is quite nice. It is surrounded by flowers and plants to make it a more secluded area.

The rooms were very clean and the management very pleasant. They stored our bags after we checked out so we were able to enjoy the last hours of our time on the island.

Overall, I enjoyed the stay at this locale. While it wasn't what I expected (a regular hotel), it does offer a nice room away from the town center. I would highly recommend this resort if you want a room that is far enough away from the town center that you won't be bothered by noise, yet is close enough to walk / bike to Oak Bluffs, Edgartown, and all the beaches in between!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B_RBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 132 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2008

I would HIGHLY recommend the Island Inn. It was MORE than what we expected. The service is excellent and friendly. The property is spectacular. Truly the walk too the beach is NOT bad at all! It is worth the walk! Oh, bring chairs to watch the beautiful sunset. We had dinner and brunch at Lola's on the Inn's property and the food and entertainment is FABULOUS! Lola's has THE BEST brunch I have ever had! The owner is from New Orleans, Louisianna and the atmosphere is that true cajun feel! Also, it is pet friendly which made our little westie one happy camper! Oh, and if you love to play tennis, visit the awesome clay courts and the tennis shop! My family and I are hooked and in love with The Island Inn! We stayed in the townhouse and there is plenty of room for 4 plus a pull out. My inlaws stayed in the studio with 2 queen beds and all units have small efficiency kitchen with small stove and coffee maker.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mccrn98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2008

We stayed for 2 nights in the condo suite,Great unit with just about everything you would need for a weeks stay!! Pans,dishes,microwave,toaster,coffee maker,full size fridge and small stove.The unit had a master bedroom with 1/2 bath and alcove area with two twin beds.The living room area had pullout couch,chair small table with two chairs,nice fireplace ,and TV tucked into the corner!!! The unit needed some updating but was very clean! The grounds were very nice with Lola's next store.The only negative thing I can say is the walls are paper thin , and the bed was very uncomfortable, to the point where springs felt like they were coming through the mattress!!! The sheets on the bed were dirty {we didnt notice until the morning we checked out that there were stains all over the bedspread} We wished we had checked the sheets and bedspread before we went to bed for the night!!!! Lastly with a little TLC ,Clean sheets ,clean bedspreads and minor updating, it would be fabulous!!!! It is unfortunate that such an awesome hotel could have an issue with dirty linens!!! The rest of the inn was clean and the staff friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lovetovacation1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2008

First of all, this is NOT a bed and breakfast like most places in Martha's Vineyard. You can buy coffee in the lobby for a dollar.

The hotel has obviously seen better days, but it was clean and we got it for a good price. The TV is really small and stuffed into a corner. We were too busy to use it, but I was wondering how a family could watch it comfortably if they wanted to.

It is about a 20 walk to Oaks Bluff. If you are drinking they recommend taking a taxi instead of driving yourself as the cops are quite overzealous. It is $3 a person to go to Oaks Bluff in a taxi, which is a bit ridiculous when it's a 2 minute ride.

There is a good restaurant on the property and they have fantastic cocktails as well.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank K617L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2008

we stayed in the 2 bedroom, which consisted of a fireplaced small livingroom with pull-out couch and tv, 1 1/2 bathrooms, a queen size bed in one room, and 2 twins in another, the livingroom and twin bedroom were divided by a short wall that didnt go to ceiling. there was a small kitchen with fridge and stove, had sliders with 2 chiars to outside. they also had a small pool on the property, and a restaurant too. they only thing that was really bad was the location, we had to take cabs everywhere! i would stay there again though. the cab issue was the only downside!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rockland22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Bluffs
6.8 km away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
1,002 reviews
4.1 km away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
826 reviews
1.9 km away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
628 reviews
6 km away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
1.6 km away
Oak Bluffs Inn
Oak Bluffs Inn
#1 of 15 in Oak Bluffs
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Inn

Address: 30 Island Inn Road, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Oak Bluffs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Bluffs
Price Range: $165 - $475 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Also Known As:
Island Hotel Oak Bluffs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing