We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disapointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Peabody
Reviewed 14 August 2017

We stayed here before leaving for a flight out of Boston Logan Airport. It was about a 20 minute ride so the $99 we paid was a lot less expensive than staying inside the city.

Hotel room needs updating. We discovered at 9 PM that our toilet didn't flush and with a 10 month old baby sleeping in our room the last thing we wanted was maintenance coming in to fix it so late at night.

The man we dealt with at check in and check out was very friendly and courteous. There was a woman working behind the front desk who really rubbed us the wrong way. I was checking in with my 10 month old son sitting on my hip. She told me that I was going to make my son bowlegged by holding him this way and he would not be able to walk (note -- I called my doctor, this is a myth) and that whenever she sees her friends hold their kids like that, she grabs them and holds them "the correct way". I think she expected me to change the way I was holding my son because she awkwardly laughed after and made hand gestures to turn him around which i didn't do.

I'm sure she was trying to be friendly and helpful, but I really wasn't looking for parenting advise at check in and it really rubbed my husband and I the wrong way.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maegan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Dear Maegan B,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We would like to apologize for not living up to your expectations regarding our staff and bathroom condition. Reviews like yours are very valuable as they enable us to target areas we need to improve on. Rest assured your feedback will be forwarded to all concerned departments to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

We value you as our guest and hope to accommodate you again for a chance to provide you with a much better experience.

Sincerely,

Joel A
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (403)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 403 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2017

Mr. D'Arcy,
You have as your employee, as I'm sure you know, a wonderful desk manager in
Mr. Nutile. For 4 days in July 2017, he was a master at directions, suggestions on what to see and just how to get there. We were at a loss in heading to Boston, after moving away from Gloucester in the 70's to Georgia. Leonado was very accomadating and friendly.
Ms. Betty J. Stark

Room Tip: See Mr. & Mrs. Nutile
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank paulfeener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

I am a member of the rewards with Holiday Inn, I have stayed at many Holiday Inns and this by far was the worst! First, I got my room key the check in attendant told me to park my car in the back and use my key card to get in the back door, haha the whole slot was missing for the key cards, just lovely, what a sense of security! 2nd, I got up to the 3rd floor and they gave me the room next to the fire escape door, the sign said this door must be shut at all times, in case of fire, good job, door wide open chair in the door stuck , 3rd got in my room, looked down at the floor, it was absolutely disgusting marked with stains all over the carpet, it was so bad that I had to call down to the front desk and demanded a new room, the next room was adequate, most uncomfortable bed ever, at 3:00 am I woke with a headache, I went to head to the front desk and there was a security guard sitting in the hallway almost asleep, what a terrible sense of security, when I got to the front desk to ask if they sell little packets of Tylenol all the front desk would say was "thousand feet up the road" when I asked right or left once again "thousand feet up the road" he was very rude and was not helpful at all! I would not come and stay here ever again!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jackie411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2017

Hi Jackie411,

Thank you for leaving a candid review about our hotel on TripAdvisor and for being an IHG Rewards Club member. We value each feedback as this will allow us to identify the areas that may benefit from our additional attention. It is disheartening to know that your experience was not as pleasant as it should have been. I am sorry for the disappointments you had with the room received, customer service delivered, and cleanliness level.

Our guest's safety, security, and comfort remain a priority and I apologize for letting you feel otherwise. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer in the future.

Again, thank you for your comments and for choosing us for your lodging needs.

Sincerely,

Ingrid V.
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

We decided on the spur of the moment to visit Salem on our drive from Maine to Hartford, CT. This property was one of the few with availability. There was a clean indoor pool for the kids and bath towels and sheets were in good shape. The front desk staff were frazzled, as I think they were booked to capacity. I was stressed by their stress. The property is well worn. It desperately needs a facelift.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank dgage30445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Hi dgage30445,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We aspire to deliver world class services and experience, however, it appears we fell short of your goal on your visit. I would like to apologize for failing to meet your standards regarding our hotel condition and services received during check in. Kindly know that your feedback will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the maintenance department and reception team for evaluation.

On the positive side, I appreciate the wonderful remarks regarding our hotel pool and amenities which you found to be good.

While I understand that your stay was not perfect, we all hope to have another opportunity to provide you a much better experience. gain, thank you for sharing your experience and for staying with us.

Sincerely,

Zel N.
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017

Some travellers might say this hotel feels somewhat outdated and old, however we were extremely pleased with our stay here. It was clean, our room was very spacious and comfortable and the location was perfect for shopping and restaurants. The front desk staff were friendly and knowledgeable and went out of their way to answer our questions and provide helpful information about going into Boston and touring around there for the day. Don't hesitate to stay there!! You won't be disappointed!!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Alexandra252014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peabody
0.7 km away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
0.9 km away
Hampton Inn Boston/Peabody
3.3 km away
Boston Marriott Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Boston-Peabody
8.8 km away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
2,029 reviews
6.0 km away
Red Roof PLUS+ Boston - Logan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody

Address: 1 Newbury St, Us 1 N & Us 128 N, Peabody, MA 01960-3846
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Peabody
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Peabody
Price Range: $106 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Boston - Peabody is conveniently located between Downtown Boston and Logan International Airport and the historical coastal towns North of Boston. Whether you are enticed by the quaint seaport villages of nearby Salem, Gloucester, and Marblehead or the excitement of Boston's Faneuil Hall Marketplace, Freedom Trail, and Fenway Park, the Holiday Inn Peabody is the ideal location to experience all that New England has to offer. Our hotel is now completely smoke-free and renovations are scheduled for completion later this spring. This Boston North Shore hotel will feature 183 newly refurbished guestrooms, including 20 two-room suites. All rooms and suites are equipped with 27' televisions and high speed Internet access. Suites include kitchenettes with mini-refrigerator and microwave and living area with sleep sofa. Unwind in our indoor pool, outdoor courtyard or work out in our fully-equipped fitness center. When hunger strikes, Carrabba's Italian Grill where you can enjoy a casual dinner in a warm, festive environment, the menu offers a variety of freshly made dishes cooked to order in a lively exhibition kitchen. For meetings and social events, our flexible meeting space can accommodate groups from 5-450 people. Ample free parking is available for cars as well as buses. Enjoy ease of access from I-93, I-95, Logan airport (BOS), and Boston's many area colleges for graduation weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Boston-Peabody
Holiday Inn Peabody
Peabody Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing