We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Salem, Mass”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Boston/Peabody
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Peabody
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2017

We stayed at this hotel when we traveled to see Salem, Gloucester, and Marble Head.
It's average as hotels go. The room was clean, which is always a priority with me, so that was a PLUS. Maybe it's a new thing with hotels, but again there was only a sheet on the bed, and the bedspread (which we always pull down). The blanket is in the closet, and you have to put it on the bed yourself if you need it. I am allergic to down, so when we checked in, I did ask that they replace the down pillows with something else. They were very quick about the substitutions, and even called a little while later to check to see if everything was ok with the room. That was a Nice Touch! Our room did have a refrigerator and microwave, but the room looked dated and smelled musty. The free breakfast was ok, but be sure you get there early, because if you arrive close to the 10:00 am close, you won't have much to choose from. Since so much of their food contained dairy ( even the scrambled eggs), the food that was included in the free breakfast was nothing that I could eat. If you are a vegan, lactose intolerant, or allergic to milk, you would be limited to a bagel or English muffin. They did have dry cereal choices, but only dairy milk to put on it.
The bathroom was comfortably large, but it did not have a fan or vent so steam really builds up in the room.
We needed a bottle opener for beverages that we purchased in Salem, and when we walked down to the front desk to ask for one, we were told they only had one and someone else was using it at the time. How does a hotel only have one bottle opener??? The hotel is located on a street that requires you to drive out of your way to circle around to get to that side of the street. However, the area is well lit, and the hotel is very close to highway access.
So, the hotel was ok, but I would most likely look for a different location next time, and perhaps find one with fresher rooms and better food.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank gardenergirl2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido R, General Manager at Hampton Inn Boston/Peabody, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Our Hampton Inn Boston\Peabody is in a great location for the sites you visited, isn't it??? (Those engineers must not have envisioned the amount of traffic this spot would generate.) Glad that the rooms were clean; with so many beverages coming now in screw tops and even boxes, we thought we had enough bottle openers for our guests - I will order some and hope you will visit us again to enjoy a drink after a busy day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (780)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 59 of 780 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

This hotel is stuck with three other comparable depressing chain hotels on a patch of ground between interstate 95 and route 1, with nothing around them of note, no bar, no restaurant, no view, plenty of road noise and not much to get excited about. Room is clean and ordinary, like any other Hampton, but naturally as it's within a million miles of Boston it's hideously overpriced. Can't complain when you have little choice but three nights there was definitely two nights too many!!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Claire T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido R, General Manager at Hampton Inn Boston/Peabody, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

I am surprised that you didn't walk to either of the two restaurants near us that have bars in them; their menus and delicious food would have kept you in good stead for the evenings that you were in the area. If you DO come back to stay with us, please let me know and you will be my guest for dinner one evening.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

If you can go somewhere else please do. This hotel sucks. Dirty, double rooms are very small. No fridge or microwave unless you pay extra. Outdated coffeemaker. Dirty bathroom. Our room was not ready when we got there. We opened the door and it was disgusting. Had to wait to be given another room

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
3  Thank Roudy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido R, General Manager at Hampton Inn Boston/Peabody, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Checkin time here at the Hampton Inn Boston/Peabody is 3pm - we welcome our guest into their room if one is available. I wish that you had brought your cleanliness concerns to the Front Desk and we would have rectified them for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

Nice clean safe hotel, north of Boston for about half the price or less of downtown. Free parking and complimentary breakfast. We drove 15 minutes to T and went downtown that way. No more than 15 minutes to Logan Airport.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank royalm2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido R, General Manager at Hampton Inn Boston/Peabody, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Thanks for staying with us here at the Hampton Inn Boston/Peabody - we ARE close to many attractions in the area, aren't we??? Next time you are here with us, you may want to travel north to New Hampshire and Maine, too, to see beautiful vistas in those areas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

The lobby is nice, the staff is ok, the food was typical Hampton Inn food, but the room was small, the pool was closed as well as the one in the Homewood Suites next door which is a big bummer for a family with kids! But the biggest reason for my terrible review is we found bed bugs! Hotel only refunded one night, moved us but should have refunded both nights because none of us slept the next night because we were too freaked out from finding them in the first place. Not to mention the hassle of putting our clothes and bags in quarantine after we got home. I'll think twice before booking at a Hampton Inn again and definitely not this one!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
3  Thank Mbfam2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido R, General Manager at Hampton Inn Boston/Peabody, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

I am sorry that this happened to you - Ecolab has been here and has properly treated that room and adjacent ones. Please continue to stay in Hampton Inns by Hilton- even ours - please give the chain a chance to regain your trust.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peabody
0.2 km away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
0.9 km away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
0.1 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Boston-Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Boston Marriott Peabody
4.0 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Wakefield Boston Hotel & Conference Center
5.1 km away
Best Western Plus North Shore Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Boston/Peabody? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Boston/Peabody

Address: 59 Newbury St, Peabody, MA 01960-3820
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Peabody
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Peabody
Price Range: $126 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Boston/Peabody 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn/Boston Peabody is located on Route 1 at the junction of Routes 95 and 93 about 25 minutes north of Downtown Boston. Our hotel offers all the great amenities that Hampton Inn Hotels are known for including complimentary wireless in all guest rooms and public space, complimentary hot breakfast and our new Jump Start Fitness exercise room. Our indoor heated pool is available from 9:00am to 9:00pm daily and we offer, upon request, rooms with either a king size bed or two doubles. Most rooms with king size beds offer a pull out couch for your convenience. We hope to welcome you soon to our hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Boston/Peabody reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Boston - Peabody Hotel Peabody
Hampton Inn Peabody
Peabody Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing