We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Blue - Inn on the Beach
Nearby Hotels
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beachway Motel(Salisbury)
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn Amesbury(Amesbury)
US$118
Fairfield Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$149
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$149
US$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$145
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marguerite Motel(Hampton)
US$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (157)
Filter reviews
157 results
Traveller rating
97
43
12
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
97
43
12
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspicnic basketbreakfast basketocean fronthot tublounge chairsgas fireplaceapple tvbreakfast deliveredprivate patiocoat of paintyogurtdrive into townevery morningcasual elegancesquare footbeach towelsan ocean view king room
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 157 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2018

We had the Lark Suite on the 4th floor. A bit of a climb but worth it, the view was magnificent from the moment you woke up until you went to bed. The suite was beautiful and the bed was like a cloud, so comfortable. The breakfast basket was filled with goodies like croissants, jam, yogurt, juice, fruit, muffins, hard boiled eggs. It varied each day. It was very cold and we decided to stay put except to drive a short distance to Newburyport for dinner each night. Staff were friendly, attentive, but not intrusive. Beach took a hit from three Nor'easters but since it was cold, it didn't matter. This could be a concern in the summer but hopefully they will be able to rebuild it a bit. Highly recommend, not cheap but a blissful long weekend of relaxation and blue ocean. Hotel is only open from Friday through Monday during off season and since it is on a relatively packed barrier island, it could be busy and noisier during the summer season.

Room Tip: High floor suite in the main building or cottage with private beach, which is available in the regular season.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MaryAnn61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda W, Public Relations Manager at Blue - Inn on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

LOVE that you had such a fantastic late winter retreat with us on Plum Island! It certainly sounds like you took full advantage of your surroundings and the beautiful Lark suite and enjoyed everything from the comfortable bed and tasty breakfast basket, to all of the dining options in Newburyport. So glad you found the staff to be the perfect level of attentive and we hope to welcome you back soon for anotehr blissful and relaxing weekend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018

Stunning even in the winter! Bedding was incredible.
I could have laid in that luxurious bed looking at that view all afternoon. The staff were very nice and the breakfast basket at the door made me think of Chopped! Loved it!
Bathroom was a little tight, but other than that, a perfect getaway!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2018

Gorgeous rooms. My husband and I came here for a weekend getaway and were greeted with champagne and cookies for our anniversary. Our room had incredible views of the water. They had free bike rentals so we biked to a cute little cafe for dinner. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank meg_job
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbey H, Public Relations Manager at Blue - Inn on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2018

It's wonderful to hear that you and your husband enjoyed your anniversary getaway with us on Plum Island! So glad you enjoyed the champagne and cookies, as well as your rooms incredible view and we're so glad that you took advantage of the bikes and enjoyed dinner a local café. We look forward to seeing you both again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018

Staying here was on our bucket list. A trip to Plum Island has always been a day trip for us. We were always constrained to allowing enough time to drive home, an hour and a half away. By staying here, my companion got to relive her stays at rented houses on Plum Island from 25-30 years ago. Going in the offseason featured the added bonus of having the beach to ourselves, with no crowds.

The king bed suite we had was bright, clean, and had all the basics. Quarters were a bit tight. The bathroom had a comfort-height toilet, which is great if you have bad knees. The tub is rather high and difficult to get in and out of if you are handicapped, and the bathroom itself is so small that you have to go outside to change your mind.

The furniture consists of a king sized bed, a sofa, one hard chair, a chest of drawers, and a small coffee table. There is no comfortable recliner or way to put your feet up when you sit down. There is nothing like an end table or small desk to put any of your things on or set up a computer. You have to put all your stuff on the small coffee table. We noticed over near the closet four electrical outlets, which would have been a great place for a small desk. As a result, whenever we would come in from a day out and about, there was no place to sit back and relax. You had to crash on the bed or sit on the sofa and bear the pain in your legs and feet. Great if you are young and nimble, but not so if you are older.

There is no elevator.

The outside lights to this suite would come on late at night. If you had to go out or if you came in late, you had to use your flashlight. The room is equipped with one on a charger on one of the electrical outlets.

The staff here bent over backwards to do whatever they could to make our stay more comfortable. The in-room safe for valuables was broken, and they offered to either change us to a different room, or go buy another safe on the next business day. We were settled into the room, and we were checking out on Monday, so we just carried our valuables with us.

Breakfast baskets arrived promptly at 8 in the morning with a delectable light meal, usually consisting of some bread or croissant, fruit, cheese, some deli meat, fresh-squeezed orange juice, a small pot of coffee, and some cereal.

The beach setting and view was spectacular. The crash of the waves, the crying seagulls, and the howling wind brought back some great memories for my companion. From the balcony we could see Mt. Agamenticus 30 miles to the north in York, ME, and the Isles of Shoals 20 miles to the northeast. There are no stairs leading down the dune to the beach; you have to scamper down the dune at a corner (not recommended) or go out the beach path at the end of Fordham Way. The Parker River Wildlife Refuge boundary is about 200 yards south of the inn. Be aware that the beach in the refuge is closed from April 1 to August 15 due to the nesting plovers and terns. You can walk the beach to the north. The sand is very soft and the footing challenging.

There are a couple of convenience stores nearby if you want a deli sub or snack and don't want to drive all the way into Newburyport.

If friends should come to visit you, they should be prepared to pay a parking fee. If you stay here, you get one parking space for your own vehicle. Parking space is at a premium on the island. Parking on Fordham Way is not allowed. The public parking lots are restricted to Newbury residents with stickers.

We would return if we could find a room here with more comfortable furniture. We could handle this 30 years ago, but now we wonder how we could ever do this again. But it was a nice experience.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank StarWeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 19 February 2018 via mobile

Incredible location on the beach. Well appointed spotless room with fireplace & very comfortable bed. Spacious, calming, quiet, beautiful. Great service. Enjoyed a wonderful basic breakfast in bed. Couldn’t ask for anything more!
We’ll be back

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbey H, Public Relations Manager at Blue - Inn on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

It certainly sounds like you were able to enjoy all aspects of your stay with us on Plum Island! So glad you enjoyed the great service from our wonderful staff, found your room to be so well appointed, comfortable, spacious and beautiful, and enjoyed breakfast in bed. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews