We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Left early due to noise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Above the Bay at Thornton Adams Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 18 Plymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2016

We spent 8 days at this B&B for our honeymoon and although the owner is lovely and the inn is well appointed it was impossible to get an uninterrupted sleep. We were in the blue room and could hear every noise in the house . Consequencently we were wakened during the night and early in the am as people moved in and about the house. Christine was very sweet and even left coffee and fruit and bread out one morning when we wanted to sleep in. The problem was actually sleeping in. The woman that does the cleaning was extremely loud between banging doors and vacuuming. We stay at B& B establishments frequently and have never experienced this before. The other issue was also related to the room cleaning. If we were not up and out of the room early it did not get cleaned . On the days our room was cleaned the bed was straightened but trash not emptied and towels were not replaced . We were dealing with the noise until our final morning when the cleaning lady woke us vacuuming and slamming doors. We decided to check out a day early and went to speak with the owner. We were informed by the cleaning lady that Christine was busy and she would pass on the message. We Left without having an opportunity to explain the situation to the owners.

Room Tip: Perhaps the top floor would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank bungalow2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine G, Owner at Above the Bay at Thornton Adams Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2017

I am sorry that you felt the need to cut your stay short, we pride ourselves on being a quiet relaxing B&B for people to enjoy and unwind. We do provide white noise machines in each room for those that are light sleepers. Our cleaning staff does not arrive until 10am and generally stays until 1pm so that could explain why your room was not tidied up on one of the days. We will continue to work hard to make for a comfortable stay for all of our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2016

Convenient location with a view of the bay. Decent size room and bath. Newer construction than typical bnbs. Breakfast was served by owner and was excellent! Common area was comfortable. A great place to stay while in Plymouth.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2016

Cannot rave enough about this B&B and Christine! We rented the entire B&B for our wedding party and it could not have been more perfect! The rooms were lovely, the beds were extremely comfortable and the breakfast was delicious. Christine was extremely accommodating to our needs as a bridal party-not an easy task! As a bride, it was wonderful to have one less thing to worry about and Christine truly put my mind at ease. The ladies and I got ready in the Jacuzzi suite which was so spacious and gave us plenty of room to set up a few tables for hair, makeup and snacks. The guys hung out around the fireplace downstairs and we used the gorgeous front staircase for our "first look". I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone, but especially to wedding parties in the great Plymouth area.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2016

Could not ask for a better place to stay. The location was very convenient to the Plymouth Plantation & Mayflower exhibit. The rooms are beautiful and comfortable. This is a newer home built to be a B&B. Christine is a wonderful hostess and a great cook! Breakfasts were amazing! My one suggestion would be more lighting out back in the parking area.

Room Tip: the green room has a queen bed, tub/shower combo, view of the coast blue room has a king bed, large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 239dianeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

stayed 2 nights for a friend's birthday weekend. Christine is a fantastic host. Very nice, top of the line B&B.Beds were very comfotable. Everything was first class . Breakfast was Outstanding, close to everything Plymouth has to offer. We can't wait to return.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
2.6 km away
John Carver Inn & Spa
John Carver Inn & Spa
#6 of 9 in Plymouth
779 reviews
3.4 km away
Hotel 1620 Plymouth Harbor
6.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Plymouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Plymouth
7.8 km away
Mirbeau Inn & Spa at The Pinehills
4.4 km away
Comfort Inn Plymouth
Comfort Inn Plymouth
#8 of 9 in Plymouth
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Above the Bay at Thornton Adams Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Above the Bay at Thornton Adams Bed and Breakfast

Address: 73C Warren Ave., Plymouth, MA 02360
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Plymouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Price Range: $177 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Above the Bay at Thornton Adams Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Classic Colonial style B&B with ocean views and beautiful gardens in an upscale area only two minutes to Plimoth Plantation, Mayflower II, Plymouth Rock, Pilgrim Hall Museum, and Whale Watching. Also, minutes from miles of public beaches, golf course and wonderful restaurants, pubs and shopping. We are only 15 minutes to Cape Cod and a 55 minute train ride to Boston. We have an elegant King Jacuzzi Suite, a beautiful Queen room and a wonderful family suite. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing