We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food at a reasonable price”

El Potro Mexican Grill
Ranked #63 of 315 Restaurants in Somerville
Cuisines: Mexican, Central American
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Reviewed 11 December 2016

We were looking for a place for a late afternoon light meal and were drawn in by the colourful decor and the fact that there were patrons at 3:00 in the afternoon. We had fish tacos (they seemed surprised when we passed on the rice and beans) and Taco soup. They also brought chips and salsa with our beer (a reasonable $4.40 for imported). The Latin music was a tad loud but it made for a fun ambience along with the TVs on the wall. There was a steady stream of customers late in the afternoon that made the place look like a popular local spot.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElPotroMexicanGrill, Manager at El Potro Mexican Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2016

Brian...

Thank you for your kind words & feedback. We always appreciate hearing from our customers, especially those who try us for the first time. We review all feedback with our staff so that way we can always work toward improving the customer experience.

One of the keys for us in serving our customers is to let them know we want them to customize their plates the way they like it. So whether its holding something like rice & beans, or changing out a protein or making a dish vegetarian, or , adding a little "heat"we want our customers to have it they way they like it.

We hope you felt at home asking for your choices, the way you wanted them. As above all else making the customer feel at ease is very important. Thank you again for the feedback & we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

Had dinner at El Potro this evening. I've been to many Mexican restaurants, and for me, except for the colorful decor, this place is average. Though the prices for the entrees are reasonable, the quality of the food isn't the greatest. (A large piece of 'meat' in the carnitas turned out to be a big piece of fat. The rest of the meat was quite fatty too.)

Though the waitress was efficient, she wasn't very friendly.

With so many other local restaurants that are better, I won't hurry back.

Thank BostonBorn57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElPotroMexicanGrill, Manager at El Potro Mexican Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2016

Thank you for your honest and sincere feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to write & let us know your thoughts. Obviously, our hope is to provide quality and consistency in what we do, and above all else provide you with friendly and warm customer service, so we definitely want to improve upon these type of results. We take our customer comments very seriously & review them with our staff so that we can improve our efforts for you & other customers.

I m sorry we missed the mark. We aim to provide fresh ingredients and bold flavors, and big portions with every visit, so this was a miss by our standards. Thank you for taking the time to write & I hope you may give us a chance again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2016

My wife and I lived on Prospect Hill for four years, and in that time we dined at El Potro on many occasions. Friends of ours who did not live in the area who had accompanied us also began making dedicated trips to Union Square just to enjoy it.

Their food is consistently good. Whether you get a burrito, quesadilla, or full plate, you will not be disappointed. The atmosphere is excellent (I'm a fan of the Vincente Fernandez posters everywhere) and the service is friendly. However, the service is also routinely on the slow side, which is the only reason I'm giving them four out of five and not five. If you're not in a rush, do yourself a favor and hit up El Potro.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElPotroMexicanGrill, Manager at El Potro Mexican Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2016

Christopher...

Thanks you for the kind words and feedback; we appreciate the praise & kindness of each one.

I know a wise man once said slow & steady wins the race, but slow is not always best. Certainly because everything is made fresh when you order, it takes time, at the same time, there is no excuse for delay, unless something is warranted. We are small, and sometimes in small kitchens there can be a back-up, but still the same, we appreciate the comment & we want to improve, so as to better the experience for customers like yourself.

Thanks again for taking the time to write. We will review your feedback with staff, and hope the next time you visit, we can meet & exceed your expectations. Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

Great service, family environment, comfortable and amazing food for great price! The Potro Sample is a good choice, a great size with tasty food for affordable price. Perfect to share with friends.

Thank magmartins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElPotroMexicanGrill, Manager at El Potro Mexican Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2016

Thank you for your kind words & for taking the time to write & for the feedback. Hard to argue with words like "tasty" and 'affordable".

In all seriousness, it is important to us to provide good food, at a good value & a one way we do that is by making sure that our portion sizes on all items, appetizers, through entrees are large enough to represent the quality & care we put into making sure fresh ingredients are included in every bite.

Thanks again for writing & we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2016

We stopped in during a very busy weekend when UMass was hosting a weekend conference. Good service despite the fact the place was packed. I had the fish tacos and they were very good.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElPotroSomerville, Manager at El Potro Mexican Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2016

Jon...

Thanks for your kind words; we appreciate the feedback & knowing that we made a positive impression with you. We are glad to hear that our attention to detail, has hit the mark with you. We feel customer service is very important & understand its about hard work & effort, no matter how quiet or busy we are, our customer's needs have to be a priority, because in our eyes no matter how good the food on the plate is, if the customer service leaves something to be desired, then we did not do our job.

Thanks again for taking the time to write & we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Potro Mexican Grill also viewed

 

Been to El Potro Mexican Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing