We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$101/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Scottish Inn Sturbridge(Sturbridge)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$169
US$129
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$104
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$124
US$107
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (477)
Filter reviews
477 results
Traveller rating
181
112
93
51
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
181
112
93
51
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbake shopsticky bunspublic houseturkey dinnerthe main dining roombread basketnew englandbaked goodsclam chowdercoffee and pastriesprime ribpot roastwedding weekendold sturbridge villageflat screenbed was very comfortabletavern
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 477 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2017

we stayed in the motor lodge, and if you've been here before & know the routine-the parking & walking situation-it's a great place to get a nice country walk in. and a great bargain with the refreshing & relaxing scenery. very clean & very accommodating. had a fantastic meal with a great selection for even a later check-in at the Ebenezer Tavern

Room Tip: If u r handicapped or have difficulty walking, u may not want to stay in the lodge. ask your questions BEFORE u make your reservations
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank WBDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Publick House Historic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

We are thrilled that you found the Publick House Sturbridge to be worthy of a five-star review; thank you! It's good to know that our refreshing scenery, clean accommodations, and fantastic food made for a memorable visit; we will be sure to share your uplifting review with our team. If you decide to travel back to Sturbridge, we would be honored to welcome you back. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

portions were large.If you had a coupon one meal was free.We were three one had fish, one had chicken and the third had pot roast. All meals required a doggy bag.Great bakery shop with very tempting pastries to take home.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank artaline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Publick House Historic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Thanks so much for reviewing your visit to Publick House Sturbridge. Our team works hard to keep our property looking good, and we are glad you noticed. We are happy to hear that your group enjoyed their meals with us. Our portions are hearty, and we hope your leftovers were just as good the second time around!
You'll have to indulge in some of our tempting baked goods on your next visit! Thanks again for your feedback, we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

We have been to the Publick House (primarily Ebenezers Tavern) many times over the years. This historic pub is very warm and inviting. There is a mix of locals and travelers but always a friendly crowd at the bar. The service is good, especially when Kristen is working the bar. Unfortunately, the food gets mixed reviews. The menu stays pretty consistent and while some dishes are reliably good (like the turkey dinner) others are just so-so. Nevertheless, this is a must visit if you are in the area, even if it's only to shop in their bakery. Even though the food is inconsistent, we'll continue to visit this unique establishment.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Duffy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Publick House Historic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear Duffy,
Thank you for being one of our dining regulars. We're pleased you enjoy the ambiance and excellent service at our Tavern. Kristen will be excited you mentioned her by name. We're sorry you find that the food quality can be inconsistent. However, we appreciate you recommending us to others and look forward to serving you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

We stayed in the Motor Lodge bit which was away from the actual Historic Inn. We had to move our car to the main part where the restaurants were it wasn't an easy walk!! Felt the Motor Lodge was outdated and the air conditioning very loud so had to turn off and leave the sliding doors open which let in the very noisy road! Didn't have a very good night's sleep and the rooms needed a reburbishment. Sadly I was disappointed with this Motor Lodge.

Room Tip: make sure you book in the main part of the hotel and dont take children!
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank janis17656harris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Publick House Historic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Thank you for notifying us of your experience. We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your stay. As you noted, we have a variety of accommodations in three different facilities, and we apologize that the Country Lodge did not meet your needs. We will share your concerns regarding the AC with our maintenance team. We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to make it up to you in the future with another stay here in our historic accommodations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

We were stopping in to stay here as a half-way point from Boston to Connecticut.

We got a King size bed room and checked in at about the precise time that check-in is allowed...3pm.

The staff at the desk were friendly and were attentive while at the same time taking care of incoming calls. They were very nice and pleasant and always remained professional even with incoming calls that seemed to be non-stop.

The room provided was clean and exactly as described. A king size bed with a couch in the room beside the bed. We checked in and the staff directed us to where we would be staying. The room was clean and all amenities were as stated.

We only stayed the night and got in late after attending the Red Sox game in Boston that went extra innings. The bed was very comfortable and the TV got the channels that we needed. We slept in and didn't actually get the breakfast offered--although I had been to this hotel previously and the breakfast was very good.

Since I had been to this hotel before...I knew what to expect before getting here. It is a very pleasant hotel and the staff is always helpful. The pool was open although we did not get there during the hours that is was actually open. We did go down to the pool area and it was clean and inviting and we were sad that we could not take advantage of the facilities.

I will definitely stay here again if I have the opportunity and will let others know of this place which offers a good stay as well as a good deal when looking for a convenient place to stay around the Boston area.

Room Tip: Good place midway between Boston and Hartford--all rooms seem to be good and are quiet
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melscats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Publick House Historic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

We wish you could have stayed longer too! It was our pleasure to have hosted you as a halfway point during your travels. We are thrilled to continually meet your expectations with our attentive front desk team, comfortable beds, and convenient location near the Boston area. Thank you for taking a moment to leave us your encouraging comments and for recommending Publick House Sturbridge to other travelers. Our team looks forward to being your hotel of choice again when traveling back through the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews