We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Inn but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Publick House Historic Inn
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Sturbridge
Reviewed 4 October 2017

I am reviewing mostly based on lodging. They have a great bakery and I have had a decent breakfast there and good meals there. That said, I want to say that the Chamberlain is wonderful and up to date as far as being comfortable for a good night's stay. I recently attempted a 3 night stay at the main inn. It was in the low 40's overnight and the heater did not work. It only blew cold air despite being set on "heat" and the dial turned to the highest number of 80. There seems to be minimal to no insulation in the walls and 2 old and drafty windows. There was a window AC unit. I was able to hear distinct conversations and laughter down on the patio below my window. The bathroom faucet worked, but the hot handle was rusted at the base and shaky. I did not use the shower/tub, but was not looking forward to it after seeing their version of a shower head. The toilet flushed fine and the offered toiletries were above basic. I ended up not enjoying my night due to being so cold by 4am. I packed and checked out by 5:30am, after being told that there were not any rooms available in the Chamberlain. I did complain and tell whoever would listen that the room was not acceptable for a cold night. My charge card still says that the 3 night stay is still pending, but has not gone through yet. I have heard twice that the manager will be notified, but have not heard back as far as being billed for a room that I hardly used. I used the toilet twice, 1 face cloth, the tv for 1 hour, some light, and tried to sleep in the bed from 11-4am. There was no way I was staying in that room for 2 more cold nights. Sad that there is so much construction going on and the rooms in the main inn could use some attention. I would replaced bathroom fixtures and add proper heating/AC.

Room Tip: Stay in the Chamberlain!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank grinnellma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Publick House Historic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

We appreciate your detailed review and thank you for being a returning guest. The main building is our most historic and we're sorry to hear your stay there did not live up to your expectations based on prior visits to our Chamberlain building. Buildings in this time period certainly did not insulate the way we do today and we're sorry this left you feeling too chilled to enjoy your visit or rest comfortably. We encourage our guests to contact our front desk whenever an issue arises so they can help find a solution. Please also accept our apologies for any disturbances from our other guests. With regard to your billing, we are looking into it but please feel free to contact us directly so we can further discuss your situation. We hope you'll consider staying with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (461)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 461 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2017

we stayed in the motor lodge, and if you've been here before & know the routine-the parking & walking situation-it's a great place to get a nice country walk in. and a great bargain with the refreshing & relaxing scenery. very clean & very accommodating. had a fantastic meal with a great selection for even a later check-in at the Ebenezer Tavern

Room Tip: If u r handicapped or have difficulty walking, u may not want to stay in the lodge. ask your questi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank WBDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Publick House Historic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

We are thrilled that you found the Publick House Sturbridge to be worthy of a five-star review; thank you! It's good to know that our refreshing scenery, clean accommodations, and fantastic food made for a memorable visit; we will be sure to share your uplifting review with our team. If you decide to travel back to Sturbridge, we would be honored to welcome you back. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

portions were large.If you had a coupon one meal was free.We were three one had fish, one had chicken and the third had pot roast. All meals required a doggy bag.Great bakery shop with very tempting pastries to take home.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank artaline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Publick House Historic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Thanks so much for reviewing your visit to Publick House Sturbridge. Our team works hard to keep our property looking good, and we are glad you noticed. We are happy to hear that your group enjoyed their meals with us. Our portions are hearty, and we hope your leftovers were just as good the second time around!
You'll have to indulge in some of our tempting baked goods on your next visit! Thanks again for your feedback, we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

We have been to the Publick House (primarily Ebenezers Tavern) many times over the years. This historic pub is very warm and inviting. There is a mix of locals and travelers but always a friendly crowd at the bar. The service is good, especially when Kristen is working the bar. Unfortunately, the food gets mixed reviews. The menu stays pretty consistent and while some dishes are reliably good (like the turkey dinner) others are just so-so. Nevertheless, this is a must visit if you are in the area, even if it's only to shop in their bakery. Even though the food is inconsistent, we'll continue to visit this unique establishment.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Duffy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Publick House Historic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear Duffy,
Thank you for being one of our dining regulars. We're pleased you enjoy the ambiance and excellent service at our Tavern. Kristen will be excited you mentioned her by name. We're sorry you find that the food quality can be inconsistent. However, we appreciate you recommending us to others and look forward to serving you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

We stayed in the Motor Lodge bit which was away from the actual Historic Inn. We had to move our car to the main part where the restaurants were it wasn't an easy walk!! Felt the Motor Lodge was outdated and the air conditioning very loud so had to turn off and leave the sliding doors open which let in the very noisy road! Didn't have a very good night's sleep and the rooms needed a reburbishment. Sadly I was disappointed with this Motor Lodge.

Room Tip: make sure you book in the main part of the hotel and dont take children!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank janis17656harris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Publick House Historic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Thank you for notifying us of your experience. We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your stay. As you noted, we have a variety of accommodations in three different facilities, and we apologize that the Country Lodge did not meet your needs. We will share your concerns regarding the AC with our maintenance team. We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to make it up to you in the future with another stay here in our historic accommodations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sturbridge hotels
1 km away
Old Sturbridge Inn & Reeder Family Lodges
1.3 km away
Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center
0.6 km away
Hampton Inn Sturbridge
Hampton Inn Sturbridge
#4 of 14 in Sturbridge
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Sturbridge
1.4 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 14 in Sturbridge
471 reviews
1.7 km away
Scottish Inn Sturbridge
Scottish Inn Sturbridge
#7 of 14 in Sturbridge
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Publick House Historic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Publick House Historic Inn

Address: On the Common, 277 Main Street - Route 131, Post Office Box 187, Sturbridge, MA 01566-0187
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Sturbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Sturbridge
Price Range: $104 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Publick House Historic Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Publick House Historic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Publick House Historic Hotel Sturbridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing