We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$164
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 by Wyndham Sturbridge(Sturbridge)(Great Value!)
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Scottish Inn Sturbridge(Sturbridge)(Great Value!)
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (484)
Filter reviews
483 results
Traveller rating
186
114
93
50
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
186
114
93
50
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbake shopsticky bunspublic houseturkey dinnernew englandthe main dining roombread basketclam chowderbaked goodscoffee and pastriesprime ribpot roastwedding weekendold sturbridge villagean overnight stayflat screenbed was very comfortable
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 483 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

They will put you in the ‘Motor Lodge’ which is a run down set of buildings behind the house.

Poor quality furnishings, unclean, plagued by bugs. The shower had no power but still managed to piss water everywhere.

The coffee and muffins were stale and had been ravaged by some kind of event that was happening.

I wouldn’t recommend staying here, not even for a cheap nights sleep.

Stayed: October 2017
1  Thank LiamT1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Publick House Historic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Dear Liam,
Thank you for your valuable feedback of our property. We are saddened to hear that we were not able to provide you with the stay that you expected. Please accept our sincere apologies that you found your accommodations were less than perfect. We will share your feedback with our housekeeping team. We encourage all constructive comments as this allows us to continually improve on guest appreciation.
Our property offers a variety of room types and we are sorry to hear we did not find you the right fit during your stay.
It is our hope that you will consider staying with us again. It would be a privilege and an honor to be given the opportunity to provide you with the experience that you expected and deserved during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed in the Country Lodge section of this well-known hotel, “on the hill” as it was referred to. This part of the hotel is in fact a motel and the rooms’ walls must be made of paper. We could hear even quiet conversation from the adjacent room. Would not go back.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Publick House Historic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Dear Ron,
We aim to provide an excellent experience for our guests so it's disappointing to hear that we missed the mark with your stay. Our property contains other lodging options so while the Country Lodge wasn't to your liking, we hope you will choose to stay with us again so we can provide the stay you expected. Your feedback is appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017

All I'll say is Im sorry I didn't stay in the Chamberlain House instead of the old inn.
Stayed in the third floor suit it was not what I expected. It needs a big time makeover.
Other than that I would recommend all other aspects of the Publick House.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Publick House Historic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Thank you for notifying us of your experience. Although you did have a pleasant overall visit, we are sorry that your room did not meet your expectations. We hope that despite that disappointment you were still able to enjoy a restful stay and we look forward to an opportunity to show you an even better experience in the future. Come back and see us again here in Sturbridge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017

The luncheon was very good with an attentive staff. We couldn't leave without some goodies from the bakery. The bakery is excellent. We were with a big group of people and the reputation of the delicious baked goods was know by most. The group came back to the bus with lots of goodies. I bought a delicious pumpkin pie.

I noticed that some people go around back and only come for the baked goods. How fortunate that they live close by. I could understand why.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank yellowbirdVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Publick House Historic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Thank you for visiting us at the Publick House Sturbridge; it was a pleasure to welcome you and your group. We are very happy that we could be a part of your enjoyable visit and that you appreciated our beautiful building, as well as received good service from our staff. We are glad that you had the opportunity to experience our delicious luncheon and tried some of the treats from our Bake Shoppe. It is true that our Bake Shoppe is very popular with local families who come in daily to try our freshly baked goods. We hope that you enjoy your pumpkin pie!
We appreciate you taking the time to share your kind comments, and we would be honored if you would come and visit us again when you are next in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed in Sturbridge a couple of days. This was our favorite stop. If you enjoy old buildings, part of it is 250 years old. There are historic artifacts throughout and the feeling of stepping back in time. We went to the bar and had drinks and dinner. Good food and ambience.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank TeamBL93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Publick House Historic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

So very glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay and took advantage of our onsite dining. As you point out, we offer some terrific displays for history buffs. We want all of our guests to have a fantastic time and come back again. We are pleased to be your favorite stop and hope you will keep us in mind the next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews