We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Got off to a terrible start but the staff tried to help”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Publick House Historic Inn
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Sturbridge
Reviewed 1 November 2017

This appeared to be an old style (1950's vintage) hotel, at least the part to which we were assigned. We checked in on a Saturday evening and things were just terrible right from the start: no hot water; no heat; no working TV. We informed management, who did respond promptly and they did get the heat on but never did get us hot water. The manger gave up on the TV, saying the cable tech wouldn't be available until Monday. They did offer another room on the second floor but I'm physically impaired and there was no elevator, so I opted to stay. Later that evening, a nice young lady appeared with a new cable box and established TV reception. I was very disappointed in this experience, although the management did try to resolve things. There may be other facilities within this hotel complex but this one didn't match up to the cost. I don't see a good reason to return.

Room Tip: This appears to be a 1950's vintage hotel so set your expectations appropriately. Two floors bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bosco47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Publick House Historic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

We appreciate your recent feedback of our property. Thank you for taking a moment to share your thoughts with us. Please accept our apologies for the issues you encountered during your stay. This is not typical of our hotel. Our team is very sorry we did not have a first-floor room available to move you to, and we apologize for any inconvenience this caused you. We are also glad we were able to fix your television. It would be a privilege and honor to be given another opportunity at delivering the experience you expected during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (461)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 461 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

They will put you in the ‘Motor Lodge’ which is a run down set of buildings behind the house.

Poor quality furnishings, unclean, plagued by bugs. The shower had no power but still managed to piss water everywhere.

The coffee and muffins were stale and had been ravaged by some kind of event that was happening.

I wouldn’t recommend staying here, not even for a cheap nights sleep.

Stayed: October 2017
1  Thank LiamT1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Publick House Historic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Dear Liam,
Thank you for your valuable feedback of our property. We are saddened to hear that we were not able to provide you with the stay that you expected. Please accept our sincere apologies that you found your accommodations were less than perfect. We will share your feedback with our housekeeping team. We encourage all constructive comments as this allows us to continually improve on guest appreciation.
Our property offers a variety of room types and we are sorry to hear we did not find you the right fit during your stay.
It is our hope that you will consider staying with us again. It would be a privilege and an honor to be given the opportunity to provide you with the experience that you expected and deserved during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed in the Country Lodge section of this well-known hotel, “on the hill” as it was referred to. This part of the hotel is in fact a motel and the rooms’ walls must be made of paper. We could hear even quiet conversation from the adjacent room. Would not go back.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Publick House Historic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Dear Ron,
We aim to provide an excellent experience for our guests so it's disappointing to hear that we missed the mark with your stay. Our property contains other lodging options so while the Country Lodge wasn't to your liking, we hope you will choose to stay with us again so we can provide the stay you expected. Your feedback is appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017

All I'll say is Im sorry I didn't stay in the Chamberlain House instead of the old inn.
Stayed in the third floor suit it was not what I expected. It needs a big time makeover.
Other than that I would recommend all other aspects of the Publick House.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Publick House Historic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Thank you for notifying us of your experience. Although you did have a pleasant overall visit, we are sorry that your room did not meet your expectations. We hope that despite that disappointment you were still able to enjoy a restful stay and we look forward to an opportunity to show you an even better experience in the future. Come back and see us again here in Sturbridge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017

The luncheon was very good with an attentive staff. We couldn't leave without some goodies from the bakery. The bakery is excellent. We were with a big group of people and the reputation of the delicious baked goods was know by most. The group came back to the bus with lots of goodies. I bought a delicious pumpkin pie.

I noticed that some people go around back and only come for the baked goods. How fortunate that they live close by. I could understand why.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank yellowbirdVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Publick House Historic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Thank you for visiting us at the Publick House Sturbridge; it was a pleasure to welcome you and your group. We are very happy that we could be a part of your enjoyable visit and that you appreciated our beautiful building, as well as received good service from our staff. We are glad that you had the opportunity to experience our delicious luncheon and tried some of the treats from our Bake Shoppe. It is true that our Bake Shoppe is very popular with local families who come in daily to try our freshly baked goods. We hope that you enjoy your pumpkin pie!
We appreciate you taking the time to share your kind comments, and we would be honored if you would come and visit us again when you are next in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sturbridge hotels
1 km away
Old Sturbridge Inn & Reeder Family Lodges
1.3 km away
Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center
0.6 km away
Hampton Inn Sturbridge
Hampton Inn Sturbridge
#4 of 14 in Sturbridge
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Sturbridge
1.4 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 14 in Sturbridge
471 reviews
1.7 km away
Scottish Inn Sturbridge
Scottish Inn Sturbridge
#6 of 14 in Sturbridge
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Publick House Historic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Publick House Historic Inn

Address: On the Common, 277 Main Street - Route 131, Post Office Box 187, Sturbridge, MA 01566-0187
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Sturbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Sturbridge
Price Range: $102 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Publick House Historic Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Publick House Historic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Publick House Historic Hotel Sturbridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing