We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brunch before bridal gown shopping -- perfect!”
Review of The Aviary

The Aviary
Reserve with OpenTable
The Aviary is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 48 Restaurants in Swansea
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 5 November 2018

Seven of us had an 11:00 Sunday reservation and enjoyed the atmosphere (beautifully decorated) and the food (Portuguese Benedict, Breakfast Croissant and a California wrap). The coffee was noteworthy. The service was helpful but not always around when needed (i.e., coffee refills were difficult to obtain). The mimosa was pricey ($11.00) for the size. Dessert for breakfast: BEIGNETS!! So tasty and perfect for sharing. Will definitely return.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ElvisOnly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2018 via mobile

Aviary is definitely a Hidden Gem. Not my first time here but so glad we came back. I love the quintessential New England ambiance of this restaurant. The service by Guy, our server, was awesome and the food delicious.
We both ordered the New England Clam Chowder and Stuffie. I thought the chowder was excellent. Just hot enough, it was well stocked with potatoes and chopped quahogs.
I’m pretty particular about stuffies and the aviary’s version did not disappoint. Golden brown on the outside, it was served at the right temperature and it had the right amount of “kick” from the chourico.
I enjoyed a tasty local Oktoberfest beer which completed my lunch.

Aviary scores 5’s in all aspects; food quality, service, and ambiance. Definitely on my go back to list.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank pauldtravelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

Explore
The Aviary Restaurant & Bar
248 reviews$30 & under
Contemporary AmericanSwansea
+ 21
Lucky! We still have 9 timeslots left!
Tue, 10/2/2018 - Party of 2
6:30 PM
6:45 PM
7:00 PM
7:15 PM
7:30 PM
7:45 PM
8:00 PM
8:15 PM
8:30 PM
Booked 6 times today
Diners who book The Aviary Restaurant & Bar also book these restaurants:
579 Benefit Street Restaurant
579 Benefit Street Restaurant
240
$30 & under
AmericanPawtucket
Tavolo Wine Bar & Tuscan Grille
Tavolo Wine Bar & Tuscan Grille
234
$31 to $50
ItalianProvidence
Trafford
Trafford
80
$30 & under
Contemporary AmericanWarren, Vermont
Tumblesalts Cafe
Tumblesalts Cafe
42
$30 & under
BistroProvidence
Chardonnay's
Chardonnay's
1,323
$30 & under
Contemporary AmericanSeekonk
Spirito's Restaurant
Spirito's Restaurant
458
$30 & under
ItalianProvidence
Tavolo Wine Bar & Tuscan Grille (fka d. carlo Trattoria)
Tavolo Wine Bar & Tuscan Grille (fka d. carlo Trattoria)
576
$31 to $50
ItalianSmithfield
Terrazza
Terrazza
188
$30 & under
MediterraneanSmithfield
Basta Italian Restaurant
Basta Italian Restaurant
803
$31 to $50
ItalianCranston
Jacky's Restaurant & Banquets (North Providence)
Jacky's Restaurant & Banquets (North Providence)
115
$30 & under
Pan-AsianProvidence
Black Duck Tavern
Black Duck Tavern
14
$30 & under
AmericanProvidence
AVVIO
AVVIO
865
$30 & under
ItalianCranston
The Fire
The Fire
176
$30 & under
ItalianProvidence
La Familia- Cumberland
La Familia- Cumberland
263
$30 & under
ItalianPawtucket
Osteria Toscana
Osteria Toscana
610
$30 & under
ItalianJohnston
Not Your Average Joe's Seekonk
Not Your Average Joe's Seekonk
1,530
$30 & under
Contemporary AmericanSeekonk
Elizabeth of Portofino's
Elizabeth of Portofino's
384
$30 & under
ItalianWarwick
Siena - Smithfield
Siena - Smithfield
1,488
$30 & under
ItalianSmithfield
Chapel Grille
Chapel Grille
2,212
$30 & under
Global, InternationalCranston
Not Your Average Joe's Warwick
Not Your Average Joe's Warwick
712
$30 & under
Contemporary AmericanWarwick
Billy's
Billy's
267
$30 & under
Contemporary AmericanBarrington
Cucina Rustica
Cucina Rustica
97
$30 & under
ItalianCranston
Red Stripe - East Greenwich
Red Stripe - East Greenwich
497
$30 & under
AmericanEast Greenwich
Skyline at Waterplace
Skyline at Waterplace
57
$31 to $50
ItalianProvidence
Eleven Forty Nine
Eleven Forty Nine
1,215
$30 & under
Contemporary AmericanEast Greenwich
Meritage - Warwick
Meritage - Warwick
934
$30 & under
AmericanEast Greenwich
Not Your Average Joe's Dartmouth
Not Your Average Joe's Dartmouth
1,283
$30 & under
Contemporary AmericanDartmouth
Kon Asian Bistro & Hibachi Grill - East Greenwich, RI
Kon Asian Bistro & Hibachi Grill - East Greenwich, RI
101
$30 & under
SushiEast Greenwich
Iggy's Boardwalk Lobster & Clambar
Iggy's Boardwalk Lobster & Clambar
75
$30 & under
SeafoodWarwick
TGI FRIDAYS - Providence
TGI FRIDAYS - Providence
7
$30 & under
AmericanWarwick
The Beach House
The Beach House
47
$30 & under
Contemporary AmericanBristol, Rhode Island
Providence Coal Fired Pizza- N. Kingstown
Providence Coal Fired Pizza- N. Kingstown
123
$30 & under
PizzeriaNorth Kingstown
Rooftop at Providence G
Rooftop at Providence G
114
$30 & under
AmericanProvidence
Costantino's Venda Bar & Ristorante
Costantino's Venda Bar & Ristorante
327
$30 & under
ItalianProvidence
TR Ginger Express
TR Ginger Express
17
$30 & under
ItalianLincoln, Rhode Island
TGI FRIDAYS - Seekonk
TGI FRIDAYS - Seekonk
9
$30 & under
AmericanSeekonk
Siena - East Greenwich
Siena - East Greenwich
1,433
$30 & under
ItalianEast Greenwich
Brick Oven on Main
Brick Oven on Main
22
$30 & under
AmericanProvidence
India Restaurant
India Restaurant
448
$30 & under
IndianProvidence
Redlefsen's
Redlefsen's
229
$30 & under
GermanBristol, Rhode Island
Rasoi Restaurant
Rasoi Restaurant
83
$30 & under
IndianProvidence
Brazilian Grill - Dartmouth
Brazilian Grill - Dartmouth
850
$30 & under
Brazilian SteakhouseDartmouth
15 Point Road
15 Point Road
1,043
$30 & under
AmericanMiddletown/Portsmouth
Greenway Bistro
Greenway Bistro
1
$30 & under
AmericanLincoln, Rhode Island
Menu
What Diners Think
Great for Outdoor DiningGreat for LunchCasual
KelliT
September 30, 2018
We chose a Sunday afternoon this visit so that we could order off the dinner menu. Our first visit we arrived on a Sunday as well at 1pm but only brunch was available. Dinners start at 4 on Sunday...Read More
TheaterAnnie
September 25, 2018
Our server Rhonda was wonderful and helpful with recommendations. The food was terrific, I had clams with past and my husband had fish & chips.
KathyC
September 22, 2018
What a great restaurant. Great food and great service. Your staff couldn't do enough for us. My husband and I were celebrating only 45th Anniversary. Thank you so much for making it wonderful. ...Read More
HelenT
September 22, 2018
We went to The Aviary for a birthday celebration. The table and ambience were perfect. The variety on the menu made it tough to decide which option to select. Service was very friendly.
Charlie
September 22, 2018
This was not our first time here and will not be our last. We sat outside and our service was great. The food here is consistently good and the atmosphere is terrific. There is not a lot of things ...Read More
Brazuca
September 19, 2018
Had lunch with my daughter. Liked it so much, came back the next day for dinner with my husband.
ElizabethB
September 17, 2018
I’ve been wanting to the the “Aviary” for quite some time and finally made it there. What a gem! Food was delicious. Hostess and waitstaff were all very welcoming and accommodating. I especially l...Read More
LindaS
September 15, 2018
Awesome night waiter was AWESOME his name was GUY.. excellent food and drinks.
JoanB
September 12, 2018
Never disappointments -- the food is excellent in addition to the service. Everyone is friendly and welcoming
OpenTableCustomer
September 7, 2018
Stuffed Cherrystones as starter - Stuffed Cod and Swordfish were the entrees - fresh but not very flavorful. Broccoli was delicious and generous portions in both entrees. Pretzel bread was a treat.
View all 248 reviews
Details

2229 Gar Hwy Swansea, MA 02777
Swansea
Phone Number:
(508) 379-6007
Parking:
Private Lot
Large Parking Lot, Easy access to building
Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday 10am-2pm
Lunch: Monday-Saturday 11:30am-4pm
Dinner: Sunday 4pm-8pm
Monday-Thursday 4pm-9pm
Friday-Saturday 4pm-10pm
+ Read More
Payment Options:
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
Price:
$30 & under
Dining Style:
Casual Dining
Dress Code:
Business Casual
Executive Chef:
Chef James Weare
Description:
At The Aviary, we do things differently. We offer creative cocktails, an ever changing craft beer selection, menus inspired by locally sourced ingredients, a kitchen that cares and service with a mission. The Aviary is raising expectations for dining.
+ Read More
Find nearby restaurants

KelliT
September 30, 2018
We chose a Sunday afternoon this visit so that we could order off the dinner menu. Our first visit we arrived on a Sunday as well at 1pm but only brunch was available. Dinners start at 4 on Sunday so this visit was better. Although all of our food choices were available on the brunch menu, so no on3 was dissapointed. I made reservations through Open Table and the table was waiting for us when we arrived. We had a great day to sit outside. All meals were great, baked stuffed schrod, Bolognese, shrimp Mozambique, Turkey burger and flat iron steak. All was cooked as requested. We will visit again as it is a comfortable atmosphete.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank 508kellit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018

Good brunch spot in Swansea. Loved the ambiance and vibe inside. Tons of seating inside and outside.

Got fried chicken and waffle and crab cake Benedict, the former was better though both were pretty unremarkable. Crab cakes were Aok.

Otherwise service was great and there was live music on a Sunday afternoon which was great. Good selection of cocktails, the rum and ginger drink was good and refreshing though on the sweeter side.

Overall good spot for brunch, would def come back. Good amount of parking available.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank vjays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018

Our outing was two couples for Sunday brunch. Two of us ordered eggs benedict with crab and asparagus. All eggs were over poached almost to hard boiled. I believe that is the standard way that this restaurant poaches eggs for all their eggs benedict dishes.

Unfortunately, the most splendid taste of an eggs benedict dish is the blending of the hollandaise sauce and a liquid egg yolk. We were disappointed without that splendid blend.

The home fries were excellent as was the bloody mary.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank jerryf183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Aviary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing