We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Berkshire Retreat”
Review of Shaker Mill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shaker Mill Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stayed at the SMI the second half of 4th of July week/end while attending the Berkshire Mega GeoBash geocaching event at Bosquet Mountain. We were looking for a place within an easy ride to the event as well as Jacob's Pillow and the other area venues. We stayed in the Greylock Suite which is located on the 2nd floor in the back of the building. It is a spacious 1 bedroom suite with a full kitchen and living room. A covered balcony enveloped in lush greenery is adjacent to the living room. Travelers wanting to book this suite should note that the bedroom faces East and thus you will be greeted by the sunrise. Bring your eye masks if you want to sleep past the crack of dawn. We adjourned to the living room sofas at sunrise to catch a few more zzz's.

The innkeepers, Bob and Mary, are unobtrusive, a plus for us since we like the hominess of a b&b but the anonymity of a hotel. The innkeepers have provided in-room information to answer your questions before they arise with little framed notes which were much appreciated. They have anticipated their guest's needs making available bug spray, a sewing kit, and toiletries. Being greeted by fresh flowers and wine on arrival were a nice touch after the drive.

We found the room meticulously clean and the essentials for a continental breakfast prepared by a local gourmet caterer. Although special requests are accommodated by the innkeepers, our timing was off to make our requests due to our own schedule. My husband was greatly appreciative when Bob graciously provided a canister of ice tea because of his inability to drink the orange juice provided for breakfast.

We recommend SMI for a laid back Berkshire vacation.

Room Tip: Call and ask the location of the room you want to book so avoid a sunrise awakening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lily54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 139 of 269 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2012

These folks know what they're doing. From the moment your feet hit the gravel in the parking area until the moment your head hits the pillow, you feel someone gives a hoot. Someone cares. Clean, smart, fresh - lots of attention to detail here. There are none of those awful little things that tug you from your fantasy that you're having a grand time and that your room is worth every penny.

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

My husband had business in Pittsfield on Monday, so he suggested we make a weekend of it and I found this place online because we wanted to bring our dogs with us. What a find. The rates for room and pet were the most reasonable in all of the Berkshires, in my opinion. The room was comfortable, fully stocked with fridge, microwave, toaster oven, tv, radio, necessities. Beautiful and serene setting, convenient to restaurants and walking with our dogs. They even provided a doggie basket for our dogs. The owners/hosts are very hospitable. Great folks. Great place. Don't think twice about staying here.

Room Tip: We preferred ground floor because of deck and pets. Upper floors have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JudiAlbarano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Juat pent 2 nights in the Rockwell room. Website doesnt do it justice. Room contained a comfortable queen bed with a separate large seating/kitchenette area with nice couch tv, gas fireplace and bkfst table w/ chairs. My husband slept in and I was able to have coffee in the seating area and not wake him up. There is also a private balcony perfect for having a glass of wine with the complimentary pocorn in the room. They also have 2 little welcoming bottles of wine in the room when you ck in. They also have a nice twist on the bkfst part of the B+B. They stock your fridge with bkfst items so you can have bkfst on your own. One day was quiche and bagel and the next was potatoe egg pasties with a croissant and muffins. Both days there were coffee fixins, juice, milk and instant oatmeal. Very nice to be able to have bkfst on our own and not have to be at a group bkfst at a certain time. The room was very clean, quiet, recently updated nicely decorated with lots of nice touches like robes and ample info about the area including weather! Fresh flowers even in the bathroom! Bob and Mary are really warm and welcoming. The place is immaculate. The restaurant across the street was great too (Shaker Mill tavern). The Inn was a pleasant surprise and wouldnt hesitate to return.

Room Tip: rockwell room is perfect for a couple, lots of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RhodeIslandLola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

It is very rare that I take the time to write a review... but I was actually excited to get home to do so. The Shaker Mill Inn is quaint, clean, cozy, well manicured- a truly great value in a special place. Close to all of the little towns, Lenox, Great Barrington and Stockbridge- West Stockbridge has it's own little nook and nightlife. Bob & Mary made my fiancé and our two dogs feel right at home. We had such a nice weekend we are planning on returning next Memorial Day.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Jessica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Stockbridge
7.7 km away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,097 reviews
9.2 km away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
8.9 km away
LakeHouse Inn
LakeHouse Inn
#1 of 9 in Lee
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 km away
The Inn at Stockbridge
The Inn at Stockbridge
#2 of 8 in Stockbridge
566 reviews
8 km away
Cornell Inn Lenox
Cornell Inn Lenox
#1 of 20 in Lenox
520 reviews
9.6 km away
Federal House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shaker Mill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaker Mill Inn

Address: 7 Albany Rd, Oak Street, West Stockbridge, MA 01266-9505
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > West Stockbridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in West Stockbridge
Price Range: $173 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shaker Mill Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the charming small town of West Stockbridge, MA, in the heart of the Berkshires, the Shaker Mill Inn combines spacious suite-style rooms with the charm and individuality that bed & breakfast establishments traditionally offer.Each suite has its own private bath, kitchenette, and comfortable living and sleeping areas - and most of them have their own private deck or balcony! A wonderful continental breakfast - with a choice of quiche or fruit salad - is included in your stay.The Shaker Mill Inn is a child & pet friendly inn. Our spacious rooms, along with owners/innkeepers Bob & Mary, will make your stay in the beautiful Berkshires one to remember! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Shaker Mill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaker Mill Hotel West Stockbridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing