We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel in a GREAT location”
Review of Tidewater Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tidewater Inn
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in West Yarmouth
Reviewed 14 February 2013

We stayed for 3 days/2 nights and found this hotel through this website! Check-in was easy and quick. There was plenty of (free) parking, and you could park right outside of your room.

The room itself was bigger than expected, but it was your typical hotel room. We stayed on a first-floor room which had a sliding door to the parking lot, which was convenient, but sketchy because it was open when we arrived. A plus was the mini-fridge/freezer in the room!

The bathroom was relatively nice, but blue, which made it seem dirty and old. It was your typical hotel bathroom, except the sink was separate from the toilet and shower, which was nice!

The property was alright, but seemed old and in-need of an update. There were two swimming pools, one indoor and one outdoor, but we stayed away because they weren't that clean. There was a playground, which seemed newer. There was also a diner, which seemed alright, but again, old.

The best part about our stay was the location! It was close to all of the stores in Barnstable (the next town over), close the ferries in Hyannis, and down the street from the beaches.

Room Tip: Bring your own pillows, unless you want to sleep on some rocks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank LGTravels74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tidewatercapecod, Manager at Tidewater Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2013

Sorry you weren't very happy with your accommodations. While we do have two pools, only the indoor was open during the winter of course. The outdoor pool was dirty because it was not open. Our indoor pool is spotless, however and gets cleaned and tested 4 times per day. We also offer a variety of pillows and have both soft and hard pillows depending on our guests needs. A guest only needs to call the office to request pillows or notify us of any problems. Thank you for taking time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (497)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

291 - 295 of 497 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2013

My husband and I enjoyed an unexpected, extended stay at Tidewater over the holidays into the New Year. Voula and Mike, the husband and wife owners and the staff (Charles and Lisa on the desk and Marlene in housekeeping) were more accommodating, helpful and concerned for our comfort, than other more upscale hotels we've stayed at during our most recent travels. The rooms are spotless, the diner is fun, the view of the marsh is uplifting and ever changing. Voula told us of a great beach walk to take! These are real people who care about service. This is more important to us than most anything else. We were deeply Appreciative of all the kindness and attention to detail we received at the Tidewater. (Would Love to return in the warmer months!) This is a Great Value! Enjoy!

Room Tip: Ask for a marshside view - if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tidewatercapecod, Manager at Tidewater Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2013

Thank you for your feedback Christine. It was a pleasure getting to know you during your stay at the Tidewater. Our guests are great! Hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

We were pleasantly surprised to find an off season rate at this hotel on line. The accomodations are very nice with an indoor pool. Would definitely stay here again. The location is very near Hyannis and the ferry to Marthas Vineyard and Nantucket.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Last week we called at the last minute and were very fortunate to be able to book a nice king room for two nights. We've stayed with you several times and always enjoyed our stay. The value that you get for the money is excellent. We usually come down in the off-season and it is great to be able to use the indoor pool. Unfortunately we usually come down during the middle of the week so we can't take advantage of your restaurant. We have eaten there in the past and it has also been great. On one trip I had booked another place which was closer to my son's apartment in Harwich Port. We were extremely disappointed with the place and didn't even stay for one hour. I immedately called the Tidewater and thankfully you had a room available! Your staff on the front desk are always pleasant and helpful. From now on we will ALWAYS stay at the Tidewater.

Room Tip: We've always stayed in a first floor king room due to my husband's health restrictions. It i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tidewatercapecod, Manager at Tidewater Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. We love our "regulars" and look forward to your staying with us when you visit your son and the Cape.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We booked the "Jacuzzi room" for a winter weekend away. Right on the street, terrible traffic noise and heater. Got no sleep. Jacuzzi is and ancient whirlpool tub, also very noisy. Asked to move to new room for 2nd night. Staff very accommodating. New room in building in back overlooking the pong. Nice view but the room STANK of cigarettes, really terrible. The lady from the front desk said she would run an 'ionizer' while we went for a walk. Didn't help at all but too tired to ask for 3rd room. Paper thin walls. Drizzly shower. Dreadful. Even at cheap prices don't waste your money.

Room Tip: Stay away from the main road. Get a room in the back if you must stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bushwinejr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tidewatercapecod, Manager at Tidewater Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2013

I apologize for your experience at the Tidewater. When we were told that the jacuzzi room was too noisy, we offered our waterview king. Unfortunately, as your stated there was a slight smoke smell as the prior guest must have snuck a smoke since we are entirely non smoking facility. It was the last waterview king we had and I offered another waterview room with two double beds or a king room without a view. You choose to stay in the same room and we attempted to get rid of the odor with an ionizer. Since I didn't hear from you I assumed all was well. As I had said, I saved a king room for you in case this was not suitable upon your return. We do try to resolve problems as they arise and I'm sorry we were not able to make your stay more pleasant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Yarmouth
2.0 km away
Cape Point Hotel
Cape Point Hotel
#7 of 20 in West Yarmouth
500 reviews
0.2 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
0.5 km away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#6 of 21 in South Yarmouth
276 reviews
2.6 km away
Mariner Motor Lodge
Mariner Motor Lodge
#9 of 20 in West Yarmouth
484 reviews
5.7 km away
All Seasons Resort
All Seasons Resort
#10 of 21 in South Yarmouth
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tidewater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tidewater Inn

Address: 135 Route 28, West Yarmouth, MA 02673-4653
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > West Yarmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in West Yarmouth
Price Range: $83 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tidewater Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tidewater is a family friendly hotel which is centrally located and minutes to Hyannis, ferries to the islands, beaches, golf, fishing, restaurants, and shopping. Indoor and Outdoor pools and 50's style breakfast diner (open seasonally). Rooms with refrigerators, coffee makers and some with water views. Landscaped picnic area with playground, grills and picnic tables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tidewater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tidewater Hotel West Yarmouth
Tidewater Motel West Yarmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing