We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Jasper Ridge Inn(Ishpeming)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$100/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Cedar Motor Inn(Marquette)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$164/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$170
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Days Inn by Wyndham Marquette(Marquette)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
My Place Hotel-Marquette, MI(Marquette)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$155
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$160/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Value Host Motor Inn(Marquette)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveller rating
22
18
6
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
22
18
6
0
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 49 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2015

My Grandmother has lived in Big Bay for over 20 years and we have vacationed at her home on Lake Independence every year, My family always makes a routine visit to Thunder Bay Inn for the their delicious food and one-of-a-kind ambience. I dreamed of having my wedding reception at this hotel because of all the wonderful and fond memories I had coming here over the summers. Unfortunately luck was not on our side, and because this location is so tricky to get to for travelers, we opted for a wedding in lower MI. That said, the beautiful log cabin feel in the tavern area is incredibly warm and charming. Would absolutely recommend a stop in to any tourists. My favorite sandwich at the tavern, the Mary Pilant!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2015

We snowmobiled into the Thunder Bay Inn to spend the night. Charming place but could use some updating, mostly bedding. We had a room with a tiny shower and converted closet with a toilet in it, a little tight, but adequate. We enjoyed out stay and would definitely do it again. Some of the rooms do not have a bathroom so if you don't want to use a "community" bathroom and shower make sure you ask when you make the reservation. They have a restaurant/bar in the building which has good food and is fairly priced.

Room Tip: Talk to Gretchen, the owner, about what your room needs are. They are all set up differently.
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Luv2snowmobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2015

Do not expect a Marriott in Big Bay. Thunder bay Inn has more charm than you could ever find at any chain hotel.
Extremely friendly, they go above and beyond to make sure the guests are happy. The food is as great as the atmosphere- well worth the trip!!
If you are lucky, you may meet the mayor in the restaurant/bar that is attached to the Thunder Bay inn.
Food was very good as well, Prime rib sold out before we could order, kinda bummed about that, it looked really good.
had the ribeye steak instead, was not disappointed. for desert we had the deep fried cookie dough sundae. Phenomenal !!!!
We will be going back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Henry Ford room, go for it!
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Novak169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for or anniversary and had a great time. Great place great food and the hospitality was outstanding. The history of this building is very cool. Sit back and relax and dream of days gone by. Will definitely visit again

Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2014

We stayed at the Thunder Bay Inn after watching Anatomy of A Murder which was filmed there. It was a well kept and our room was nice, but it felt a little creepy. We were the only guests at the Inn that night, so maybe it was because we were alone that it felt that way. The rooms are all on the second floor and there are many rooms on either side of a huge spacious hall way. Most of the rooms don't have a shower in them. There are antiques every where.This place had belonged to Henry Ford at one time and later on was used as part of the movie set for Anatomy of a Murder, which was based on a true story written by an attorney from Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Jimmy Stewart, Lee Remick and Ben Gazarra were stars in the film and they had a nice photo display from when the movie was made. We also had dinner at the restaurant adjoining the Inn, which was a disappointment. The breakfast was soso...nothing freshly prepared or a hot. The price was reasonable though.

Room Tip: Choose the room that has the shower attached to it and make sure that the heat is turned on in your room.
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aromaticdancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews