We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lunch! Much More Than Expected”
Review of Thunder Bay Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Big Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Thunder Bay Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Big Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 July 2017

We stopped in for lunch and were very surprised at the variety on the menu. They had something called corn nuggets (or similar) which were really good. They were similar to a chicken nugget but were cream corn filled instead - very tasty! I had the pulled pork sandwich which was very good as well while my wife had a very good salad. The building, which is also an INN with several rooms, is really a neat and large structure that looks like a large old plantation home. This place is definitely worth the drive up to Big Bay from Marquette alone.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank azgolftraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2017

Stopped here for lunch while on a snowmobile trip. Food is great, service is awesome and the place is really well decorated. Great views of the bay and lots of history. It is also has hotel rooms and I have stayed here in the past. Well appointed rooms. Well worth the stop

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank canadianoutbacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2016

The Thunder Bay Inn is an old inn where the cast and company of the movie, An Anatomy of a Murder, stayed. It is one of their claims to fame with much movie paraphanaila throughout. Our room, my traveling companion friend and I, was really four, bedroom with two dbl beds, sitting room, small space with desk, and full bath. Dinner was nondescript and very reasonable. Nearby was a camp built in the 30's by Henry Ford for handicapped residents.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank margylong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2016

We stayed overnight and had dinner at the Inn on our autumn getaway. We had the corner room with a full bed and a twin bed that had the private bath, a requirement of my husband's. It had this marvelous divan that was very comfortable, I wish we had one!
Dinner was very good, it is a popular dining place. I had the fried perch/cod/whitefish and my husband had the broiled whitefish with lemon cream sauce. Both were excellent.
A continental breakfast was served downstairs the next morning in the common room (full of antiques and a poster of the movie filmed there back in the 1950's "Anatomy of a Murder". The proprietess sat down with us and chatted for quite a while, very interesting.
We would love to come back!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jade4577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

Stopped in for lunch and a brew. Whitefish sandwich, cudighi, fried mushrooms, and cheese curds were ordered for lunch. Each item was amazing, everything is homemade, not prepackaged frozen junk. Wide assortment of local craft beers to choose from. Summer is a great waitress if you have a choice when you come in. When you are done eating take a tour of the inn, visit the gift shop. Just take your time and enjoy the history of the building.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Fishrwmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Thunder Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunder Bay Inn

Address: Besinger Road, Big Bay, MI 49808
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Big Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Big Bay
Price Range: $67 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Thunder Bay Hotel Big Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing