We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cadillac Sands Resort
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Cadillac
Reviewed 5 December 2016

Room was very hot kept turning thermostat down to 58 before it cooled down, towels were stained red or rust, night clerk said breakfast was pretty good when I went to get a cup of coffee there wasn't any, two half full Tupperware containers of cereal and a big bowl of something that was covered, no one around to ask for anything so no breakfast. On grounds restaurant per menu had fish and chips(homemade) special on Friday night, yea told no chips and it wasn't even 5 o'clock and no one there. Noise till 3 in the morning in parking lot. At check out wasn't even asked how my stay was or thanks, manager was more concern she needed a soda pop.
Will not ever stay here again nor recommend it (more avoid at all cost). More places around there that's newer and I would hope better service.
Bed was worn out, pillows felt like folded blankets in a pillow case, no in room coffee or amenities, tv remote did not operate anything on tv except change channel if you type in new one, wouldn't even turn it on or off.

Room Tip: Stay at a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2016

The carpeting was filthy, ripped, very old bleached and faded stained! My feet were BLACK with in 20. Minutes!
The bathroom was full of black mold!
The heater next to the toilet was dirty and incredibly rusted!
Towels were stained, dirty looking and fraying!
The beds were the worst there were coils coming up just under the mattress.
When we looked the next morning the mattress was VERY dirty and disgusting!
Bedding was stained with urine
No outlets and what there were didn't work!
Our room was next to the kitchen and we heard banging of pots and pans for hours!
Outside the grounds were full of trash, beer caps etc.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank herbdigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2016

I reserved this hotel on a whim. I reserved two rooms. My rooms were in the "old" section of the hotel. There was a musty smell in the room. The windows were painted shut. I noticed a few large stains on the carpet. The bathroom was clean. The biggest letdown was breakfast. There were only a few choices. The best part of the stay was the Sand Bar. The place was rocking. the bar staff was very friendly. Hotel staff were not friendly. The next time I stay up in Cadillac it will be at another hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room in the renovated area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank mster0706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

The windows are so dirty you cannot see out of them there is no screen on the patio slider we stayed in the upper level Corner View best best room in the house I believe. There's no smoking it did not smell it. The carpet was faded from the Sun but everything looked clean. If you can handle the smell in the hallway not being able to see out of the windows too well you will really enjoy this place it's right on the water! Place needs attention for cleaning in the oit's idea hall way aND windows. Overall very happy!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Barry81jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

As in other reviews, this hotel is in dire need of renovation. The room was not filthy but was not clean either. The carpet needs cleaned badly and we didn't feel comfortable using the hot tub because it just looked gross. The towels in the bathroom are super thin and are yellow.
The hotel has a great location but is just not maintained well. I'm sure back in its prime it was a great place.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank 23heidik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cadillac hotels
4.6 km away
Hampton Inn Cadillac
Hampton Inn Cadillac
#2 of 14 in Cadillac
432 reviews
4.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Cadillac
20.7 km away
Cadillac Inn
Cadillac Inn
#6 of 14 in Cadillac
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Hermann's Hotel
Hermann's Hotel
#9 of 14 in Cadillac
49 reviews
4.5 km away
Evergreen Resort
Evergreen Resort
#1 of 14 in Cadillac
557 reviews
0.4 km away
Sun-N-Snow Motel
Sun-N-Snow Motel
#12 of 14 in Cadillac
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cadillac Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cadillac Sands Resort

Address: 6319 M-115, Cadillac, MI 49601
Region: United States > Michigan > Cadillac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Cadillac
Price Range: $110 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cadillac Sands Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Cadillac Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cadillac Sands Hotel Cadillac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing