We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great getaway”
Review of Doherty Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Clare
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Doherty Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Clare
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We wanted to stay in Mt. Pleasant but it was back to school weekend for Central so we stayed in Clare rather than pay $250. or more. Our room was a king non-smoking. We had a frig and coffee maker. Chose to eat dinner in the restaurant rather than drive to Mt. Pleasant. Our dinner was great. They had a soup and salad bar. the steak was perfect and the bloody mary's were great. Also used the indoor pool ( little cool) and the hot tub (very hot)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lhouse21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 91 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2013

Stayed here during my husband's grandmothers birthday celebration. It was your average hotel with some old time charm. Staff was very nice and helpful. We used the area by the pool for an after party. It was a very nice pool and lounge area! It looked like one of the nicer hotels to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheljowo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Doherty hotel surely looks fascinating as you enter the lobby with it big chandelier and huge space...we didn't book it before, we took it as one night break while traveling...room is decent big,bed good...they provide toiletries, coffee in room....no microwave or refrigerator was there....price was good and competitive...they offer breakfast free weekdays and weekend we paid 10.95 per head,,..it was good with plenty of choices with live custom omelette counter, fresh fruits ,pancakes, toast,cereal,sausages,,,..waiters were really helpful, always trying to please you which is great....dining staffs are really awesome,,they do have a jacuzzi, good size swimming pool...overall great choice when you are neighboring area...

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anasuyatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I have been staying here so long that I have forgotten how many years I have been coming here. My spouse and I often stay here if we have a concert or football game in Mt Pleasant and it is always enjoyable. The Pere-Marquette bike trail now starts across the street from the hotel by the library and runs to Midland. One of the best in the state and now convenient to park/stay at the Doherty and ride the trial. Biking the trail was the reason for our visit this time around Check in was easy and quick and actually, they allowed us to check in early as our room was ready. The restored old floors in the lobby are beautiful. Room was very clean and lots of space in the king suite. After returning from a concert in Mt P we drank at the bar for about 3 hours. Staff there was great, especially the bartender, and people at the bar were all very friendly. Quiet night's sleep and even the wedding going on the evening at the hotel was no problem. It is an older hotel but they more than make up for it with friendliness and customer service. Will continue to stay here when in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bikeboy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We love this hotel. It isn't fancy and the décor hasn't changed since we started staying here 10 years ago. We could easily stay somewhere that has flat screen TV's in each room, Jacuzzi tubs and the latest décor, but we don't. We stay because of the staff/service, cleanliness and the location. We know that every time we stay at the Doherty, we will be treated well by people who care what they do and where they work. Personally, I find this very refreshing.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spencersbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clare
23.5 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mt. Pleasant
23.2 km away
Hampton Inn Mt. Pleasant
Hampton Inn Mt. Pleasant
#1 of 14 in Mount Pleasant
497 reviews
2.4 km away
Days Inn of Clare
Days Inn of Clare
#2 of 4 in Clare
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 km away
Lakeside Motel & Cottages
11.5 km away
Sweetfern Inn
Sweetfern Inn
#1 of 1 in Clare
2 reviews
24 km away
Soaring Eagle Casino & Resort
Soaring Eagle Casino & Resort
#2 of 14 in Mount Pleasant
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doherty Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doherty Hotel

Address: 604 N McEwan St, Clare, MI 48617-1499
Region: United States > Michigan > Clare County > Clare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Clare
Price Range: $94 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 157
Also Known As:
Doherty Hotel Clare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing