We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”
Review of Doherty Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Clare
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Doherty Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Clare
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I recently stayed 2 nights at the Doherty Hotel in Claire, Michigan. The rooms were spacious, clean and very quiet. The Doherty is a 4th generation locally owned hotel and I was impressed with the customer care and service provided by the hotel staff and ownership.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 88 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Doherty in room 330 on the Bike and Hike Package. The room was large enough to store our bikes and was very clean. The bathroom had a shower only, but that was fine with us. The bed was comfortable and bedding was clean. The room was quiet and we were not disturbed during the night. We used the hot tub and the pool and thought they were very nice. We had a refrigerator and coffee maker in the room. I thought the package was a good value with $15 per person credit towards dinner and Sunday Breakfast Buffet was included in the price of the room. We also received "Trail Snacks" to take with us the next day biking back to Midland. The snack consisted of an orange, bottle of water, small bag of barbeque potato chips and a small bag of nacho cheese Combos. I would have preferred an energy bar or something else more healthy. Overall I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Room 330 was quiet and still convenient to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryKayOwosso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Stayed here while on a 4 day golf outing.A great hotel with all the amenities anyone could ask for.
Great rooms and an indoor pool and hot tub to boot.
Fantastic buffet breakfast and a Bloody Mary on our arrival. Right on Main Street in the quaint little town of Clare. All anyone could ask for. Will be sure to be back in the not distant future.

Room Tip: Put this one on a must visit list
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weezer9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We wanted to stay in Mt. Pleasant but it was back to school weekend for Central so we stayed in Clare rather than pay $250. or more. Our room was a king non-smoking. We had a frig and coffee maker. Chose to eat dinner in the restaurant rather than drive to Mt. Pleasant. Our dinner was great. They had a soup and salad bar. the steak was perfect and the bloody mary's were great. Also used the indoor pool ( little cool) and the hot tub (very hot)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lhouse21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Stayed here during my husband's grandmothers birthday celebration. It was your average hotel with some old time charm. Staff was very nice and helpful. We used the area by the pool for an after party. It was a very nice pool and lounge area! It looked like one of the nicer hotels to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheljowo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clare
23.2 km away
Hampton Inn Mt. Pleasant
Hampton Inn Mt. Pleasant
#1 of 14 in Mount Pleasant
500 reviews
2.4 km away
Days Inn of Clare
Days Inn of Clare
#2 of 4 in Clare
503 reviews
21.7 km away
Lakeside Motel & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 km away
Sweetfern Inn
Sweetfern Inn
#1 of 1 in Clare
2 reviews
2.2 km away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doherty Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doherty Hotel

Address: 604 N McEwan St, Clare, MI 48617-1499
Region: United States > Michigan > Clare County > Clare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Clare
Price Range: $93 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 157
Also Known As:
Doherty Hotel Clare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing