We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$76
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
US$119
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Soaring Eagle Waterpark and Hotel(Mount Pleasant)
US$119
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$121/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (197)
Filter reviews
197 results
Traveller rating
47
70
27
12
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
47
70
27
12
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf packagegas fireplacepool area isan older hotelget awayfamily run hotelhot tubsandwichlocal areaomelet stationkeep an eyegolfing tripolder partirish pubenjoyable stayonce a yeardowntown
Filter
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 197 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Doherty in room 330 on the Bike and Hike Package. The room was large enough to store our bikes and was very clean. The bathroom had a shower only, but that was fine with us. The bed was comfortable and bedding was clean. The room was quiet and we were not disturbed during the night. We used the hot tub and the pool and thought they were very nice. We had a refrigerator and coffee maker in the room. I thought the package was a good value with $15 per person credit towards dinner and Sunday Breakfast Buffet was included in the price of the room. We also received "Trail Snacks" to take with us the next day biking back to Midland. The snack consisted of an orange, bottle of water, small bag of barbeque potato chips and a small bag of nacho cheese Combos. I would have preferred an energy bar or something else more healthy. Overall I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Room 330 was quiet and still convenient to the elevator.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryKayOwosso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Stayed here while on a 4 day golf outing.A great hotel with all the amenities anyone could ask for.
Great rooms and an indoor pool and hot tub to boot.
Fantastic buffet breakfast and a Bloody Mary on our arrival. Right on Main Street in the quaint little town of Clare. All anyone could ask for. Will be sure to be back in the not distant future.

Room Tip: Put this one on a must visit list
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weezer9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We wanted to stay in Mt. Pleasant but it was back to school weekend for Central so we stayed in Clare rather than pay $250. or more. Our room was a king non-smoking. We had a frig and coffee maker. Chose to eat dinner in the restaurant rather than drive to Mt. Pleasant. Our dinner was great. They had a soup and salad bar. the steak was perfect and the bloody mary's were great. Also used the indoor pool ( little cool) and the hot tub (very hot)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lhouse21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Stayed here during my husband's grandmothers birthday celebration. It was your average hotel with some old time charm. Staff was very nice and helpful. We used the area by the pool for an after party. It was a very nice pool and lounge area! It looked like one of the nicer hotels to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheljowo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Doherty hotel surely looks fascinating as you enter the lobby with it big chandelier and huge space...we didn't book it before, we took it as one night break while traveling...room is decent big,bed good...they provide toiletries, coffee in room....no microwave or refrigerator was there....price was good and competitive...they offer breakfast free weekdays and weekend we paid 10.95 per head,,..it was good with plenty of choices with live custom omelette counter, fresh fruits ,pancakes, toast,cereal,sausages,,,..waiters were really helpful, always trying to please you which is great....dining staffs are really awesome,,they do have a jacuzzi, good size swimming pool...overall great choice when you are neighboring area...

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anasuyatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews