We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique hotel, kind and helpful staff”
Review of Doherty Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Clare
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Doherty Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Clare
Reviewed 20 July 2017

I have stayed at this hotel multiple times whenever I have been in Clare. It is an older hotel, but has its own unique charm. The reception staff is always very friendly, kind, and helpful. They are in the process of renovating and updating rooms, so the first time we stayed, we stayed in one of the older rooms which definitely needed updating. The other times, however, we stayed in the updated rooms which were definitely much nicer and quieter. The staff is very accommodating and ready to answer any questions or to address any concerns guests may have.

The hotel has a nice indoor swimming pool and Jacuzzi in a very spacious and open area. There are several tables around the pool area where patrons can congregate and hang out together which is nice.

However, the one thing which could use improvement is the restaurant. We had a late lunch there recently, and unfortunately, for the amount that we spent, we walked away disappointed. The salad bar was nice, but the calamari we ordered was not fully cooked, and all of the entrees, with the exception of a steak, were cold and lacking in flavor. And, service was painfully slow and after waiting for far too long, we needed to walk around asking other servers to get simple things like a drink refill and steak sauce. A simple lunch which should have taken no more than an hour ended up taking 2 hours from start to finish, mostly due to waiting. I definitely do not like writing things like this, because the restaurant definitely has potential to be very nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the newer section of the hotel.. They have the king and queen rooms updated but no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank esn612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2017 via mobile

Terrible!! Dirty, outdated! Drapes are filthy, bed linens (bed pads stained) furniture is in terrible shape. Outdated appliances. Doherty used to be a "the place to stay", but no more! Sleep in your car!

Stayed: July 2017
2  Thank Kathy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017

This property is a mixed bag. Pro--friendly eager service staff. Pro--good breakfast buffet free on weekdays. Pro--good bar on property. Pro--the room was clean and absolutely huge.

Con--the property is oddly constructed--the check in lobby has no parking near it. What appears from the outside to be lobby parking leads to a false lobby with no helpful signage.

Con--the room was outdated and shabby. Con--the room was located so that the bedroom window looked directly onto the indoor pool, so lots of noise from kids and no privacy.

Con--the bed was very uncomfortable--I ended up sleeping on the couch. I would not return.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017

Fantastic stay in a fantastic town. Clean and well maintained charming hotel with professional polite staff.Looking forward to returning soon. Restaurant was great and their breakfast was hot and fresh. Stay with confidence at the Doherty.

Room Tip: They have a charming older section and also a newer wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017 via mobile

Recently stayed at the Doherty for a weekend golf package. The hotel is old and it does show its age but our group enjoyed our stay. The decor is old looking and it looks like renovations are in progress at different spots throughout the hotel. I found the beds to be comfy and rooms to be large and not crowded with furniture. They have a really good buffet breakfast each morning in the restaurant. There was plenty to choose from and even an omelet station on one morning. We also used the Irish pub each evening to wind down with a few pints. They have a great menu as well. They a have a friendly and helpful staff that were great to talk to. Would definitely stay again

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Ihave2muchfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clare
23.5 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mt. Pleasant
23.2 km away
Hampton Inn Mt. Pleasant
Hampton Inn Mt. Pleasant
#1 of 14 in Mount Pleasant
497 reviews
2.4 km away
Days Inn of Clare
Days Inn of Clare
#2 of 4 in Clare
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 km away
Lakeside Motel & Cottages
11.5 km away
Sweetfern Inn
Sweetfern Inn
#1 of 1 in Clare
2 reviews
24 km away
Soaring Eagle Casino & Resort
Soaring Eagle Casino & Resort
#2 of 14 in Mount Pleasant
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doherty Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doherty Hotel

Address: 604 N McEwan St, Clare, MI 48617-1499
Region: United States > Michigan > Clare County > Clare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Clare
Price Range: $95 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 157
Also Known As:
Doherty Hotel Clare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing