We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$82
Hotels.com
View Deal
US$76
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$136/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Soaring Eagle Waterpark and Hotel(Mount Pleasant)
US$119
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$121/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Mt. Pleasant Inn & Suites(Mount Pleasant)(Great Value!)
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chippewa Motel(Mount Pleasant)
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baymont by Wyndham Mt. Pleasant(Mount Pleasant)(Great Value!)
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Soaring Eagle Casino & Resort(Mount Pleasant)
US$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (197)
Filter reviews
197 results
Traveller rating
47
70
27
12
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
47
70
27
12
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf packagegas fireplacepool area isan older hotelget awayfamily run hotelhot tubsandwichlocal areaomelet stationkeep an eyegolfing tripolder partirish pubenjoyable stayonce a yeardowntown
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 197 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2017 via mobile

Terrible!! Dirty, outdated! Drapes are filthy, bed linens (bed pads stained) furniture is in terrible shape. Outdated appliances. Doherty used to be a "the place to stay", but no more! Sleep in your car!

Stayed: July 2017
3  Thank Kathy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017

This property is a mixed bag. Pro--friendly eager service staff. Pro--good breakfast buffet free on weekdays. Pro--good bar on property. Pro--the room was clean and absolutely huge.

Con--the property is oddly constructed--the check in lobby has no parking near it. What appears from the outside to be lobby parking leads to a false lobby with no helpful signage.

Con--the room was outdated and shabby. Con--the room was located so that the bedroom window looked directly onto the indoor pool, so lots of noise from kids and no privacy.

Con--the bed was very uncomfortable--I ended up sleeping on the couch. I would not return.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017

Fantastic stay in a fantastic town. Clean and well maintained charming hotel with professional polite staff.Looking forward to returning soon. Restaurant was great and their breakfast was hot and fresh. Stay with confidence at the Doherty.

Room Tip: They have a charming older section and also a newer wing
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017 via mobile

Recently stayed at the Doherty for a weekend golf package. The hotel is old and it does show its age but our group enjoyed our stay. The decor is old looking and it looks like renovations are in progress at different spots throughout the hotel. I found the beds to be comfy and rooms to be large and not crowded with furniture. They have a really good buffet breakfast each morning in the restaurant. There was plenty to choose from and even an omelet station on one morning. We also used the Irish pub each evening to wind down with a few pints. They have a great menu as well. They a have a friendly and helpful staff that were great to talk to. Would definitely stay again

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Ihave2muchfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

Having grown up in Michigan, I've heard about the famed Doherty Hotel for decades. My partner and I met two other couples, and their kids, for an overnight rendezvous. Our group had three rooms, and we stayed (and based) out of one of their JFK suites. While it had space for days, things were shockingly dirty and dusty, and fixtures were visibly broken (see pictures).

The 2nd floor "ice machine" was just a large, plastic container full of ice with a scoop. My stomach about turned when I heard two teenage boys talking about what fun it'd be to pee in it. How can that be allowed by the health department???

We also had to sign into wifi after about a half an hour of any device not being in use. It was so obnoxious to pick up your phone, tablet, or get on your laptop only to find out, every time, that you had to reconnect to their Internet and enter in a username and password.

Lastly, there were eight of us in our JFK suite playing UNO Attack and Euchre well into the early morning hours. Every single one of us had BLACK feet when we showered the next morning. That tells me how much this property invests in cleaning their carpets.

While there are not a lot of options in Clare, if you're going to be in a dirty room, you might as well spend a heck of a lot less than you would at the Doherty.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Clinton C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews