We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view, great area and friendly people.”
Review of King Copper Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Copper Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
King Copper Motel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Copper Harbor
Reviewed 8 September 2017

We (family of 4) stayed 5 nights. Loved our Lake Superior view room. Opened the door wall and walked outside just a few feet to Lake Superior. Ducks and geese greeted us each day. We swam next to the dock, water was cold but exhilarating. Parking across street for Isle Royal ferry. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. Met and talked with other friendly guests at the hotel. Walking distance to all local restaurants and stores. Few minute drive to Fort Wilkins State Park and Brockway Mountain. Room was clean and comfortable full of old time charm. Beds were comfortable. Fantastic nights sleep with the fresh air. Great UP getaway. Our favorite place to escape to, from lower Michigan, to relax and enjoy nature at its best. Love this place and we will return as often as possible.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2017

We stayed for three nights in the hotel. While we had a room with a view of Lake Superior - don't get excited. The immediate view was of a rotting dock with bird poop on it - no ability to swim there. The room was in terrible condition. I had to attach my CPAP to an electric outlet and sparks flew from the extension cord. I was nearly electrocuted. The management did provide me with a small light and a new outlet, but the light was too weak for me to read. Everything about the room was cheap - the musty smell of the room - the sliding screen door which fell out of its track multiple times - a piece of paper for a bath mat - the spider that came down from the ceiling over our bed - no sports channels on the cable TV (not even ESPN). I will say that the owner was nice and did try to be helpful, and that it had a good location in town - but overall for $125 night I expected a lot more.

Room Tip: inspect room before occupying
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank mbreuer183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nikkixxwalsh, Public Relations Manager at King Copper Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy yourself as much as you had hoped.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

We stayed in the beach front motel, they have a few to choose from. The room was updated UP style. But the view and walking out to the water PRICELESS! Sunsets and sunrises are magical. A bit rustic but that adds to the adventure of being in Copper Harbor.....I recommend this motel, I will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank P M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nikkixxwalsh, Public Relations Manager at King Copper Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us! I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time here in Copper Harbor along the beautiful Lake Superior. The sunsets and sunrises truly are awesome. We can't wait to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017

The beds were uncomfortable, the screens all had holes with tape over them. The patio door on the back of the unit was extremely difficult to open and close. The screen on the patio door never fully closed, thus allowing all kinds of bugs into the room. The bathroom toilet was so low to the ground and wobbled when you sat on it. The shampoo given was a tiny little packet. We had to ask for extra for our 2 night stay. We found food on the floor from previous guests. The doors into our units both looked as though they had been kicked in multiple times. This place needs a lot of TLC. The views are the only saving grace, just be careful not to step in all the goose crap all over.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Roberta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nikkixxwalsh, Public Relations Manager at King Copper Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Hi Roberta, so sorry to hear that your time with us was not what you had hoped it would be. When it comes to the bugs and geese, we do all that we can to negate their messes but it can be hard to keep up with battling nature. Sometimes it can take guests a bit of time to adjust to the woodsy lifestyle of Copper Harbor. Of course we replenish shampoo and soap daily and are always happy to offer more if needed, so that should not have been an issue for you to worry about. I hope that the rest of your time up north was enjoyable!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

My wife wanted to be by the water and we were. The rooms are very small and the bathroom is smaller, LOL. The view out our sliding glass door was very nice, the fish shop about 80feet away had hot coffee ands pastry each morning. You can set out side and enjoy the lake view.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nikkixxwalsh, Public Relations Manager at King Copper Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Hi Rich, thank you so much for reviewing your time with us! I am so glad you were able to enjoy the fish market/bakery next door. They have a great selection and are oh so convenient for guests who just want to relax in their rooms. I am happy to hear you and your wife love the lake just as much as we do. We love to share her beauty! I hope the next time you visit Copper Harbor you will think of us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to King Copper Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Copper Motel

Address: 447 East Brockway Avenue, Copper Harbor, MI 49950
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Copper Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Copper Harbor
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King Copper Motel is the closest lodging to Lake Superior in the Keweenaw Peninsula with the largest, most breathtaking views of the beautiful water. It has been proudly family owned and operated for over 50 years. Each room includes queen or king beds, beverage station, Dish satellite TV, full bath and endless ice. Refrigerators and roll-away beds are available for an additional charge upon request. All pets are welcome with additional charge and asked not to be left alone in the room. There is a sandy beach that is great for taking a dip in the lake, catching fresh lake fish or setting kayaks/canoes out to sea. There is also free boat docking right outside your room. We are open from April-October annually and can be reached day or night. We are also located next to the Isle Royale Ferry dock and parking for your convenience. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing