We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this refurbishment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crown Metropol Perth
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Burswood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 November 2012

I love the Crown complex in Melbourne and was equally delighted at the complex in Perth.
The foyer is large and grand, with helpful staff greeting you upon entry. The room was surprisingly spacious with a lovely refurbishment. Modern, clean and very comfortable.
My room overlooked the amazing pool complex which would have been wonderful to try out. Also, there are wonderful restaurants right below you such as Nobu and Guillame.
I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't get a pool view room if there's a function/ party by the pool. It's loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LouMelbourne11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,629)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,558 - 1,562 of 1,629 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2012

- Room / Overall -
Only here for a night but it was pretty luxurious. Rooms are big and faced the pool with a view of the city skyline and sunset. Comes with a big bathtub and huge flat screen TV. Separate rain shower and toilet. Has a study desk and 2 couches. Had a complimentary basket of fresh fruits.

Didn't come with breakfast though and heard that the buffet was sort of average from my family members. Pool area looked cool though. Very big with lots of different areas. Service from the concierge was great though. Managed our bags and car quite well.

- Location -
It's not really close to anything and you'd need to take a cab or drive out to get anywhere close to the city. Guess since it's a casino it's meant to be self-supporting so there are restaurants and cafes in the casino that you could dine at.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reggiemania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

I found myself staying at this hotel because I was speaking at a conference there. The first problem is the long queues at reception – people in the queue told me that is par for the course here.

Then there was the long wait for a cup of coffee at the copy shop in the foyer. A friend said "you get used to it after a few stays".

The worst of all is the cost of Wi-Fi in your room. It's bad enough that they charge $29 a day but that is per device. Most people these days have a laptop and a phone and an iPad. That's a total of $87 a day just for Wi-Fi.

When I complained they said they were trying to fix it but they had to negotiate with their Wi-Fi supplier and it may take months. I cannot believe the Crown don't have any negotiating power!.

Room Tip: I suggest any travellers bring their own Wi-Fi device.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Noel100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

We arrived on a Sunday and the place was packed. I can’t remember the event but there were children and families everywhere in the massive foyer.

Check in was quick and not overly friendly. We were told there would be building noise from 7am in the morning and then they said “we’ve put you on the first floor”. Thanks. When we reached our room someone had just been smoking in there. We asked for another room and got one down the corridor that was clean and smoke free.
The room was beautifully appointed and very sumptuous with a great view towards Perth and the golf course. I could see the view from the bath tub which you could open up to the bedroom!

Overall it was a very comfortable well appointed room. What was not so comfortable was the size of the hotel and the people absolutely everywhere. You normally account for this in a big hotel, but without the friendly personal service of front desk it was a fairly anonymous stay. We were just one of many.

Some points – as paying hotel guests there is no discount in the Atrium restaurant. Breakfast is about $36. It is a hefty price, but we have been here before and it is one of the best buffet breakfasts around with everything you could imagine from omelettes made on the spot, crispy bacon, cheeses, a waffle station with a honeycomb dripper for fresh honey and even a selection of desserts like pannacotta.

The gym is excellent and one of the best I have ever seen in a hotel – medicine balls, boxing area, rowers, you name it. Most of it Life Fitness stuff and all new.

It would have been amazing stay if only the service had been a bit better.

Room Tip: Try the Rockpool bar for dinner. Absolutely delicious at half the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eddwina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

My husband and I had a night away to celebrate my birthday and were very impressed with our one night stay at Crown Metropol. The room was well presented and newly renovated. We loved how the bathroom was integrated into the room - it was lots of fun having a bath and being able to see out the window! The staff (particularly the concierge) were friendly, very helpful and professional. Breakfast at the Atrium was high quality with an excellent range of dishes available. The only negative would be the price of the rooms meant this could only be an occasional treat!

Room Tip: air conditioning was a bit noisy (we had a room on the 8th floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jack_twoandthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burswood
Crown Towers Perth
#1 of 3 in Burswood
698 reviews
Crown Promenade Perth
#3 of 3 in Burswood
1,005 reviews
Aloft Perth
#8 of 66 in Perth
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
#12 of 66 in Perth
1,708 reviews
Hyatt Regency Perth
#20 of 66 in Perth
2,568 reviews
Crowne Plaza Perth
#19 of 66 in Perth
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Metropol Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Metropol Perth

Address: Great Eastern Highway, Burswood, Victoria Park, Western Australia 6100, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Victoria Park > Burswood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Burswood
Price Range: $253 - $553 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Metropol Perth 5*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the banks of the world-famous Swan River overlooking the stunning sun kissed backdrop of the Perth city skyline, Crown Metropol Perth redefines luxury accommodation offering a distinctive, modern and unmistakably luxurious escape.Each of Crown Metropol Perth’s guest rooms are abundant with space and natural light and feature high-tech entertainment facilities, plush furnishings and spacious bathrooms, plus guests have access to our renowned resort-style pool area and children’s zone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crown Metropol Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Burswood Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing