We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$209
US$197
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$231/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$259
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$244
US$230
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$268/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$186/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$179
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$166/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$246
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,484)
Filter reviews
1,484 results
Traveller rating
726
486
151
71
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
726
486
151
71
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscookiesround barpeople moverdouble treefront deskvalet parkingtwo room suitefree shuttlered wings gameliving arearooms are hugeshuttle servicemile radiuswithin milescobo centerexcellent stayhotel bar
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 1,484 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2018

For some unknown reason, my room has not been refreshed 4 of the 7 days I have been here. I leave at 7:00am and return at 11:00pm every day and must then go get clean towels, more shampoo and empty the trash.

The Night Desk Manager has been very apologetic and comped my breakfast and given a meager amount of reward

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Douglas A D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Presley P, Public Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Hi Douglas, and thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I apologize that you had a poor experience with our housekeeping, and I'm glad that our Night Desk Manager could make it right for you! We hope that you will return on your next trip to Detroit, for a better experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2018

It was convenient to get to Cobo center. The shuttle service was a huge plus, considering I didn't rent a car. The staff was excellent and just so helpful. It was just a great experience overall. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank aferree95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Presley P, Public Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

Hello and thank you for choosing DoubleTree Suites Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby! We are glad to hear that your stay was wonderful, and look forward to hosting you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

Excellent stay in a very nicely renovated hotel in a historic building smack in downtown detroit. The suites are super spacious, with comfy beds and a great view from the 10th floor overlooking the Ambassador bridge that links USA to Canada.
Reception desk staff were welcoming and friendly and the valet parking, while an additional cost was well worth it. Hands down the nicest doubletree hotel I've been.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank femisfootsteps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Presley P, Public Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Hello and thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us! I'm glad my team was able to provide a great experience, and look forward to your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

Loved the courtesy and attentiveness at this hotel. Room was very clean and updated. Good location. People Mover is one block away.
They comped us one breakfast, which was very appreciated. it is a historic building which was a nice perk.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank SBlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Presley P, Public Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Hello and thank you for choosing DoubleTree Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby. Thank you for noticing our history as well! We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

Bottom line is that for the money we paid this hotel is Average. The room was dated and in my opinion putting a new sink and vanity in a room and keeping the carpet and drapes from the 70’s is not renovated; it is lipstick! Disappointed in the rooms energy efficient thermostate( set the system to 68 and the fan cuts out by itself and shows 72 on display leaving room feeling stuffy with 4 people and no air movement) also the visable dust on the discharge vent for the heat/cool unit was unacceptable( clean it!)
Ok-Positives: The complimentary shuttle bus is great, you can get a ride to Greektown, Comerica Park with on call pickUps; The hotel is located with-in walking distance to Detroit waterfront, the Cobo Center; GM Renaissance Center; Dime Store Breakfast and The Detroit People Mover Tranit system. Sorry Doubletree Downtown Detroit I just struggle to give you a high rating as I did with The Aloft David Whitney last February with its amazing architecture and 100% renovated rooms.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Presley P, Public Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Hi Jason-
I apologize that you had this experience with us, please look out for a call and/or email from us to make this right!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews