We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Book now, pay at stay
US$209
Courtyard
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$246/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Book now, pay at stay
US$200
US$154
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$178/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Book now, pay at stay
US$131
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$152/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$171
US$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$214/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$226
US$213
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$284/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$247
US$239
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$301/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Inn on Ferry Street(Detroit)
Free cancellation until 04/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$200
US$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 04/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$197
US$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$246
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (590)
Filter reviews
590 results
Traveller rating
143
203
135
57
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
143
203
135
57
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstayed at the holiday innvalet parkingpeople moverbig citycomerica parktigers gamecobo centerfree breakfastvalet staffbreakfast staffford fieldyogurtjoe louis arenaclean hotelred wings gamehiedowntown
Filter
Updating list...
222 - 227 of 590 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2015

After a long 17-hour drive on a charter bus, we brought a group of 30 to this property for the Shell Eco-Car Marathon and could not have been more pleased with the hotel property and service. Conveniently located close to the Cobo Center, we were thrilled with the security provided at the hotel, the proximity to the People Mover public transportation system, and the excellent shuttle service offered to get us anywhere within 3 miles of the hotel. Everyone from the front desk to the support services on site were incredibly friendly and helpful--there is no way to adequately express how gracious everyone was as well as committed to making sure our stay was everything we wanted or needed. They were especially helpful when special requests where made in order to work around unforeseen circumstances. Special thanks for exemplary service to Darius at the front desk, Carolyn and Joyce in the breakfast area, the entire team from housekeeping, and the wonderful shuttle drivers who served us. Without a doubt this will be our hotel of choice when in the Detroit area again. Bravo!!

Room Tip: Our room was on the 14th floor and in an excellent location. We had no problems with noise at all.
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ccb91110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2015

CCB
I am so pleased that you were able to join us for your group outing to the Shell Eco-Car Marathon.Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful experience at our hotel with us. We strive to provide the best possible service and guest experiences every day, and it’s always great to hear from our guests on how we’re doing. All of the staff takes great pride in knowing that their hard work and dedication is making a difference to our guests. Thank you for taking the time to share your positive comments with us and your fellow travelers. We can hardly wait to welcome you back.
Enjoy today!
Emily P Dailey
Portfolio Reputation Manager - Holiday Inn Express Detroit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2015 via mobile

We stayed the second year in a row at the Holiday Inn Express in Downtown Detroit. The front desk staff is super friendly and helpful. The food staff, especially Carolyn and Kimberly were very attentive to us and the other guests. They made sure the food was hot and well stocked, and the dining area was very clean and inviting. The food was delicious and kept us full for the day of fun downtown for opening day festivities. We look forward to staying with you again in the future and highly recommend your place to our friends and family.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank tigermoms2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2015

Tiger moms 2014,
Thank you for choosing us as your hotel during your last visit. It was a pleasure to have you and your family at our hotel. We are so delighted to hear you had a pleasant stay and that you enjoyed the hotel, with all of its distinctive amenities. We were truly humbled by your gracious comments regarding our hotel service team. All of the staff takes great pride in knowing that their hard work and dedication is making a difference to our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back again next year. Go Tigers!
Enjoy today!
Emily P Dailey
Portfolio Reputation Manager - Holiday Inn Express Detroit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2015

I was just in from a 3/day trip and Tired at 7am Easter Morning. My my luggage had not made it with me along the trip or to the hotel.

As I walked in to check in the hotel I was met by Darius Hollowel. His professionalism was on point & he seem to care about my travels as well as my reservation.

As he checked me in the hotel he upgraded my room to a suite and assured me that if there was anything else that I needed it would be no problem. I like to say THANK YOU to Darius Hallowell for being and exemplifying great customer service.

My room is gorgeous and I will be extending my stay...

Stayed: April 2015, travelled solo
1  Thank Emanuel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2015

Emanuel,
On behalf of our entire staff, thank you so much for your kind review. We certainly do strive to provide all of our guests with the level of service that you described you received during your stay and I will certainly make sure I acknowledge Darius for his efforts. We hope that you have an opportunity to visit us again soon.Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience with us and Trip Advisor!
Enjoy today!
Emily P Dailey
Portfolio Reputation Manager - Holiday Inn Express Detroit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2015

After a long travel day it was nice to be greeted by friendly and helpful valet parking attendants. Helped with our luggage and directed us inside to the registration desk. Friendly person who gladly extended our check out the next day by an hour.
Room (718) was spacious. Rainfall shower head was not very good, low water pressure, but adequate for our purposes.
Breakfast buffet VERY good (came with our room price) Several flavors of yogurt. Hot foods included biscuits and sausage gravy. Although the sausage gravy looked great...chunks of sausage, the taste was not to my liking. Biscuit was excellent. Husband had oatmeal, and good coffee. Attendant constantly involved with cleaning, refilling, etc.
Since I was not able to find a suitable jazz venue with dinner, and our bodies were having a hard time adjusting to the cold weather (we live in Florida), opted for dinner at the restaurant connected by interior corridor to the hotel. (Review of restaurant in another post)
Free WiFi was easy for my husband's phone to connect with.

Room Tip: We stayed on a Friday night, and there was little, if any traffic. Quiet facing the main street. (Washington Blvd)
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank KCsew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2015

KCsew,
Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful experience at our hotel with us. We strive to provide the best possible service and guest experiences every day, and it’s always great to hear from our guests on how we’re doing. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about the Express Start breakfast and the service that our team provided to you. We look forward to a chance to welcome you back again soon.
Enjoy today!
Emily P Dailey
Portfolio Reputation Manager - Holiday Inn Express Detroit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2015

Great location, nice room, nice washroom, good location if want to take tunnel bus to Detroit. We were there for show at Caesars casino. Lots of bars and pubs no problem finding any type of food. 1 drawback parking isn't included, $16.95 on weekends, cheaper on weekdays .

Room Tip: Stay at top away from 2 a.m. noise
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dROG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2015

dROG,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay with us. I am so pleased that you found the location to be perfect for your visit. Please note that parking is included in some rate packages. The cost is consistent in USD, but your price may change because of the conversion to CAD. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the area.
Enjoy today!
Emily P Dailey
Portfolio Reputation Manager - Holiday Inn Express Detroit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews