We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incompetence and Smoke”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown
Ranked #17 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Reviewed 7 August 2017

Booked 6m in advanced asking for 5 rooms all next to each other and was told no problem. When I got there at 4:30 (check-in is 3) was told they have no rooms available. After complaining for 30min I got them to give me 1 room. so me and my 10 buddies went to drop our bags in the one room. When we got off the elevator the entire floor smelled very strongly of weed. Then when we got into our room it smelled even stronger of cigarette smoke. to top all that off there was a trash bag over the smoke detector. We complained to no avail and left the hotel to clear our heads. I got a call at 6:45 saying our rooms where ready. when we got back the rooms where spread all over the hotel and they did not swap out the smoke room.(I complained heavily and they did eventually swap out the smoky room)

Room Tip: don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tucker N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnDetroit, Social Media Coordinator at Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Hi Tucker N
Thank you for staying with us. I would like to apologize that we missed the chance to provide you with a flawless stay. I can assure you that we take great pride in the service and experience we provide to each guest and anything less than excellent is not acceptable. I have taken note of your valuable feedback and rest assured, it will be used to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again.
Ebone' Alexander
Social Media Coordinator
Holiday Inn Express Downtown Detroit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (563)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

38 - 42 of 563 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2017

I stayed here in late July 2017 while traveling for business.

When I pulled up to the entrance and asked about a self-park option, I was told "You COULD park over there, but there is a good chance your "stuff" (substitute another S word that TripAdvisor won't allow) will be broken into." Not the most professional first impression. Proceeded inside to check in (around 7pm) to an unstaffed desk, only to have a random man (non-employee) tell me that the desk staff member would "be back shortly."

Checked into room, only to find the portion of the security latch on the door had been broken off, rendering the latch useless. The door also had to be kicked to close fully and allow the deadbolt to engage. Clearly, someone had tried to force their way into the room at some point in the past, and the repairs were only partially successful. My room, as well as my two coworkers' rooms (AND the breakfast area), also had fruit flies or fleas flying around inside.

The morning after checking in, I texted the valet stand with my info 20 minutes before leaving for the morning, as directed, so my car would be ready. When I arrived downstairs, my car still wasn't there. It was clear they had missed my message, and after waiting another 10 minutes for them to bring my car up, when the valet driver got out of my car, he strongly smelled of pot smoke. If this had been my personal car and not a rental, I would have been UPSET.

Upon checking out, I heard a desk staff member tell another customer that asked HIM how he was doing (shouldn't the desk staff be asking that question?) that "I'll be doing much better when I get out of here tonight." Again, a bit unprofessional for your front desk staff to seem so annoyed to be at work.

Overall, due to the customer service issues, seemingly sketchy location (multiple warnings posted about safety), and worn rooms, I would avoid this hotel again at all costs.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KY2Auburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnDetroit, Social Media Coordinator at Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Hi KY2Auburn
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Firstly, I would like to apologize that we missed the chance to provide you with a flawless stay. Let me assure you that we take great pride in the service and experience we provide to each guest and anything less than excellent is not acceptable. I have taken note of your valuable comments and rest assured they will be used as a training tool to prevent such unprofessional incidents from reoccurring again. We give the utmost importance to our guest feedback as they help us monitor and improve our quality of service we provide to our guests. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again.
Ebone' Alexander
Social Media Coordinator
Holiday Inn Express Downtown Detroit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017 via mobile

This hotel has fabulous staff a fantastic complimentary breakfast and great location to comerica ball park. It is however in need of a freshen up. The pool liner needs to be replaced, carpets old, doors need to be painted and bathrooms recaulk! But it is an older hotel and to be expected. The beds were very comfortable and felt new and was a fine hotel for what we used it for. Again, the staff were fantastic.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Chrys C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnDetroit, Social Media Coordinator at Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Hi Chrys
Thank you for sharing your feedback. Our staff greatly appreciates your kind remarks. Please know we are in the process of refreshing some of our guest rooms and look to unveil a new guest room experience soon. We appreciate you staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back again.
Ebone' Alexander
Social Media Coordinator
Holiday Inn Express Downtown Detroit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

I would love to give this hotel a 5 star based off of the friendly staff but that's where the too notch ends. It is an older hotel but updated. We were here for a huge concert so delays were expected and the staff handled the crowd well. Our room was ok. One of the curtains was pulled apart but the room was clean. Parking was a nightmare. The valet was so busy and it took forever. In the morning we went down for breakfast but most things were gone and not being refilled. Even these yummy cinnamon rolls were scarce and when they finally brought out more they were cold. Not sure I'd stay here again but for the price compared to other hotels in the area it's ok.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnDetroit, Social Media Coordinator at Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Hi Jennifer
Thank you for staying with us. Our staff takes great pride in knowing that their excellent customer service is making a difference to our guests. Please know that we are in the process of refreshing some of our guest rooms and look forward to unveiling a guest experience soon. We always strive to provide guests with the best service and experience. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back again.
Ebone' Alexander
Social Media Coordinator
Holiday Inn Express Downtown Detroit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

I recently spent four nights here for a major martial arts tournament at the Cobo Center. The hotel is only 2-3 blocks from the Cobo, so it's very convenient for any sort of event at that venue. It's also very easy to access the interstates (I-75 and I-94), Michigan Rt. 10, and the bridge and tunnel to Canada, so it's very easy to get around.

I was especially impressed with the hotel staff. Everyone from the desk clerks to the parking valets to the maids were very friendly and efficient. When I made the reservation, I had requested a king bed plus a rollaway bed so we could fit 3 adults in the room. When I checked in, the clerk said that there might not be enough rollaway beds because so many people from the tournament had requested them. So without hesitation, the clerk upgraded our room (at no additional cost) to a suite with a king bed plus a foldout couch, which turned out to be much nicer and roomier than the room I had originally booked. Thanks!

The valet parking is a bit pricey, but the parking is right on site and the valets are very efficient, so I thought it was worth the price. With the valet service, you can get your car as often as you want (unlike some other hotels I've been to that charge extra for in-and-out privileges).

The free breakfast buffet was very good with at least one egg dish (scrambled or mini omelette), sausage, bacon, pancakes, muffins, cereal, and awesome cinnamon rolls.

The free wifi worked well and there's a very nice indoor pool on the top floor.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnDetroit, Social Media Coordinator at Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

Hi Jim P
We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your wonderful experience at our hotel. We try to make everyone's visit memorable by providing the best comfort, the friendliest service, and the best amenities. We certainly do strive to provide all of our guests with the level of service that you described you received during your stay. We look forward to we welcoming you back the next time you are in downtown Detroit.
Ebone' Alexander
Social Media Coordinator
Holiday Inn Express Downtown Detroit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.5 km away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
0.9 km away
Greektown Casino Hotel
0.7 km away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#10 of 33 in Detroit
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown
0.5 km away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
0.7 km away
Courtyard Detroit Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown

Address: 1020 Washington Blvd, Detroit, MI 48226-2613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Price Range: $210 - $378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Downtown Detroit is a first class hotel that is ideal for travelers who are visiting for either business or leisure purposes. In addition to our finely appointed guest rooms, we offer fully equipped suites with full kitchens for extended stays. Some of our outstanding amenities include a state-of-the-art fitness center, indoor heated pool, 24-hour business center, and complimentary high-speed Internet access. Don't forget to join us for breakfast at our newly updated Express Start Breakfast Bar. We now offer a selection of hot entrees! The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Downtown Detroit also offers valet parking for your convenience at fee of $27.00 per car per night, the lowest priced hotel parking in the downtown area. Located in the heart of downtown Detroit, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is within walking distance of Cobo Convention Center, Joe Louis Arena (Detroit Red Wings) and the new MGM Grand Casino. The hotel is also positioned perfectly near the People Mover, Greektown Casino, Motor City Casino, Detroit Opera House, Fox Theatre, Hard Rock Cafe, Comerica Park (Detroit Tigers), and Ford Field (Detroit Lions). For the busy executive, the hotel is located only 1-2 blocks from Compuware World Headquarters, DTE Energy, and AT&T, just to name a few. The General Motors World Headquarters, famously known as the Renaissance Center, is located less than one mile from the hotel and is open to the public during weekdays for tours and shopping. Visitors can even venture off across the border into Canada by crossing the Ambassador Bridge or the tunnel into Windsor, Canada. For your next visit to Detroit, Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites of Downtown Detroit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown Hotel Detroit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing