We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean and convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown
Ranked #17 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Reviewed 21 August 2017

Friendly staff, good location near downtown for tigers or lions games. good $235 a night rate. Westin across the street is $400 plus! the elevators are a little small and slow. the rooms are clean and nice. the free breakfast was good.

Room Tip: on sunday check out, elevators so full many walked down
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank texastraveler361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnDetroit, Social Media Coordinator at Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at our hotel. We are so delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed the hotel. We always strive to provide our guests with the best possible service and experiences. We truly look forward to welcoming you back again.
Ebone' Alexander
Social Media Coordinator
Holiday Inn Express Downtown Detroit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (564)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

33 - 37 of 564 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

My husband and I checked into our room and within 2 minutes of us putting our stuff down we see something on the ground and there was a MASSIVE cockroach!!!! The room smelled like weed and was not clean whatsoever. I was totally disgusted and quickly grabbed our stuff and headed down to the lobby. We refused to stay here. I even took a picture of the cockroach in my phone to show the staff. It was absolutely disgusting. I'll never stay at a Holiday Inn ever again!! Hard to see the cockroach because it wouldn't zoom in! But I would never recommend staying here!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnDetroit, Social Media Coordinator at Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Hi Kelly
Thank you for sharing your feedback. I would like to truly apologize for this unfortunate experience you have had at our hotel. We have contacted a pest control contractor to immediately rectify this problem. Once again, I would like to apologize that we missed the chance to provide you with a flawless stay. Please know that we take great pride in the service and experience we provide to our guests and anything less than excellent is not acceptable. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

I had business over at the Federal Building and the location was perfect. Even better it is Pet friendly. My husband accompanied me along with our puppy and she enjoyed the stay too. Free valet parking, free breakfast, free wifi, all excellent. In room Keurig coffee maker, comfy beds. Housekeeping brought us extra hypoallergenic pillows. I have a strange allergy to down. They also brought extra towels. The bathroom fixtures were older but in good working order, good water pressure in the shower. Wonderful toiletries from bath and Body works. Probably the quietest hotel I have ever stayed at and my list is very long. Super clean and fresh! Love it when there is no 'hotel smell'. We heard Zero noise except the occasional siren/traffic. We slept like rocks!! Front desk staff super friendly and accommodating. We felt very welcomed upon arrival. Rates are a little steep but for the convenience of the location and the great experience, we will be staying here when we travel to Detroit in the future!!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Branwen73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnDetroit, Social Media Coordinator at Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Hi Branwen73
Thank you for sharing your awesome experience at our hotel. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed all of wonderful amenities that we have to offer. We truly look forward to welcoming you back again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

We checked in on Saturday August 12 for one nite. Arrived at 230 for a 3pm checkin. Room wasn't ready and could not check in early. Since there was a Tiger's game that evening, hotel was extremely busy. Got back in line at 250 and successfully received room keys. Room 1423 was clean. No complaints. Dropped off bags in room and headed back down and the checkin line extended out the door and down the sidewalk. Hotel is in a great location. Easy walk to Comerica Park. Enjoyed post game snack and beverages at bar located adjacent to hotel. Would return.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank 265cindees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnDetroit, Social Media Coordinator at Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Hi 265cindees
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We are so pleased to hear you had a pleasant stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Ebone' Alexander
Social Media Coordinator
Holiday Inn Express Downtown Detroit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

Uncouth language. It took over 45 minutes to check in. During this time there was foul language flying between disgruntled guests and the staff. Although it was after the posted check in time, there were dozens of guests ahead of us in line and very few rooms were clean and ready. Staff even admitted that more rooms had been reserved than were even available. After a while the staff stopped helping and everyone was just cell phone videoing everyone else. Terrible.

Uncouth rooms. There was a fine layer of black powdery / fuzzy stuff over most of the sheets on one of the beds. I quickly brushed it off before my wife saw it. In the bathroom, there was mildew between the shower panels and around many aspects of the toilet. There was a hunk of sink cracked away and gone. The air conditioner put off 70 decibels of sound across the room.

We were here for a Detroit Tigers game. If there had been any available time between when we finally checked in and when we had to leave for the game I certainly would have requested additional cleaning. Had we not got back to the hotel so late with our school-age children I would have tried to find alternative accommodations.

Uncouth prices. With tax this terrible place will cost me over $250 for one night.

As it is, the Tigers won an exciting game. My family had fun. Everyone fell fast asleep. We never have to come back here again. I'd advise that you not either.

Goodnight.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank johncalvinwisdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnDetroit, Social Media Coordinator at Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Hi Johncalvinwisdom
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I would like to truly apologize for the inconveniences that occurred during your stay with us. Please know that we will use your feedback as a training tool to prevent situations like this from occurring again. I can assure you that our staff takes great pride in the service and experience we provide to each guest and anything less than excellent is not acceptable. Once again I would like to apologize that we missed the chance to provide you with a flawless stay. We value your feedback as it will help us improve our quality of service. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again.
Ebone' Alexander
Social Media Coordinator
Holiday Inn Express Downtown Detroit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.5 km away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
0.7 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown
0.9 km away
Greektown Casino Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Courtyard Detroit Downtown
0.5 km away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
0.3 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown

Address: 1020 Washington Blvd, Detroit, MI 48226-2613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Price Range: $197 - $481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Downtown Detroit is a first class hotel that is ideal for travelers who are visiting for either business or leisure purposes. In addition to our finely appointed guest rooms, we offer fully equipped suites with full kitchens for extended stays. Some of our outstanding amenities include a state-of-the-art fitness center, indoor heated pool, 24-hour business center, and complimentary high-speed Internet access. Don't forget to join us for breakfast at our newly updated Express Start Breakfast Bar. We now offer a selection of hot entrees! The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Downtown Detroit also offers valet parking for your convenience at fee of $27.00 per car per night, the lowest priced hotel parking in the downtown area. Located in the heart of downtown Detroit, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is within walking distance of Cobo Convention Center, Joe Louis Arena (Detroit Red Wings) and the new MGM Grand Casino. The hotel is also positioned perfectly near the People Mover, Greektown Casino, Motor City Casino, Detroit Opera House, Fox Theatre, Hard Rock Cafe, Comerica Park (Detroit Tigers), and Ford Field (Detroit Lions). For the busy executive, the hotel is located only 1-2 blocks from Compuware World Headquarters, DTE Energy, and AT&T, just to name a few. The General Motors World Headquarters, famously known as the Renaissance Center, is located less than one mile from the hotel and is open to the public during weekdays for tours and shopping. Visitors can even venture off across the border into Canada by crossing the Ambassador Bridge or the tunnel into Windsor, Canada. For your next visit to Detroit, Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites of Downtown Detroit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown Hotel Detroit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing