We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel if you have to be in Detroit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown
Ranked #17 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Reviewed 31 August 2017

Staff friendly, room OK, not worth the $200+ paid, breakfast and room are typical HIExpress, bland and filling with all the wrong calories. Breakfast starts at stated time, NO earlier, period. So if you have an early morning doings, you'll miss your breakfast. Which might be a blessing for those of us with no willpower. Ha! Coffee is always available. Remember the price you are quoted does not include the $27 valet parking per night.
Street noise at night is incredibly loud, especially Friday and Saturday nights, and well into the morning. Loud mufflers will keep you awake, but it is downtown, so that is to be expected.
Neighborhood is terrible, actually most of downtown Detroit is terrible. There is never a feeling of being safe when walking around. I escaped a probably confrontation by my training from NY. "Never acknowledge a stranger speaking/calling to you, be ready to attack ferociously if hands are laid on you, always be situation-ally aware of your surroundings. Words for the prepared." This has nothing to do with the hotel, just the surroundings if you walk.
Abandoned high rises surround the hotel, not hotel's fault, but be aware of the type of citizens that accumulate there.

Room Tip: Away from street which might be near impossible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stillLearnin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnDetroit, Social Media Coordinator at Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Thank you for sharing your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (565)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

29 - 33 of 565 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

We stage 4 nights at the Holiday Inn and from the beginning we had a challenging time. After calling to confirm that we would have a crib in our room before we left for our trip, we arrived at our room and had no crib for our baby. The room smelled and the whole hotel seems run down. The staff was friendly and there was a free breakfast but our overall experience was negative.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank septach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnDetroit, Social Media Coordinator at Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Hi Septach
Thank you for sharing your feedback. I would like to apologize for the experience you had at our hotel. Please know that we take great pride in the service and experiences we provide to our guests anything less than excellent is not acceptable. We are in the process of refreshing some of our guest rooms and look to unveil a new guest room experience soon. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again.
Ebone' Alexander
Social Media Coordinator
Holiday Inn Express Downtown Detroit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017

Good central location to Comerica Park. People mover cheap way to get to games, restaurants and Casinos. Clean comfortable room. Plenty for breakfast choices. Only concern was waiting for valet car service upon check out.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hubrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnDetroit, Social Media Coordinator at Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Hi Hubrider
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We are so pleased to hear that you found our location to be perfect for your visit to downtown Detroit. We truly appreciate your kind remarks and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

We checked in on the 17th of August to attend a Baseball and Football game over the weekend with our family. After leaving the hotel the day of the 18th and returning after dinner, we notified the desk that our room had not been cleaned; no problem they said! We'll send someone up immediately. We left and went to the ballfield. Returning home that night to find that the room had never been cleaned - we returned to the desk only to be told that there was no way it could have been cleaned the first time we complained because the housekeeping had already left for the day (we were lied to). The following day we went to the football game. When we returned from a night out, we stopped at the desk to ask about the "compensation" we had been told we'd receive for the lack of cleaning and to extend our stay by an additional day. We were told they were working the compensation and that we could NOT extend our stay that evening because the original reservation was through a 3rd party - "could we just make a reservation for the room directly from you now?", NO. Asked to speak to a manager - we were told we couldn't, that they were on a phone call with Corporate. "At 2 am??". Yes, and we couldn't wait because they would be a while. (Lie number 2). We said "We'll wait". 5 minutes later a young gentleman comes out, states he is the manager and listens to our complaint. ZERO RESULTS. No new reservation, no compensation, come back tomorrow and speak to someone else. He gave us the name of the woman to talk to.. (Lie number 3 about to be told). We return the following day only to be told that woman was not scheduled to work that day. Zero compensation still however we were able to make our reservation. TOTAL LACK OF CUSTOMER SERVICE.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnDetroit, Social Media Coordinator at Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Hi Judy F
Thank you for sharing your feedback. I would like to truly apologize for the experience you had at our hotel. Please know that this was an unusual situation and that we always strive to provide our guest with the best possible service and experiences. Please contact our General Manager at 313-887-7000 ext 3600. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again.
Ebone' Alexander
Social Media Coordinator
Holiday Inn Express Downtown Detroit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

My wife and I stayed here Saturday night 8-19, Hotel was very busy and not allowed to check in until after 3 as posted. We went to a Tigers game and returned to check in after the game. We were able to check in quickly and went to our room. When entering the room found it to be about 60 degrees in it, Only a sheet on the bed and no bedspread or comforter, the fridge had some white and chocolate milk left behind from last guest, The shower had no curtain, Drywall cracks in many areas, Broke switch plate cover in the bathroom, No exhaust fan in the bathroom, TV stand looked like it came out of a garage sale years ago (All beat up). We went out for dinner and stopped by the front desk to let them know of our issues, They assured us they would have someone take care of this. When we arrived it was very late as we were trying to enjoy the town. Nothing was addressed. Go Figure!! The free breakfast was very bland and hotel room for feeding was not near large enough to accommodate the amount of guest it has on busy days. For paying over 250.00 per night we will not be returning here for for a room of this quality. Time to put some money back into this old place before nobody returns.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Twelvesev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnDetroit, Social Media Coordinator at Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Hi Twelvesev
Thank you for staying with us. I would like to apologize for this unfortunate experience you had at our hotel. I can assure you that we take great pride in the service and experience we provide to each guest and anything less than excellent is not acceptable. Management as taken note of your comments and they will be used to monitor our quality of service and to prevent any reoccurrences of this situation. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again.
Ebone' Alexander
Social Media Coordinator
Holiday Inn Express Downtown Detroit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.5 km away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
0.7 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown
0.9 km away
Greektown Casino Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Courtyard Detroit Downtown
0.5 km away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
0.3 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown

Address: 1020 Washington Blvd, Detroit, MI 48226-2613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Price Range: $193 - $478 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Downtown Detroit is a first class hotel that is ideal for travelers who are visiting for either business or leisure purposes. In addition to our finely appointed guest rooms, we offer fully equipped suites with full kitchens for extended stays. Some of our outstanding amenities include a state-of-the-art fitness center, indoor heated pool, 24-hour business center, and complimentary high-speed Internet access. Don't forget to join us for breakfast at our newly updated Express Start Breakfast Bar. We now offer a selection of hot entrees! The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Downtown Detroit also offers valet parking for your convenience at fee of $27.00 per car per night, the lowest priced hotel parking in the downtown area. Located in the heart of downtown Detroit, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is within walking distance of Cobo Convention Center, Joe Louis Arena (Detroit Red Wings) and the new MGM Grand Casino. The hotel is also positioned perfectly near the People Mover, Greektown Casino, Motor City Casino, Detroit Opera House, Fox Theatre, Hard Rock Cafe, Comerica Park (Detroit Tigers), and Ford Field (Detroit Lions). For the busy executive, the hotel is located only 1-2 blocks from Compuware World Headquarters, DTE Energy, and AT&T, just to name a few. The General Motors World Headquarters, famously known as the Renaissance Center, is located less than one mile from the hotel and is open to the public during weekdays for tours and shopping. Visitors can even venture off across the border into Canada by crossing the Ambassador Bridge or the tunnel into Windsor, Canada. For your next visit to Detroit, Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites of Downtown Detroit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown Hotel Detroit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing