We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (614)
Filter reviews
615 results
Traveller rating
148
208
141
62
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
148
208
141
62
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviews valet parking people mover big city comerica park tigers game cobo center free breakfast breakfast staff ford field valet service yogurt clean hotel wings hie downtown concert marathon
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 615 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

We stage 4 nights at the Holiday Inn and from the beginning we had a challenging time. After calling to confirm that we would have a crib in our room before we left for our trip, we arrived at our room and had no crib for our baby. The room smelled and the whole hotel seems run down. The staff was friendly and there was a free breakfast but our overall experience was negative.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank septach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnDetroit, Social Media Coordinator at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Detroit Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Hi Septach
Thank you for sharing your feedback. I would like to apologize for the experience you had at our hotel. Please know that we take great pride in the service and experiences we provide to our guests anything less than excellent is not acceptable. We are in the process of refreshing some of our guest rooms and look to unveil a new guest room experience soon. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again.
Ebone' Alexander
Social Media Coordinator
Holiday Inn Express Downtown Detroit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017

Good central location to Comerica Park. People mover cheap way to get to games, restaurants and Casinos. Clean comfortable room. Plenty for breakfast choices. Only concern was waiting for valet car service upon check out.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hubrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnDetroit, Social Media Coordinator at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Detroit Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Hi Hubrider
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We are so pleased to hear that you found our location to be perfect for your visit to downtown Detroit. We truly appreciate your kind remarks and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

We checked in on the 17th of August to attend a Baseball and Football game over the weekend with our family. After leaving the hotel the day of the 18th and returning after dinner, we notified the desk that our room had not been cleaned; no problem they said! We'll send someone up immediately. We left and went to the ballfield. Returning home that night to find that the room had never been cleaned - we returned to the desk only to be told that there was no way it could have been cleaned the first time we complained because the housekeeping had already left for the day (we were lied to). The following day we went to the football game. When we returned from a night out, we stopped at the desk to ask about the "compensation" we had been told we'd receive for the lack of cleaning and to extend our stay by an additional day. We were told they were working the compensation and that we could NOT extend our stay that evening because the original reservation was through a 3rd party - "could we just make a reservation for the room directly from you now?", NO. Asked to speak to a manager - we were told we couldn't, that they were on a phone call with Corporate. "At 2 am??". Yes, and we couldn't wait because they would be a while. (Lie number 2). We said "We'll wait". 5 minutes later a young gentleman comes out, states he is the manager and listens to our complaint. ZERO RESULTS. No new reservation, no compensation, come back tomorrow and speak to someone else. He gave us the name of the woman to talk to.. (Lie number 3 about to be told). We return the following day only to be told that woman was not scheduled to work that day. Zero compensation still however we were able to make our reservation. TOTAL LACK OF CUSTOMER SERVICE.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnDetroit, Social Media Coordinator at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Detroit Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Hi Judy F
Thank you for sharing your feedback. I would like to truly apologize for the experience you had at our hotel. Please know that this was an unusual situation and that we always strive to provide our guest with the best possible service and experiences. Please contact our General Manager at 313-887-7000 ext 3600. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again.
Ebone' Alexander
Social Media Coordinator
Holiday Inn Express Downtown Detroit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

My wife and I stayed here Saturday night 8-19, Hotel was very busy and not allowed to check in until after 3 as posted. We went to a Tigers game and returned to check in after the game. We were able to check in quickly and went to our room. When entering the room found it to be about 60 degrees in it, Only a sheet on the bed and no bedspread or comforter, the fridge had some white and chocolate milk left behind from last guest, The shower had no curtain, Drywall cracks in many areas, Broke switch plate cover in the bathroom, No exhaust fan in the bathroom, TV stand looked like it came out of a garage sale years ago (All beat up). We went out for dinner and stopped by the front desk to let them know of our issues, They assured us they would have someone take care of this. When we arrived it was very late as we were trying to enjoy the town. Nothing was addressed. Go Figure!! The free breakfast was very bland and hotel room for feeding was not near large enough to accommodate the amount of guest it has on busy days. For paying over 250.00 per night we will not be returning here for for a room of this quality. Time to put some money back into this old place before nobody returns.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Twelvesev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnDetroit, Social Media Coordinator at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Detroit Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Hi Twelvesev
Thank you for staying with us. I would like to apologize for this unfortunate experience you had at our hotel. I can assure you that we take great pride in the service and experience we provide to each guest and anything less than excellent is not acceptable. Management as taken note of your comments and they will be used to monitor our quality of service and to prevent any reoccurrences of this situation. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again.
Ebone' Alexander
Social Media Coordinator
Holiday Inn Express Downtown Detroit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

Friendly staff, good location near downtown for tigers or lions games. good $235 a night rate. Westin across the street is $400 plus! the elevators are a little small and slow. the rooms are clean and nice. the free breakfast was good.

Room Tip: on sunday check out, elevators so full many walked down
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank texastraveler361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnDetroit, Social Media Coordinator at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Detroit Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at our hotel. We are so delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed the hotel. We always strive to provide our guests with the best possible service and experiences. We truly look forward to welcoming you back again.
Ebone' Alexander
Social Media Coordinator
Holiday Inn Express Downtown Detroit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews