We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (300)
Filter reviews
300 results
Traveller rating
94
68
48
42
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
94
68
48
42
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool and hot tub room was clean waffles convenient location open hours would stay here again breakfast items night minimum off the highway english muffin most places free breakfast a nice place to stay labor day we've stayed douglas saugatuck brandon
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 300 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

When you arrive at this roadside hotel, it looks promising. The exterior looks like it has been renovated lately and the lobby area is nice with comfy chairs and fireplace. Our room, on the other hand, was tired and dated. The furniture had seen better days but was functional. We did need to have our window open during our stay to keep the air fresh and eliminate the slight mildew smell.

Pluses here was the housekeeping staff, who kept the room very tidy. We also took advantage of the pool and sauna.

We've stayed in several places in Saugatuck over the years and would probably opt for another property on our next trip.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank casualcharacter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon M, Guest Relations Manager at AmericInn by Wyndham Douglas/Saugatuck, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear casualcharacter,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. While it would seem that you had been well taken care of by our team we regret that you had not been fully satisfied with your visit. Please know that we appreciate feedback and will use it toward improving our services and facilities. Should you visit us again I am confident it will be a visit to remember.

Warmest regards,

Brandon M.
Guest Relations Manager
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck / Douglas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

All staff were wonderful and the breakfast area and food selection was nice. If you require a wheelchair handicap accessible room, call the hotel directly to inquire about the room. AmericInn hotels do not have elevators but even a first floor room may not be adequate. The 'roll in' shower in our room was very small and the room had a non-accessable Jacuzzi we had to pay an additional amount.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
Thank FlamingoNut1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon M, Guest Relations Manager at AmericInn by Wyndham Douglas/Saugatuck, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear FlamingoNut1961,

I regret to see that while it appears you had received excellent service from our staff you had not been fully satisfied by some of our amenities. We have taken note of your feedback and will work toward better serving you in the future. Once again, thank you for your review and for being our guest. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warmest regards,

Brandon M.
Guest Relations Manager
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck / Douglas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

I wasnt sure if i would find a room on labor day friday, but i got lucky. The clerk was nice and knowledgeable and made the check in easy. The room was well appointed and very comfortable. The pool was open 24 hours, which was a nice feature considering the long drive i was on. The breafast was adequate but the coffeec was cold. I would stay here again.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon M, Guest Relations Manager at AmericInn by Wyndham Douglas/Saugatuck, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear Daniel H,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with the TripAdivsor community. We could not be happier to see that you enjoyed your visit and had taken full advantage of our 24-hour heated indoor pool, Jacuzzi, and sauna. They are great to have when wanting to relax the night away. It was our pleasure to welcome you as our guest and we look forward to seeing you back soon.

Warmest regards,

Brandon M.
Guest Relations Manager
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck / Douglas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017

I lived in saugatuck/douglas , mi for years .. I am back visiting from SF and decided to stay at this hotel since my family would come and visit and stay here with out any problems. This was disgusting hair in shower used soap, TP not replaced and barely enough with no extra. Left at 9 am returned at 4 pm and room not cleaned or refreshed even .... Hot tub broke the last two times was here !! Nothing good to say Don't stay here .... I never will again

Room tip: DOnt stay here stay any where else it would be better
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon M, Guest Relations Manager at AmericInn by Wyndham Douglas/Saugatuck, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear Tom W,

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the variety of issues you had described during from your stay. I can admit it would appear we had certainly failed you in this instance. Should you have time I would look forward to speaking with you in greater detail so that we may make it right. I can be contacted direct at 847-464-8501. I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Warmest regards,

Brandon M.
Guest Relations Manager
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck / Douglas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

Good hotel stay, clean room, good breakfast. We had the king bed with Jacuzzi in the room, which was wonderful. A little pricey, but it was good. Nice area with good recommendations. Also friendly staff!

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
Thank 218alyssam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon M, Guest Relations Manager at AmericInn by Wyndham Douglas/Saugatuck, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Dear 218alyssam,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and choosing to be our guest. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Warmest regards,

Brandon M.
Guest Relations Manager
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck / Douglas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews