We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique--in a good way!”
Review of Birchwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Birchwood Inn
Reviewed 10 August 2017

The place was built in the 50's, and not much has changed since, pink tiled bathroom, paneled walls, etc. My partner didn't much care for the ambiance, but I thought it funky and neat. Service very friendly and helpful, the rate was great, especially during high season in the Petoskey area. Slightly out of the way, but by just a couple of minutes.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rikku00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

Visiting my number one son at his summer job in Harbor Springs, we needed a place to stay for the weekend. There was some artsy music festival going on so rooms where at a premium. Add to the search we needed pet friendly for our favorite mutt. Haven driven by the Birchwood Inn in the past and remembered it looked nice from the road. So I called and booked a family suite. Two queen beds and a fold out couch.

The hotel built in 1959 ish is well maintained. There is a up north charm to the place that transcends some of the dated fixtures in the room. The lobby is pure Michigan, the rooms have a clean sheets and towels and nice furniture.

There was a slight musty smell but nothing terrible and like the previous review I read there was an issue with water temps in the shower. The girls complained but I did not notice it.

We knew this was not a JW Marriott so we just rolled with it. From the quality of the wood windows I'll bet this was one of the nicest hotels in the area for many years!!!
Breakfast was a lite continental perfect for getting started. There are so many little shops in town to grab breakfast also!

The pool was clean and deep. Just wish hotels could still have
diving boards!

There was a fire pit at night; several of the guests sat around singing artsy, folksy songs.......it was folksy! They were original songs! I knew some John Denver songs but kept that to myself. No need to scare strangers.


I'd stay here again if in the area!


Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Mike d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

Great location! and pet friendly! Close to Harbor Springs and Petosky. We did plenty of day rides (Motorcycle). The house staff was outstanding!! So nice and accommodating!! Not a 5 star lodging, but the hospitality was wonderful!! Quite and comfortable! Plenty of parking for trailers. If you're looking for a place for your bike, great roads, and friendly people, this is your place!!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Cochisedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017 via mobile

We've stayed here several times over the last couple of years on motorcycle trips. Every time we return something's been improved. They're working very hard to bring back that essence of things remembered. Pleasant, quiet, comfortable and a simple yet elegant location to relax. For me, it's reminiscent of my childhood to come back here...think of "dirty dancing" in the Catskills...
Excellent service, kind people...close enough to town for delivery and my go to for some serious rest! Enjoy!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

Older place, but full of life. Great location. Room, grounds and pool were all clean and well maintained. Great spot to stay if you are visiting the area. M-119 is such a beautiful drive. Nice continental breakfast and staff were friendly. Would definitely stay here again, and it is quite affordable!

Room Tip: Rooms around the back are a little more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank shorning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harbor Springs
6.3 km away
Colonial Inn
Colonial Inn
#3 of 3 in Harbor Springs
126 reviews
10 km away
AmericInn Petoskey
AmericInn Petoskey
#3 of 15 in Petoskey
688 reviews
11.9 km away
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
#6 of 15 in Petoskey
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 km away
Charlevoix Inn & Suites
Charlevoix Inn & Suites
#1 of 9 in Charlevoix
824 reviews
10.8 km away
Stafford's Perry Hotel
Stafford's Perry Hotel
#2 of 15 in Petoskey
823 reviews
11 km away
The Apple Tree Inn
The Apple Tree Inn
#5 of 15 in Petoskey
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birchwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchwood Inn

Address: 7291 S Lake Shore Dr, Harbor Springs, MI 49740-8925
Region: United States > Michigan > Emmet County > Harbor Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Harbor Springs
Price Range: $114 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Birchwood Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close your eyes and picture a place to relax at in Northern Michigan. Cozy chairs, field stone fireplace, tranquil courtyard. A place with history, wood beams, and lodge decor. Throw in warm hospitality that comes naturally from a seasoned staff and you will find yourself at Birchwood Inn. Built in the early sixties as a corporate retreat for New Era Potato Chips, Birchwood Inn has been carefully preserved by the Innkeeper with the lodge aura intended by the builders. We welcome individual travelers and group gatherings alike. Birchwood Inn is perfect for family reunions, destination weddings, sporting groups, seminars, and of course corporate retreats. The philosophy of the original builder, comfortable surroundings fosters friendships, is deeply held by the Innkeeper of today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Birchwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birchwood Hotel Harbor Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing