We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Magnuson Franklin Square Inn
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Houghton
Reviewed 21 March 2016

The staff is A+ and really helpful, but the hotel and furnishings are a little tired and dated. Breakfast and drink coupons were a little bit of a hoax. The hotel management didn't plan accordingly for Preview Weekend at Michigan Tech; they were understaffed and struggling to handle the crowd in the bar and restaurant. The "drink coupons" got us a couple of bar-brand watered down drinks. Parking on a big weekend is very challenging. Hotel choices are limited in Houghton, so keeping that in mind we might end up here again.

Room Tip: request a room on the river side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wrightbythesand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2016

Rooms are good sized, beds good, free breakfast at restaurant was fine. Parking was a little tight on a Saturday night.

Get a room that faces Portage Lake/Canal on the north side of the hotel: very nice view of the Isle Royale Voyager III ship, Portage Lake, the old quaint Quincy Mine Smelter, and Mont Ripley Ski Area. Really quiet - no problems with hearing beeping front end loaders moving snow around at night. On the weekend we were there the price was pretty reasonable for Houghton- around 110 a night. You can walk everywhere from here - good restaurants like Suomi Bakery and Joey's, Keweenaw Brewing Company brew pub. Michigan Tech is fairly close as well. Much better location than staying near the Walmart on M26 where you have to drive to everything.

Room Tip: Get a room on the north side and one of the upper floors for a very classic Copper Country scene.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T-RexFromTheVille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2016

The Magnuson (sorry...I still call it the Best Western) is always our hotel of choice when visiting Houghton. The staff is professional and efficient, the rooms are always clean and well maintained, and the restaurant/bar is a nice option. I appreciate the fact that the free breakfast isn't in a cramped closet of a room in some extra space near the front desk as most hotels, but it is actually in the beautiful restaurant upstairs overlooking the Portage. Sure, sometimes the service during high volume weeks isn't spot on...but you can't beat the location and the view. Carry on, Magnuson and we will see you soon.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank jsc0tt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2016

I was expecting this place to be more expensive because of the location, but it was under $100 a night. We got 2 drink tickets to use in the upstairs bar and breakfast coupons as well. Good value. Dog friendly. Will stay here again. The gal at the front desk was awesome! Make sure you show up on time for breakfast. We were 2 minutes late and got such dirty looks from the staff that we decided to eat breakfast somewhere else, even though they begrudgingly said, if we ordered really fast, they would let us eat. Yes, we should have been there before breakfast was over, but c'mon. You could have politely turned us away.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmandaONeill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2015

I generally expect a little less out of a downtown hotel. They can charge a premium for the location, and typically aren't as motivated to keep the hotel renovated and modern. So I booked the Magnuson Franklin Square Inn with this in mind. As I suspected, this hotel is tired and in bad need of a major renovation. The lobby, corridors, and room were all dated and worn. The furniture in my room was frayed, scuffed, and likely hadn’t moved in 25 years. I’m pretty sure the alarm clock was made in the 80s, vintage wood grain and all. To top it off, the bed was quite uncomfortable and I couldn’t get the heater dialed in… it was basically off or blast furnace.

So why the 3 stars then?? Despite showing its age, the room was very clean, especially the bathroom. The front desk staff was friendly, and quick. And the location alone is worth 1 of those stars. There are great views of the river and ski hill on the North side. You can easily walk to a number of restaurants and bars. It certainly makes the stay in Houghton more enjoyable then staying outside of town. There is also a nice restaurant and bar on the top floor. They served a tasty breakfast. The mid-winter price was very reasonable. With a renovation though, this could easily be a 5 star rated hotel and they could probably charge $25-$50 more a night. It is nice to have this option downtown though.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank GOBLUE80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Houghton
2.3 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Houghton
0.5 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 7 in Houghton
41 reviews
15.7 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Calumet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Ramada Hancock Waterfront
39.6 km away
Baraga Lakeside Inn
Baraga Lakeside Inn
#1 of 4 in Baraga
105 reviews
2.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Franklin Square Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Franklin Square Inn

Address: 820 Shelden Ave, Houghton, MI 49931-1872
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Houghton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Houghton
Price Range: $168 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Magnuson Franklin Square Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the gateway to the beautiful Keweenaw Peninsula, the Franklin Square Inn is the only full-service hotel and conference facility serving the city of Houghton. Located in the historic downtown district near Michigan Technological University and just minutes from Finlandia University and Portage Hospital, the Franklin Square Inn offers 104 well-appointed guest rooms and deluxe suites with friendly, professional service. Even our casual dining from the 7th floor Shelden Grill and Franklin Square Tap are sure to please. Outdoor enthusiasts will enjoy the beautiful fall colors on the Hancock hillside and the convenient access to recreational and snowmobile trails just outside their door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Magnuson Franklin Square Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franklin Square Hotel Houghton
Best Western Houghton
Houghton Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing