We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$143
US$134
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$130/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Super 8 by Wyndham Houghton(Houghton)(Great Value!)
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Magnuson Hotel Copper Crown(Hancock)(Great Value!)
US$104
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
AmericInn by Wyndham Calumet(Calumet)(Great Value!)
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (123)
Filter reviews
123 results
Traveller rating
36
44
29
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
36
44
29
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstop floorthe riverbreakfast couponsrestaurant upstairsin townlocated downtownwithin walking distanceroom was cleannice viewnice surpriselift bridgeexcellent breakfastchain hotelsacross the bridgeadjoining roomstwo nightsquiche
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 123 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2017

I was in town to do some work for the Park Service and they had recommended I stay here as it is next door and offers (supposedly) government rates within per diem. I booked a room on their website at the gov't rate, which they quoted as $121+/nt. I learned after my stay that the rate I paid was $30+/nt over per diem and that had I requested a "city view" room, I could have received that lower (appropriate) cost. The website makes no mention of choice of rooms or rates, and their deception cost me >$60 out-of-pocket. I'm very unhappy with this hotel, its deception, and its unwillingness to make amends.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary L, Owner at Magnuson Franklin Square Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Andrew, we want to clarify that this is not "deception," you simply did not request the correct room to get the discounted rate. We apologize for this confusion but we would have been happy to explain this to you, as we eventually did. After your stay, we charged you simply for the room you stayed in at the rate you booked it at. We understand how you could be frustrated for overlooking a discount you missed out on, but that is not our fault. We are not sure what more we could have done in this situation. -The Franklin Square Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

We were in town for the fall colors (alas, too early) and spent an evening at this hotel. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. The Bonfire Restaurant and bar on the top floor exceeded my expectations; very fashionable and has a beautiful view (day and night) of the river and Hancock. Included in the room price were drink and breakfast coupons; a nice surprise. Very friendly service from all staff. A fun night!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank HMC115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary L, Owner at Magnuson Franklin Square Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Thank you! So glad you had such a wonderful stay at our place. Glad you loved the view from the restaurant and our friendly staff. We hope you'll come stay with us again -- we should see those fall colors soon!

Best,
The Franklin Square Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

Very outdated rooms, but clean. Excellent proximity to MTU and downtown. We were in town for the MTU open house for prospective students. We had breakfast in the restaurant. Food was average; view was spectacular! Good value.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank millertravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary L, Owner at Magnuson Franklin Square Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Thank you for your feedback! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We want you to know that we are currently installing granite counter tops and new fixtures in all the rooms! We hope you'll stay with us next time you are in town.

Best,
The Franklin Square Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

Houghton is bustling waterfront college town...with lots of history. Pet friendly options are limited downtown...this hotel is friendly. We had a nice view from a 5th floor room. Don't usually like hotels where an elevator is involved but his worked fine. Biggest complaint was there is little grass area...and no place whatsoever for guests to sit outside. Room was nice...though dated. Nice enough restaurant/bar on 7th floor and complimentary cocktail and breakfast added to enjoyable stay. Very friendly staff that were very accommodating.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank RobertSL1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary L, Owner at Magnuson Franklin Square Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Thank you, Robert! Glad you had such a great stay at our place! We appreciate your feedback and want you to know that we are currently installing granite counter tops and new fixtures in all the rooms! Happy you enjoyed your meal and that our staff was accommodating! Hope you'll stay with us again soon.

best,
The Franklin Square Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

Perhaps a little dated in design, but clean, convenient and very friendly. Make sure to grab at least a drink at the restaurant on the top floor for the nice view. Tech's campus is easily reached on foot from this location.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Timothy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary L, Owner at Magnuson Franklin Square Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Thank you, Timothy! So glad you loved your stay and enjoyed the restaurant as well! We hope you'll come stay with us in the future and check out the updates we are making to our accommodations!

Best,
The Franklin Square Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews