We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Lake View Hotel(Mackinac Island)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$323
US$313
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Harbour View Inn(Mackinac Island)
US$229
US$222
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Mission Point(Mackinac Island)
US$289
US$280
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Island House Hotel(Mackinac Island)
US$352
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa(Mackinac Island)
Book now, pay at stay
US$340
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
Metivier Inn(Mackinac Island)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Murray Hotel(Mackinac Island)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (606)
Filter reviews
606 results
Traveller rating
390
131
39
33
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
390
131
39
33
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssummer housemackinac bridgesunset rockmanor housebeautiful mansionstone cliffmain mansionback porchwoods restaurantcarriage rideoff the beaten pathdowntown areahorse drawn taxiaway from the hustle and bustleper personour honeymoonrented bikes
Filter
Updating list...
508 - 513 of 606 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Stayed in June, 2012. Beautiful setting and a choice of older, quaint rooms or very new rooms with balcony with table and chairs, fridge, dishes, microwave and very very clean! Food in the restaurant was pretty good but the staff were amazing. You could rent bikes at the Inn or they would call for a horse drawn carriage to take you to town. Was within walking distance down a dirt road from the airport. Seemed like we were in the middle of nowhere but we could see part of the bridge from our room. Have reflected about this place many times since staying there. We have never paid that much for a hotel room so it will probably be a little while before we do that again. It was a very unique experience.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FirstvisittoFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

If you want seclusion, your all set. We were there for a wedding. No where to go for a drink except their tiny bar. And that closes at 10 p.m. and then off to bed you have to go, unless you want to take a carriage ride downtown. Bartender made our stay FUN!! for the short time he could.
Manor rooms are more than a step back in time, its like staying in Aunt Clara's closet! If you want anything resort feeling you will pay for it.
I wouldn't go back, its too far from the downtown area and has NOTHING around it.........

Room Tip: Stay in the newer sections!!!
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whatever017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I LOVED our stay at the Stonecliffe! I really wanted to stay in the old mansion/castle, but found myself outnumbered by my husband and kids (they wanted air and a television), so we stayed in the more modern summer house. The grounds and view of the bridge was fantastic and if you venture out the back lawn, down a little trail, you will find yourself on a beautiful bluff to watch the sunset in the evening. Breakfast in the main house everyday was very good and you could eat inside or out.

Pros with kids - Swimming pool and large lawn for them to run and burn off energy.

Cons with kids - LONG journey into town, so trips often had to be planned in advance - you weren't just going to pick up "evening" snacks quick. The trip into town wasn't bad (downhill), it was the return that left you exhausted. My 9-year old walked his bike up the hill...

Overall, it was a great stay and an enjoyable trip. I will definitely be back, but after touring the main house, I will stay there instead (and maybe leave the kids at home).

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christibish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

My husband and I just returned from Stonecliffe where we received excellent service from the moment we arrived until the moment we left. Everyone was very helpful and seemed to genuinely care that our needs were being met. We stayed in a room on the 2nd floor of the manor house which had a pleasantly old-fashioned feel to it, including the claw foot bathtub in the bathroom. (There was also a separate shower.) Our room overlooked the expansive front lawn and it was wonderful to hear the clip-clop of horses' hooves as the horse-drawn taxi arrived at various times during the day. The view from the portico is breathtaking and we enjoyed appetizers and drinks there while relaxing and taking in the view. The breakfast was delicious and since we had perfect weather, we were able to enjoy it on the patio with a great view of the water. The manor house is old and charming and off the beaten path, so if you are looking for something brand new or in the heart of town, this is not the place for you. If, on the other hand, you enjoy getting away from the crowds downtown, this is a wonderful place to stay. We have stayed in many locations on Mackinac Island but now plan to stay exclusively at Stonecliffe.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmschaffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

if you are looking for a beautiful room to live in with an exquisite view.the inn at stone cliff is the place to be.. our room the wood castle was very large and beautiful with a luxurious bathroom :)
the closet was large too...the only drawback is no airconditioning :( ...but that is what will give you the real old world charm... the buffet breakfast has really good breakfast options and the baked goods are amazing..loved the breakfast..the views from the hotel are to die for..no wonder so many people want to get married there...there was a marriage party there when we went..but it wasn't noisy at all...the walk from the inn to the market street is pretty good...you get to see a lots of flora and fauna on the way and if lucky you might catch glimpses of little bunny rabbits hoping along across the road... the hotel provides pretty good luggage service too..we checked out at 11 am and went over to the market but our luggage was sent over straight to the ferry services and we were able to pick up our luggage at the ferry docks in mackinaw city :)) ..the beauty os this place is ..each room is different from the other..

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nkam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews