We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historical Experience Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Inn at Stonecliffe
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 November 2017

The Inn at Stonecliffe is a twenty-minute carriage ride from the exciting, but busy downtown Mackinac Island. It was the perfect distance to experience the splendor of turn-of-the-century architecture and the privilege to stay in a large guest room within the historic Stonecliffe Mansion, decorated with the elegance of period furniture. Breakfast was provided on the patio, overlooking the well-manicured multi-acre yard with the magnificent Mackinac Bridge in the background. The Inn at Stonecliffe was able to capture all the thrills of Mackinac Island and give it back at a personal level.

Room Tip: Two buildings. Stay in the Mansion for the best experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnhY1816TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (539)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 539 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2017

Make sure you specify your room. Do not get stuck with a small room when you can get a larger room for the same price. We were placed in a very small room and my sister in law had a room further down the hall that was huge. I was extremely disappointed that we paid the same amount for it. I should have complained but did not. Everything else was great. The breakfast was fantastic. I would definitely go back again but would clearly specify my request.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jkbafrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017

Absolutely love this place. I like how it is secluded and has trails to walk or run. The view from the back porch of the Mansion is breathtaking, and to have the view of the Makinaw bridge either in the day or night is astounding. The staff is great and the Manager goes above and beyond her duties.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017

The Inn is located in a beautiful setting away from the busier area--not on Main Street. The Cudahy Room had a beautiful view of the back of the property and Mackinaw Bridge. Our experience was peaceful and enjoyable at the Inn at Stonecliffe.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JanetHays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017

This was the first time on the island in over 10 years and the first time actually staying on the island overnight. We decided on Stonecliffe because of the distance from town- it can be a little hectic within the first two-three blocks and honestly Stonecliffe looked the nicest within our price range. I love bed and breakfasts but the decor can sometimes be overwhelming (especially on Mackinaw)- this is another reason we picked Stonecliffe- its in a great setting with a great view from the main house, it feels like a small bed and breakfast but its updated and clean.

I would suggest bringing your own bikes if possible. You can rent them from the hotel (very expensive) or on the island when you first get off the ferry (also very expensive- about $60 day).

Once we arrived, Stonecliffe employees were there to take our luggage up to the hotel for us. There is a carriage you can take to the hotel, but as I mentioned we had our own bikes.

The hotel is about 1-1.5 miles from the main strip of the island. Our room had a lake view and was in the summer house. It was clean and updated. It had a nice "living room" with a little kitchen, and a balcony with a table and chairs. The only, very small, issue I had with the room was the bathroom ceiling- it needed to be cleaned and repainted.

The beds and linens were very comfortable!

We didn't prepare to be dressed for dinner (we brought mostly lounge wear, jeans, ect). The main dining room looked beautiful and had a great selection, but as I said we did not actually eat there. They have a bar and bar food right next to it in the main house though! We ate there on two different nights and were able to enjoy the beautiful view of the lake and the bridge. Breakfast was available each morning- they had a nice selection and made the beginning of the day easy.

There was a nice pool but we did not use it as it was closed for the season.

Overall, I would stay here again in a heartbeat. If you stay in the summer house, I would try to get a lake view room, as the other side pretty much looks into some trees. The distance from town can be a pro or a con but if you are like me, we came to ride bikes around the island and wanted some peace and quiet, this is the place for you!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nikki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
2.7 km away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,088 reviews
2.5 km away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,056 reviews
2.4 km away
Bicycle Street Inn & Suites and Waterfront Collection
Bicycle Street Inn & Suites and ...
#10 of 12 in Mackinac Island
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Hotel Iroquois
Hotel Iroquois
#2 of 12 in Mackinac Island
670 reviews
2.8 km away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
738 reviews
2.4 km away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Stonecliffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Stonecliffe

Address: 8593 Cudahy Cir, PO Box 338, Mackinac Island, MI 49757-5130
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range: $252 - $475 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Stonecliffe 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Stonecliffe enjoys a storied place in Mackinac Island history. Built in 1904 as a family summer escape by industrialist Michael Cudahy, Stonecliffe has enchanted guests for nearly half a century. Situated high on the west bluff, Inn at Stonecliffe lodging comprises a classic Tudor-style mansion that offers 16 bed and breakfast style guest rooms, and the more modern Summer House Suites, with 31 richly appointed suites decorated in a classic summer cottage style with a light Victorian influence. Overnight visitors to Mackinac Island often observe that the best time to enjoy the island is in the early morning or late evening when the last ferry has carried the daily visitors back to the mainland. At The Inn at Stonecliffe, you’ll enjoy that feeling every moment of your stay. Anywhere you turn, tranquility and relaxation await, from the breathtaking bluff-top views of the Straits of Mackinac and Mackinac Bridge to the Inn’s lush, rolling lawns.Special Services and / or Features: • Breakfast Included• Air Conditioning• Onsite Dining and Cocktail Lounge• Weddings and Events• Kitchenettes• Bike Rentals • Cable Television• Outdoor Heated Pool• Private Baths• Telephones• Complimentary Wireless Internet• Non Smoking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Inn at Stonecliffe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Stonecliffe Hotel Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing