We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Lake View Hotel(Mackinac Island)
US$313
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Island House Hotel(Mackinac Island)
US$349
US$267
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$321/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Mission Point(Mackinac Island)
US$309
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Murray Hotel(Mackinac Island)
US$229
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa(Mackinac Island)
US$293
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
Grand Hotel(Mackinac Island)
US$849
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Metivier Inn(Mackinac Island)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Harbour View Inn(Mackinac Island)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (621)
Filter reviews
621 results
Traveller rating
400
136
39
33
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
400
136
39
33
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssummer housemackinac bridgemanor housestone cliffsunset rockmain mansionbeautiful mansionback porchwoods restaurantchop housecarriage ridehorse drawn taxidowntown arearented bikesaway from the hustle and bustleper persongrand hotel
Filter
Updating list...
601 - 606 of 621 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2007

Based on availability and Trip Advisor reviews, we cautiously booked a Deluxe room in the Summer House (it had been noted that the main inn had paper thin walls). After 2 email attempts to confirm and get dinner reservations, I finally had to call. When I s/w the clerk at the desk, she gave several possibilities for diinner and, answering my question about bikes, said that they were first come/ first served.

We arrived at the pier, paid the $6.50/person to take the horse and surrey to the hotel...this is not just a 15 minute jaunt, but a full 30 to 45 minutes, depending on the disposition of the driver and the horses...and arrived at the hotel. There is a restaurant there, which offers a dinner menu which changes each night. We ate at the Woods restaurant...about 100 yards from the front door...THAT is ANOTHER story...see review on same.

The next morning, we went out to get our bikes (first come/first served) and found that a 6 hour rental was $25 per person. We took the bikes and had a GREAT ride..that is what this island is all about...riding!!! It was wonderful!!

Our room could have been a condo..actually, for $160,000 you could own it...except that the bathroom had only a toilet and a shower..no sink, no mirrors. We had to use the sink in the mini-kitchen to brush our teeth and wash..which was a little weird for such a spacious room...

When we were ready to leave, we were told that we had secured that last two seats on the surrey back to town at 9...no one had even told us we needed a reservation! But the hotel was not willing to call another cab/horse surrey or accomodate those who had not made the 'cut off''. In my mind, a quality operation, located so far out of town, should provide transportation GRATIS for its guests who are paying a pretty penny for a night's stay.

IF we brave the smell of methanol again some summer, paying for the "charm" of not having automobiles, we will not stay at the Stonecliffe. It is just not worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2007

We stayed at Stonecliffe with our three children and give it mixed reviews. The property and the views are very nice. Our room was clean and the pool area was good for the kids. The downside is the food and the distance to the main part of the island.

The breakfast is similar to a buffet you would find at a 2 or 3 star hotel rather than what you would expect from a good bed and breakfast. The lunch, served poolside, is average quality and high price. Dinner is a set menu.

The property is about 2 miles from town and, unless you brought bikes or don't mind the walk, it is expensive to get back and forth with a family.

We'd only stay there again if we got a better price. It's expensive to get a family back and forth to the main part of town. Given the quality of the food you'll want to go elsewhere to eat, so count on trips to town.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mikenelson7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2007

Stayed 2 nights at the Stonecliffe. What a treat! The place is set away from the busy town, off the road. By carriage, it took about 20 minutes to get to the inn from the docks. By bike, it is a very nice 5 minutes ride into town. We really appreciated the quiteness of the inn. After a busy day in town seeing the sights, it was nice to be away from the hustle and bustle. If you are looking for a true vacation that is slow-paced and relaxing, Stonecliffe will fit the bill. On the other hand, if you like being close to the shops all the time and near the noise of the town, then maybe a more expensive place in town will work better for you. Seriously, for the price, Stonecliffe cannot be beat. The staff was very friendly and helpful, offering maps and tips about the island. Also, with your stay you receive a generous breakfast buffet each morning, complete with eggs, bacon, sausage, french toast, hashbrowns, pastries, and tons of wonderful fresh juice and fruit. It was the best free breakfast we have ever had at a hotel. The inn upgraded us to a huge king sized room for free. That was a nice unexpected treat as well. The inn also offers a dinner buffet, small bar, as well as a nice sized pool with grilled food items. Overall, we could not have picked a better place to stay on the island. We will definately be back to stay at Stonecliffe.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank gsgalbreath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2006

We've stayed at Stonecliffe before, but always in one of the condos, this was our first time staying in the Inn. The accommodations and service were nice as was the complimentary breakfast...a good variety and everything I had tasted good. Guests should keep in mind that the inn is more of a Bed and Breakfast type setting than a hotel. The Inn is very old and holds a lot of charm, but the walls are extremely thin and noise transfers easily. We stayed on the third floor in a very large room with nice woodwork, period anitques, a tile bathroom with claw foot tub and comfy beds. There's a lot of charm in the old Inn, but if you're looking for creature comforts and modern conveniences, stay in one of the condos.

Keep in mind when consiering this hotel that it's a 40 minute walk, or 15 minute carraige ride into town...not a big deal if you're staying for only a night or two, but should be a consideration in longer stays. We dined in Woods, which was not as good as previous experiences. It's still a fun place, with great decor (and the duck pin bowling's always a hit) but the food was not what I thought was up to par, and the service was lacking. I think the entire staff had a slight case of "end of the year blues". All in all, a good stay...I'll stay at Stonecliffe again, but most likely in the condos.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank deadheadcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2006

This was a lovely, quiet and comfortable place to stay while on Mackinac Island. We stayed in the "summer house" building, and the room was spacious, clean, nicely appointed and offered lovely views. We spent time in the manor house playing games and reading in the very comfortable chairs by the fireplace. The grounds are extensive and conducive to relaxing. The staff is helpful, efficient and gracious.
There is only one restaurant located near the hotel so plan accordingly - if your room has a refrigerator then you may want to come with some fruit or other snacks since it is somewhere between 2 - 3 miles to get to town, and all transportation is via foot, horse or bike. In fact, I would strongly suggest either bringing or renting bicycles if you stay here as it makes getting back and forth much easier (and faster.) There is plenty of room to store bikes on the property.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rose1138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews