We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good and bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Inn at Stonecliffe
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2007

We stayed at the Stoncliffe for a wedding from July 27th-29th. If not for the wedding and us never being there, I do not think I would have stayed here. If we come to the island again, we will not.

We stayed in the Summer house, so that we could have two beds and a fridge. It was my husband and I in 1 bed and a friend in the other.

The place is beautiful and so is the property. The place was clean and well maintained. The staff was nice and accomodating. We asked for an early check-in and we got one.

The property is far from town and the first time you ride the carriage it fun, but after that is long and boring. We do not mind walking, but when you are dressed up and in heels, it is not so fun. The staff made it seem as though the "hotel shuttle" was in the price of the hotel, but it was not.

For the price of the room, I would have expected someone to take our bags to our room and take them back down at check-out. That did not happen. When we arrived, our bags were sitting on the front porch with others, left unattended.

We got a note under our door the night before check-out stating that there were alot of check-out the next day and they needed to know an approximate time. They could just be like most hotels and speed up the process by just slipping the charges under the door and you turn in the keys the next day. So I did call on Saturday night and tell them the time and that we needed a taxi. They never offered to pick-up our bags and nobody was there to do it.

The food was okay. The breakfast was very basic. The food at the wedding was not as good as I expected.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Tiffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (539)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

519 - 523 of 539 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2007

Based on availability and Trip Advisor reviews, we cautiously booked a Deluxe room in the Summer House (it had been noted that the main inn had paper thin walls). After 2 email attempts to confirm and get dinner reservations, I finally had to call. When I s/w the clerk at the desk, she gave several possibilities for diinner and, answering my question about bikes, said that they were first come/ first served.

We arrived at the pier, paid the $6.50/person to take the horse and surrey to the hotel...this is not just a 15 minute jaunt, but a full 30 to 45 minutes, depending on the disposition of the driver and the horses...and arrived at the hotel. There is a restaurant there, which offers a dinner menu which changes each night. We ate at the Woods restaurant...about 100 yards from the front door...THAT is ANOTHER story...see review on same.

The next morning, we went out to get our bikes (first come/first served) and found that a 6 hour rental was $25 per person. We took the bikes and had a GREAT ride..that is what this island is all about...riding!!! It was wonderful!!

Our room could have been a condo..actually, for $160,000 you could own it...except that the bathroom had only a toilet and a shower..no sink, no mirrors. We had to use the sink in the mini-kitchen to brush our teeth and wash..which was a little weird for such a spacious room...

When we were ready to leave, we were told that we had secured that last two seats on the surrey back to town at 9...no one had even told us we needed a reservation! But the hotel was not willing to call another cab/horse surrey or accomodate those who had not made the 'cut off''. In my mind, a quality operation, located so far out of town, should provide transportation GRATIS for its guests who are paying a pretty penny for a night's stay.

IF we brave the smell of methanol again some summer, paying for the "charm" of not having automobiles, we will not stay at the Stonecliffe. It is just not worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2007

We stayed at Stonecliffe with our three children and give it mixed reviews. The property and the views are very nice. Our room was clean and the pool area was good for the kids. The downside is the food and the distance to the main part of the island.

The breakfast is similar to a buffet you would find at a 2 or 3 star hotel rather than what you would expect from a good bed and breakfast. The lunch, served poolside, is average quality and high price. Dinner is a set menu.

The property is about 2 miles from town and, unless you brought bikes or don't mind the walk, it is expensive to get back and forth with a family.

We'd only stay there again if we got a better price. It's expensive to get a family back and forth to the main part of town. Given the quality of the food you'll want to go elsewhere to eat, so count on trips to town.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mikenelson7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2007

Stayed 2 nights at the Stonecliffe. What a treat! The place is set away from the busy town, off the road. By carriage, it took about 20 minutes to get to the inn from the docks. By bike, it is a very nice 5 minutes ride into town. We really appreciated the quiteness of the inn. After a busy day in town seeing the sights, it was nice to be away from the hustle and bustle. If you are looking for a true vacation that is slow-paced and relaxing, Stonecliffe will fit the bill. On the other hand, if you like being close to the shops all the time and near the noise of the town, then maybe a more expensive place in town will work better for you. Seriously, for the price, Stonecliffe cannot be beat. The staff was very friendly and helpful, offering maps and tips about the island. Also, with your stay you receive a generous breakfast buffet each morning, complete with eggs, bacon, sausage, french toast, hashbrowns, pastries, and tons of wonderful fresh juice and fruit. It was the best free breakfast we have ever had at a hotel. The inn upgraded us to a huge king sized room for free. That was a nice unexpected treat as well. The inn also offers a dinner buffet, small bar, as well as a nice sized pool with grilled food items. Overall, we could not have picked a better place to stay on the island. We will definately be back to stay at Stonecliffe.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank gsgalbreath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2006

We've stayed at Stonecliffe before, but always in one of the condos, this was our first time staying in the Inn. The accommodations and service were nice as was the complimentary breakfast...a good variety and everything I had tasted good. Guests should keep in mind that the inn is more of a Bed and Breakfast type setting than a hotel. The Inn is very old and holds a lot of charm, but the walls are extremely thin and noise transfers easily. We stayed on the third floor in a very large room with nice woodwork, period anitques, a tile bathroom with claw foot tub and comfy beds. There's a lot of charm in the old Inn, but if you're looking for creature comforts and modern conveniences, stay in one of the condos.

Keep in mind when consiering this hotel that it's a 40 minute walk, or 15 minute carraige ride into town...not a big deal if you're staying for only a night or two, but should be a consideration in longer stays. We dined in Woods, which was not as good as previous experiences. It's still a fun place, with great decor (and the duck pin bowling's always a hit) but the food was not what I thought was up to par, and the service was lacking. I think the entire staff had a slight case of "end of the year blues". All in all, a good stay...I'll stay at Stonecliffe again, but most likely in the condos.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank deadheadcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
2.7 km away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,088 reviews
2.5 km away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,056 reviews
2.4 km away
Bicycle Street Inn & Suites and Waterfront Collection
Bicycle Street Inn & Suites and ...
#10 of 12 in Mackinac Island
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Hotel Iroquois
Hotel Iroquois
#2 of 12 in Mackinac Island
670 reviews
2.8 km away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
738 reviews
2.4 km away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Stonecliffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Stonecliffe

Address: 8593 Cudahy Cir, PO Box 338, Mackinac Island, MI 49757-5130
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range: $252 - $475 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Stonecliffe 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Stonecliffe enjoys a storied place in Mackinac Island history. Built in 1904 as a family summer escape by industrialist Michael Cudahy, Stonecliffe has enchanted guests for nearly half a century. Situated high on the west bluff, Inn at Stonecliffe lodging comprises a classic Tudor-style mansion that offers 16 bed and breakfast style guest rooms, and the more modern Summer House Suites, with 31 richly appointed suites decorated in a classic summer cottage style with a light Victorian influence. Overnight visitors to Mackinac Island often observe that the best time to enjoy the island is in the early morning or late evening when the last ferry has carried the daily visitors back to the mainland. At The Inn at Stonecliffe, you’ll enjoy that feeling every moment of your stay. Anywhere you turn, tranquility and relaxation await, from the breathtaking bluff-top views of the Straits of Mackinac and Mackinac Bridge to the Inn’s lush, rolling lawns.Special Services and / or Features: • Breakfast Included• Air Conditioning• Onsite Dining and Cocktail Lounge• Weddings and Events• Kitchenettes• Bike Rentals • Cable Television• Outdoor Heated Pool• Private Baths• Telephones• Complimentary Wireless Internet• Non Smoking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Inn at Stonecliffe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Stonecliffe Hotel Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing