We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place Great Price”
Review of Flamingo Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mackinaw City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Flamingo Motel
Ranked #22 of 40 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Reviewed 2 August 2012

My and a friend went on a trip around michigan and one of our stops was in Mackinaw City. Most other place were quite expensive but this place was relatively cheap. I was skeptical though since this motel doesn't have a website or come up on many results on google but I was referred to here by another motel that was full. It was GREAT!
The front desk lady was really nice, like she was awesome. Theres a pool and multiple firepits as well as a swing set and playground thing. Unlike other places the pool is usually open all night and day as well as the firepit. People were making smores at 1am. The rooms have a 70s feel to it with shag carpet but rooms are still pretty nice for a motel. All in all a great experinece especially considering my worries that this place would be crappy. Also comes with a free small pizza coupon at mama's pizza (which is really good).

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank MichiganJayp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2012 via mobile

After reading reviews on here, we decided to try this motel and were not disappointed.
What this motel IS: a small family run motel on the south side of town that is clean and has a few perks. It charges $59/night for 1 bed, $69 for 2 beds and $79 for 3 beds. Pets: accepted on case-by-case basis and typical pet rules: cannot be left alone in room, no excessive barking, must pick up after your pet (common sense but of course some tourist don't exercise this).
What this motel IS NOT: a luxury 5 star motel in the heart of the action. If it was, then they would be charging you a lot more than $59/night! It has small refrige, microwave, coffee maker, and wall mounted tv with 8 channels. One previous review was complaining about not enough channels: you're on vacation!. You pay to go on vacation to watch tv?
This motel has a pool, basketball court, horseshoe pit, and nature trail behind the hotel. Also has cookouts on weekends with S'mores. What motel has ever done that for you?
Our room was clean upon arrival and cleaned every day when we were out.
Room for improvement: bathroom door didn't close all the way and no phones in room (but again everyone has cellphones and if they did have phones they'd probably have to charge).
Our family will stay here again next year for vacation and save a lot of money so we can use it for other events. I'd recommend this place to stay if you're not a tourist that likes to complain about everything just because you are not home.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank iam4pacers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

just because the outside is painted white means nothing, rooms are still dated and dingy, and the woman running this place is worse!.......also prices advertised will not be price when you get there, total sham outfit........avoid at all costs!

Room Tip: go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank frank c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

I was expecting some po-dunk motel. By no means was this motel Podunk! The Owners Fay and Jay where unbelievably gracious!!Bonfire and Marshmellows provided daily! Clean,Clean,Clean.The pool was warm and welcoming.They helped us with sightseeing and who and what to avoid (sightseer scams) . Can't wait to go back,great family pizza place across the street. U can't go wrong here!!!!!!

Room Tip: Just call ahead by a few weeks. People are starting to catch on to this lil' Gem!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Stacy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Great location. I went up to experience the Dark Sky preserve at the Headlands, the Flamingo is right down the road. The room I had was clean and neat. The folks running this establishment also have a gourmet pizza place in Downtown Mackinaw. My whole experience was pleasant.

Room Tip: Only stayed here once so I don't know about the other rooms. I was in #102 and it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Leo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
2.1 km away
The Shores At Mackinaw
The Shores At Mackinaw
#15 of 40 in Mackinaw City
20 reviews
2.1 km away
Thunderbird Inn
Thunderbird Inn
#13 of 40 in Mackinaw City
216 reviews
2.7 km away
Comfort Inn Lakeside
Comfort Inn Lakeside
#12 of 40 in Mackinaw City
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Capri Motel
Capri Motel
#36 of 40 in Mackinaw City
43 reviews
3 km away
Days Inn & Suites-Mackinaw City-Bridgeview Lodge
2.1 km away
Great Lakes Inn
Great Lakes Inn
#26 of 40 in Mackinaw City
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Motel

Address: 13959 N Mackinaw Hwy, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9653
Region: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 40 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Number of rooms: 26

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing