We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tasting food, terrible service.”

The White Horse Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Metamora
Price range: US$8 - US$32
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The historic White Horse Inn originally open in 1850 under proprietor Lorenzo Hoard. Since then it has been a general store, an inn, a dance hall, a stop on The Underground Railroad and even survived during the depression by serving local area Fox Hunters. In 2014, The White Horse was purchased and completely renovated by local restaurateurs. It quickly became a destination for those seeking all-American comfort food in the stunningly renovated building.
Reviewed 28 April 2021 via mobile

Great tasting food, terrible service!
We waited a looong time to order. Got food & it was hot and delicious. Our waitress never came back to check on us. When she finally came over I had to ask for more water, then she never asked others in our party if they needed more to drink. Bills took awhile to come....just very SLOW service for a Tuesday night when restaurant was not too busy.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank 2cmoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 246 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2021 via mobile

You need to get here they are knocking it out if the park!! Very special spot for sure drinks across the street!!

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank 3TravelersDavisonMi_
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 December 2020

We live in Metamora and love The White Horse Inn. The atmosphere is second to none and we have always had top notch service. My wife would love to go every night for the fresh out of the over chocolate cookies! Soo good. In the winter the Igloos are so fun! A very special place!

Date of visit: November 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Gregory B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 September 2020

The building is worth the trip. The wooden floors are unique. The fireplace is welcoming. The bathroom has a sink that you can wash as well as dry your hands. I had the pot roast. I haven't had a dinner that good since my mom's pot roast. The mashed potatoes were a good addition to the carrots and parsnips. The meat was very tasty and could be cut with a fork. Very good food. We had the homemade ice cream - best I've ever had. The bread pudding was mostly bread with very little pudding. Can't wait to return.
There is an option to eat inside or on the patio outside.

Date of visit: August 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Beach1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 August 2020 via mobile

During this Covid-19 pandemic it was great to see that every time diners were leaving the tables and chairs were wiped down.

This was my first time dining in a restaurant since March and I felt totally safe!

Our server was great and friendly. The food was excellent, looking forward to returning again.

Date of visit: August 2020
1  Thank DALANIERMICHIGAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed The White Horse Inn also viewed

 

Been to The White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.