We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed bugs @ Emanya - worst stay ever”
Review of Emanya@Etosha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Emanya@Etosha
Reviewed 1 June 2017

During my recent travels to Namibia's Etosha Park, I decided to treat my parents to a luxury stay at the Emanya Lodge near the Namutoni gate. The place looked absolutely amazing and it could be, if not for the permanent unwanted guests sharing your bed with you at night.

You might wonder why there aren't more reviews about the bed bugs, but they are tiny creatures and most guests won't notice them until they look closely at their pillows and sheets. If you don't notice them, you will sleep uncomfortably thinking that the mosquitoes really disturbed your sleep and you just feel something "walking" on your skin. Once you look closely, you won't sleep again - that feeling is a thousand tiny little living bugs falling down from the thatched roof onto your bed - eek!

After noticing, I woke the owner at midnight asking for a new room. She was clearly aware of the problem, but not apologetic at all. She merely told me, "they don't bite"! OK, that makes me feel better at over N$10000 spent at Emanya lodge for a luxury 2-night stay. She gave me a new room, but never walked with me to check that it was ok. The new room had exactly the same problem - all the guest rooms do. Neither me or my parents slept that night and it was too late to find alternative accommodation. Worst night ever and left a bad taste in our mouths for the rest of our Nam tour.

Your thoughts? The owner probably refunded us for our terrible stay and apologised? Nope - wrong again. She kept saying the bugs don't bite and charged us the additional N$2600 for dinner for 4 people for 2 nights without so much as an apology. Unbelievable... and just shows that there is no intention to resolve the problem soon.

According to the manager, the bugs live in the thatched roofs due to the grass not being treated properly. The dining hall has the same grass roof and I actually saw these bugs in my tea cup and plates as well. When you find them in your dishes you can dust them off, but no doubt some of them fall into the food containers as well.

I would not go back to Emanya in a million years. It is a shame, because the place is quite beautiful. If you do decide to stay, make sure you inspect your sheets and pillow carefully and demand a refund if you find these creatures lingering around your bed or food. It is not acceptable to charge someone luxury accommodation prices and expect them to be satisfied with crawling friends in their bed.

Room Tip: Rooms do not have wifi reception - only at the lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank vosloo2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 227 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2017

ist is not so near to the etosha gate as expected and you have to go to another lodge on your own to ba able to join a game drive into etosha BUT what is really great is the floodlit waterhole without fence where the oryx come round ....
also the breakfast package for take away for the game drive was good

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 582uli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017 via mobile

We had a fantastic stay at Emanya Lodge. Beautiful welcome from the team. Staying up long enough to await our arrival. Not too far from Etosha national Park. Great dinners catered by the Lodge, fantastic room service and very neat place to hangout! Will recommend, value for money. Staff is very helpful too.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Koyo Greens L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2017

This is a tranquil lodge about 1.5 kilometres off the main road to Etosha Park. It gets 5 stars for location, spaciousness, friendlyness and greeness with a watering hole to view animals. The room decor is also excellent with good bathroom facilities. Food is above average and dinner and breakfast are included. On the negative side, the chaltes that have rooms adjacent are not sound proof at all, be warned. The tap at the basin is so far back, that you can't rinse your hands under running water. Yet I will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Roedig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2017

We stayed two nights, they gave us two adjacent bungalows for a reasonable price. The garden is magnificent, the position very good, close to Namutoni bridge.
The food is too oily and greasy, restaurant is too dark and with limited choice. Pool cannot be used with the quality of water we found.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pietro B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Etosha National Park hotels
151.9 km away
Etosha Safari Lodge
Etosha Safari Lodge
#7 of 37 in Etosha National Park
1,036 reviews
17.4 km away
Mokuti Etosha Lodge
Mokuti Etosha Lodge
#5 of 37 in Etosha National Park
906 reviews
147.7 km away
Etosha Village
Etosha Village
#4 of 37 in Etosha National Park
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Toshari Lodge
Toshari Lodge
#15 of 37 in Etosha National Park
252 reviews
154.7 km away
Mopane Village Lodge Etosha
Mopane Village Lodge Etosha
#20 of 37 in Etosha National Park
85 reviews
0 km away
Okutala Etosha Lodge
Okutala Etosha Lodge
#29 of 37 in Etosha National Park
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emanya@Etosha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emanya@Etosha

Address: Farm Werda, Etosha National Park 9000, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Oshikoto Region > Etosha National Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 37 Speciality Lodging in Etosha National Park
Price Range: $168 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Emanya@Etosha 4.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Emanya@Etosha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing